We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (943)
Filter reviews
943 results
Traveller rating
844
73
21
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
844
73
21
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfitness trailbamboo loungedeluxe cottagesunken showerother guestsfood and winehead gardenersunset cruisesunset barfour coursesyoga pavilionlocal musiciansst luciagood vibessteel bandevening entertainment ishouse party
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 943 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2017

We have just had the most wonderful week at East Winds over October half term; we took our two boys aged 12 and 13 years old who both loved every minute of our stay at East Winds.

Our bungalow style rooms (No.s 3 and 4) were set within the beautifully maintained tropical/botanical gardens that we shared with crabs and humming birds and a multitude of other tropical birds and wildlife. The rooms were stylish, comfortable, light and airy and wanted for nothing. They had smart en suite shower rooms and a little kitchenette with well stocked minibars and tea/coffee making facilties. Waking up and opening the bedroom door in the morning to the sight of the green lush tropical gardens, the sound of beautiful birdsong and the sea lapping against the shore in the distance will stay with me forever.

The children enjoyed the swimming pool within the lush gardens and water sports facilities on the beach. Wesley, one of the hotel’s water sports instructors was only too happy to take them off sailing or set them off on a paddle board or kayak and keep a watchful eye on them as they snorkelled on the reef. He was absolutely great with the children, always smiling and chatting to them making sure they were enjoying themselves.

The Staff as a whole made us feel very special as their guests and could not have done more to ensure we enjoyed our stay at East Winds. They were all incredibly attentive with genuine warmth in their smiles and conversation. Nothing was too much trouble, especially for the children such as the freshly made to order pancakes at breakfast, mango and banana smoothies or milkshakes by the pool and for us any cocktail or tipple we fancied at the Sunset bar.

The food was simply amazing, the best we have had at an all-inclusive hotel by far. On the first night I was bowled over by the delicious lobster and fresh tuna/ barracuda/king fish cooked to perfection on the BBQ all washed down by some really good wine and/or champagne. During our whole stay we were never disappointed with a meal or the choice of food on offer. My only suggestion would perhaps to offer a larger selection of tropical fresh fruits at breakfast although the daily ‘therapy’ juices and smoothies were a perfect alternative. Dinner every evening was a more formal affair with drinks served in the Bamboo lounge first where you could socialise with other guests if you wanted or go straight into a silver service dinner and a 4 course a la carte meal with a choice of very good wines. The children could pre-order their food and eat earlier if they wished to. Again nothing was too much trouble, you just had to ask.

There is so much more I could say to rave on about this hotel but I think you’ve probably got the gist! All I would say is that once we arrived after a long journey from the U.K. we instantly unwinded and relaxed and knew that we had made the right choice of hotel and location for us. We would go back in an instant and would highly recommend this wonderful idyllic paradise.

Thank you Judith and everyone at East Winds for making our holiday so memorable, we very much look forward to coming back one day...

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Shaun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith M, Manager at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Shaun C & Family

Thanks so much for the comprehensive and lovely review! I am delighted that the whole family had such a good time and we are looking forward to you coming back.

We do have issues with supply of a wide range of tropical fruit all year round as we serve seasonal fruits at breakfast that are available on the island at the time, however (!), we have created a kitchen garden recently which will provide us with our own organic and wide variety of fruits and vegetables, garden to table.

When you come back, I will give you a tour, can't wait!
Warmest wishes
Judith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Again, we visited this restaurant twice during our current holiday where we are staying nearby.
Everything and everybody was marvellous with a particularly good vocalist Sally Elwin providing entertainment on Saturday nights
Looking forward to being spoiled when we next visit in April.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank MKJGrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith M, Manager at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Dear MKJGrumpy

Great to hear from you and thanks for the review. We don't receive many reviews from outside guests so it's lovely to have one from visitors to the restaurant.

Lovely to see you again and see you next year!
Judith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

We have just landed back at Gatwick after enjoying a most memorable holiday on the lovely island of St Lucia, the second week of which was spent at East Winds. This is a small and intimate resort made up of only 30 rooms which are dotted around an abundant garden which gently slopes down to the beach.

If you want loud music, organised activities running 18 hours a day and lots of glass, chrome and marble then don't come to East Winds. If you want, as we did, impecable service, (always with a smile), tasty and varied food, spotless comfy accommodation and beautiful gardens then come as soon as you can! We can't wait to return.

We have never experienced an All Inclusive before but this is the way to do it. Nothing is too much trouble, all requests are met with a smile. I can understand why so many guests return time and again. We did meet some who had visitied before, but just as many who were there for the 1st time like us.

There are things to do if you want to, but no pressure to join in if you need to flop on a sun bed all day. We appreciated the time to chill, swim and sit watching the great variety of wildlife on the doorstep and under the waves. We very much enjoyed our 1st go at snorkelling and sailing.

Our thanks to all the staff, from the newest to those who have been in post for over 20 years. Please carry on doing what you do so well, we very much look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We would happily stay in any of the rooms!
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MariaYorkshireLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith M, Manager at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Dear MariaYorkshireLass

Thank you for visiting our little island paradise! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and it sounds as though we exceeded expectations. Next time we can develop those water sports skills a bit more!

Looking forward to welcoming you back to your (new) island home.

Warmest wishes
Judith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Absolutely beautiful views, the staff went above and beyond, and were truly exceptional to the guests! Resort was more rustic feeling, with rooms that you could hear all the birds/etc while you slept- which made for a very relaxing environment. The beach was beautiful, as well as the huts on the beach. My only complaint: We were by far the only young people there. Everyone was well over 55, which made for a VERY quiet place to stay. We were there ranging from 35-45, and would not recommend it for that age group. Only one restaurant on site, and nightly entertainment was very quiet. Again, the place was incredible, and the staff could not have been better, but maybe not the right place for all age groups.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith M, Manager at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Hi Laurie J

Thanks so much for your review. I was sorry to hear that you were 'unlucky' to catch a period when the guests were a bit older than you as our typical guest profile is very mixed age groups with lots of honeymoon couples, family's and all ages.

I was really pleased to hear that you had a lovely time and enjoyed our little secret hideaway, we do pride ourselves on a secluded and private environment with wonderful service from the team.

I hope we get the opportunity to see you again sometime in the future,
Warm wishes
Judith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Lovely boutique hotel near Rodney Bay. We stayed in an ocean view room which was adequate with a beautiful large balcony, steps from the ocean and truly fabulous view. The deluxe rooms are larger and nicer but don’t have the view. The staff are exceptional and definitely enhanced our stay. It is all inclusive to a very high standard. The bar staff are wonderful and make delicious cocktails. The quality of the alcohol is high, if you ask for a gin and tonic, there is a choice between several well known brands and the wine is good and free flowing at meal times. The food is good. There is a good choice at lunch and dinner time. My only slight gripe was breakfast, it was the same every day and a bit canteen like. They were never quite ready at 7.30 and there was only one toaster with four slots which never worked properly and took ages.
The beach was beautiful and spotlessly clean, plenty of loungers and umbrellas. The water sports was t the end of the beach, easy to reach but discreet. Two nice catamarans which were fun to sail and the staff will come with you if you don’t feel confident Canoes and stand up paddle boards were fun
Simeon, the events manager epitomises the resort. Nothing is too much trouble and if it’s possible he will arrange it for you even if not offered by the report. He arranged a private yacht for a day for us, handed us a delicious packed lunch as we stepped on board, including fresh fish which the skipper BBQ’d while we snorkelled. We needed to pick a couple of things up from Rodney Bay and he drove us in toget them. There are many activities organised by the hotel which as it is such a small hotel, I can thoroughly recommend trying as there are never very many people doing them. The steel drum lesson was a fabulous experience.
If you want a small boutique hotel on the beach this is the one

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank Cathyt1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith M, Manager at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Hi Cathy

Thank you for the wonderful review. It looks as though you made the very most of all activities while you were with us and enjoyed them all!!

It was great to have you with us and hope that you will return again to your new island home!

Warmest wishes
Judith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews