We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal with family ”
Review of La Guerite

La Guerite
Ranked #25 of 71 Restaurants in Gustavia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$118
Description: ***ANNUAL CLOSING - REOPENING NOVEMBER 2018*** Located on the point of the Port of Gustavia, facing the dock where small fishing boats float alongside with the mega yachts that visit the island every winter, La Guerite offers a unique setting in the most fanta​stic spot. Visit us to discover the flavors and simplicity of Mediterranean cuisine created by one prodigy of Greek gastronomy, Yannis Kioroglou. Inspired by sea treasures and his Greek roots, this talented chef and his team will take you on a culinary journey that offers a large variety of appetizers, followed by a selection of fresh local fish and seafood imported from all over the world such as Mediterranean bass or the blue lobster of Brittany.The entire team at La Guerite looks forward to welcoming you. Reservations are strongly recommended.
Restaurant details
Description: ***ANNUAL CLOSING - REOPENING NOVEMBER 2018*** Located on the point of the Port of Gustavia, facing the dock where small fishing boats float alongside with the mega yachts that visit the island every winter, La Guerite offers a unique setting in the most fanta​stic spot. Visit us to discover the flavors and simplicity of Mediterranean cuisine created by one prodigy of Greek gastronomy, Yannis Kioroglou. Inspired by sea treasures and his Greek roots, this talented chef and his team will take you on a culinary journey that offers a large variety of appetizers, followed by a selection of fresh local fish and seafood imported from all over the world such as Mediterranean bass or the blue lobster of Brittany.The entire team at La Guerite looks forward to welcoming you. Reservations are strongly recommended.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

The newly renovated restaurant has a great ambiance. On one side are original stone walls and on the other one can look out to Gustavia harbor. The service was excellent, very attentive and helpful. The fresh fish was delicious. We were only a small family of four, but it does seem that it can accommodate large groups which is important if there is a big group renting a villa or boat. Highly recommended!

Thank suzyqitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCCSB, Public Relations Manager at La Guerite, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear @suzyqitaly
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our restaurant with us. It is such a pleasure to read your post and see how much you enjoyed it.
We are glad that the location and the decoration of the establishment pleased you. Thank you also for all your lovely compliments about the food and the service. We are very concerned about the opinion of our customers; this allows us to improve continuously.
We would love to welcoming you again next time you're on the island.

Sincerely yours,
La Guérite

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2018

A group of us all went tot dinner at La Guerite and we all enjoyed the meal. The food was good and the staff were especially friendly.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCCSB, Responsable des relations publiques at La Guerite, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Dear Alexander, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
It is a real pleasure for us to hear that you enjoyed your time and the food in our restaurant.
We are looking forward to seeing you back.
Best regards, La Guérite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

You would never know La Guerite had suffered extension damage during the hurricane. The new decor is comfortable and stylish with a great amount of ambiance.

Our waitress(long blond hair) was exceptional and catered to our every need. There wasn’t a thing missing and her recommendations surpassed our expeditions. And believe me after dining at Tamarind the night before, our expectations were high!

Over the top dishes- calamari frite, gazpacho, Greek salad, and mahi mahi in the red sauce. You will not be disappointed. They have an extensive wine list but don’t miss out on their Kiwi and cucumber cocktails. Over the top!

Thank JTeurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCCSB, Public Relations Manager at La Guerite, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Dear client, it is such a pleasure to read your post and see how much you enjoyed your time in our restaurant. This is everything we want for our customers.
Thank you for your compliments about the food, the service and we are glad you enjoyed the new setting.
We would love to have you for dinner next time you are on the island.
Best regards,
La Guérite team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

The correct place for a good dinner.
Take your time, take your friends, drink champagne, heat tomahawk, spend your money, be happy and funny and your night will born from nothing. With signature E.M.

Thank Enrico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCCSB, Public Relations Manager at La Guerite, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Dear Enrico, it is such a pleasure to read your post and see how much you enjoyed your time in our restaurant. This is everything we want for our customers, a good dinner to share with your loved ones and we are glad you had our beef rib "Tomahawk". It is an excellent choice.
We are looking forward to seeing you back. Thank you for coming.
Best regards, La Guérite team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

There is no trace of Hurricane Irma at this immaculate and glamorous restaurant at the Gustavia harbourside. The service is friendly and attentive and the food is as delicious as always. The Pasta La Guerite must be tried, perhaps shared. The Vitello Tonnato is light and delicious, with delicate decoration of baby celery and fresh caper-berries. The veal chop is another favourite. The big menu does not compromise freshness, as the restaurant is understandably busy. La Guerite deserves to be close to the top of anyone’s shortlist for an excellent overall dining experience on St Barths, and it is our current number one.

Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCCSB, Responsable des relations publiques at La Guerite, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear Timothy,
Thank you for your visit at La Guérite. We are very pleased to read your opinions about your dining experience there. We can see you had a great moment, and really enjoyed the food and that really pleases us. Indeed as you said, we give a lot of attention to the presentation but also to the quality of the products we used and the service. Our chef has elaborated a menu with Mediterranean accents. Like this region, the cuisine is authentic and seeks to sublimate the products themselves without adding too many elements so as not to distort them. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our restaurant.
And a special thank you for your compliments about the setting itself, there was a lot of effort put into it after the hurricane.
Sincerely yours,
La Guérite team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Guerite also viewed

Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 
St. Jean, St. Barthelemy
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 

Been to La Guerite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing