We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“QUIET, excellent service, not crowded, wonderful choice all-inclusive”
Review of East Winds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East Winds
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I took our honeymoon in East Winds Resort (Gros Islet) in Nov of 2017. I was very impressed by nearly everything at this resort. Travelers should be warned of the 1 - 1.5 hour commute from the international airport (UVF) to the north side of the island where the hotel is. Allegedly the hotel can set-up and airport "transfer" for you, but that did not work out as smoothly for us as we might have hoped. The resort is gorgeous - a very jungle feel, where the gardens are not over-pruned, and there is wildlife everywhere (lizards, birds, crabs, lovely Caribbean flowers). The head gardener and his staff take pride in their grounds, and we loved that. We stayed in an Ocean Front room - the view out the patio door is exceptional. The room is quite small, and some cabinets and closets were quite awkward to open, but overall it was a wonderful room. The bathroom is updated and large. We loved the open rain shower! There is food and drink all the time, and it was absolutely top-notch. The staff as well.... so nice, and so accommodating! I never fought for a chair, or looked hard for a quiet place to retreat. We loved everything about it. I would most definitely NOT recommend this place for kids, for the entertainment sake (lack of) or for the happiness of the other guests looking to escape that. :)

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are expensive, but quite frankly, they are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith M, Manager at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Emily F

It is lovely to hear from you and we are all so happy that you had a lovely honeymoon with us. We hope to see you on your 1st Anniversary!

Just addressing the children comment, we have children over 8 years old at East Winds. If any of our readers are thinking of coming with children just read back through the reviews from families and see what they had to say!

Warmest wishes and thanks again,
Judith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 869 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2017

We have just had the most wonderful week at East Winds over October half term; we took our two boys aged 12 and 13 years old who both loved every minute of our stay at East Winds.

Our bungalow style rooms (No.s 3 and 4) were set within the beautifully maintained tropical/botanical gardens that we shared with crabs and humming birds and a multitude of other tropical birds and wildlife. The rooms were stylish, comfortable, light and airy and wanted for nothing. They had smart en suite shower rooms and a little kitchenette with well stocked minibars and tea/coffee making facilties. Waking up and opening the bedroom door in the morning to the sight of the green lush tropical gardens, the sound of beautiful birdsong and the sea lapping against the shore in the distance will stay with me forever.

The children enjoyed the swimming pool within the lush gardens and water sports facilities on the beach. Wesley, one of the hotel’s water sports instructors was only too happy to take them off sailing or set them off on a paddle board or kayak and keep a watchful eye on them as they snorkelled on the reef. He was absolutely great with the children, always smiling and chatting to them making sure they were enjoying themselves.

The Staff as a whole made us feel very special as their guests and could not have done more to ensure we enjoyed our stay at East Winds. They were all incredibly attentive with genuine warmth in their smiles and conversation. Nothing was too much trouble, especially for the children such as the freshly made to order pancakes at breakfast, mango and banana smoothies or milkshakes by the pool and for us any cocktail or tipple we fancied at the Sunset bar.

The food was simply amazing, the best we have had at an all-inclusive hotel by far. On the first night I was bowled over by the delicious lobster and fresh tuna/ barracuda/king fish cooked to perfection on the BBQ all washed down by some really good wine and/or champagne. During our whole stay we were never disappointed with a meal or the choice of food on offer. My only suggestion would perhaps to offer a larger selection of tropical fresh fruits at breakfast although the daily ‘therapy’ juices and smoothies were a perfect alternative. Dinner every evening was a more formal affair with drinks served in the Bamboo lounge first where you could socialise with other guests if you wanted or go straight into a silver service dinner and a 4 course a la carte meal with a choice of very good wines. The children could pre-order their food and eat earlier if they wished to. Again nothing was too much trouble, you just had to ask.

There is so much more I could say to rave on about this hotel but I think you’ve probably got the gist! All I would say is that once we arrived after a long journey from the U.K. we instantly unwinded and relaxed and knew that we had made the right choice of hotel and location for us. We would go back in an instant and would highly recommend this wonderful idyllic paradise.

Thank you Judith and everyone at East Winds for making our holiday so memorable, we very much look forward to coming back one day...

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Shaun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith M, Manager at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Shaun C & Family

Thanks so much for the comprehensive and lovely review! I am delighted that the whole family had such a good time and we are looking forward to you coming back.

We do have issues with supply of a wide range of tropical fruit all year round as we serve seasonal fruits at breakfast that are available on the island at the time, however (!), we have created a kitchen garden recently which will provide us with our own organic and wide variety of fruits and vegetables, garden to table.

When you come back, I will give you a tour, can't wait!
Warmest wishes
Judith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Again, we visited this restaurant twice during our current holiday where we are staying nearby.
Everything and everybody was marvellous with a particularly good vocalist Sally Elwin providing entertainment on Saturday nights
Looking forward to being spoiled when we next visit in April.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank MKJGrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith M, Manager at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Dear MKJGrumpy

Great to hear from you and thanks for the review. We don't receive many reviews from outside guests so it's lovely to have one from visitors to the restaurant.

Lovely to see you again and see you next year!
Judith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

We have just landed back at Gatwick after enjoying a most memorable holiday on the lovely island of St Lucia, the second week of which was spent at East Winds. This is a small and intimate resort made up of only 30 rooms which are dotted around an abundant garden which gently slopes down to the beach.

If you want loud music, organised activities running 18 hours a day and lots of glass, chrome and marble then don't come to East Winds. If you want, as we did, impecable service, (always with a smile), tasty and varied food, spotless comfy accommodation and beautiful gardens then come as soon as you can! We can't wait to return.

We have never experienced an All Inclusive before but this is the way to do it. Nothing is too much trouble, all requests are met with a smile. I can understand why so many guests return time and again. We did meet some who had visitied before, but just as many who were there for the 1st time like us.

There are things to do if you want to, but no pressure to join in if you need to flop on a sun bed all day. We appreciated the time to chill, swim and sit watching the great variety of wildlife on the doorstep and under the waves. We very much enjoyed our 1st go at snorkelling and sailing.

Our thanks to all the staff, from the newest to those who have been in post for over 20 years. Please carry on doing what you do so well, we very much look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We would happily stay in any of the rooms!
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MariaYorkshireLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith M, Manager at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Dear MariaYorkshireLass

Thank you for visiting our little island paradise! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and it sounds as though we exceeded expectations. Next time we can develop those water sports skills a bit more!

Looking forward to welcoming you back to your (new) island home.

Warmest wishes
Judith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Absolutely beautiful views, the staff went above and beyond, and were truly exceptional to the guests! Resort was more rustic feeling, with rooms that you could hear all the birds/etc while you slept- which made for a very relaxing environment. The beach was beautiful, as well as the huts on the beach. My only complaint: We were by far the only young people there. Everyone was well over 55, which made for a VERY quiet place to stay. We were there ranging from 35-45, and would not recommend it for that age group. Only one restaurant on site, and nightly entertainment was very quiet. Again, the place was incredible, and the staff could not have been better, but maybe not the right place for all age groups.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith M, Manager at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Hi Laurie J

Thanks so much for your review. I was sorry to hear that you were 'unlucky' to catch a period when the guests were a bit older than you as our typical guest profile is very mixed age groups with lots of honeymoon couples, family's and all ages.

I was really pleased to hear that you had a lovely time and enjoyed our little secret hideaway, we do pride ourselves on a secluded and private environment with wonderful service from the team.

I hope we get the opportunity to see you again sometime in the future,
Warm wishes
Judith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
23.9 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
968 reviews
27 km away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
11.3 km away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.1 km away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,286 reviews
5.6 km away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
761 reviews
23.9 km away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Winds

Address: La Brellotte Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range: €559 - €1,016 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — East Winds 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Saint Lucia’s best kept secret and immerse yourself in true Caribbean luxury. East Winds Saint Lucia is a breathtaking garden-by-the-sea, planted on the island's most picturesque sandy bay. Our Island Hideaway is Saint Lucia's original boutique resort featuring 30 cottage style suites, tucked away amongst lush plants, trees and a kaleidoscope of colourful bird-life. East Winds is home to what many consider the finest beach on the island and our guests share it with very few others just like them; travellers looking for personalised care and all-inclusive service in the most authentic of Caribbean experiences. Come experience the Caribbean the way it was meant to be experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your East Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Winds Hotel Gros Islet
East Winds Resort All Inclusive
East Winds St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing