We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trail”
Review of Cot Trail

Ranked #11 of 15 things to do in Montserrat
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The "Cot" located also in the Centre Hills. The Hike starts above the National Trust Compound. Highlights include the ruins of "The Cot", the one time summer cottage of the influential Sturge Family. A hike through the lush vegetation also affords breathtaking views of the villages below including some of the Exclusion Zone. A duck pond is located further along the trail.
Reviewed 28 April 2016

There are some steep areas but overall a great trail with GREAT VIEWS AND VISTAS! I would say it is a medium level trail.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank BillJAckerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

2 - 6 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2016

We were given pretty useless information (including a map) by the Tourist Board (which I have reviewed elsewhere). The walk is badly sign-posted from the start (after going up the first steep hill, you must not take the road left, but continue straight on along the dirt track). It then goes up for about 40 minutes - interesting with the agriculture and the views to the west - until, very surprisingly, at the top, there is an extensive (and intensive!) poultry farm, guarded by half a dozen ferocious dogs. Happily, their chains all restrained them adequately. And at the top there were no signs at all. We chose what we thought was the round-trip way home. The rain came on heavily for quarter of an hour, and the path became extremely slippery. At times it was only a couple of feet wide, with a sheer drop on one side, and nothing substantial to hang on to. My wife had at times to slide down on her bottom to ensure that she didn't go down the cliff. We saw no other signs for about 90 minutes, until, having gone downhill for that whole time, we found a sign indicating that we had reached the start of the Oriole Trail - miles away both from where we were supposed to be and from our car. We had been frightened, and we were exhausted after about 4 1/2 hours walk. Do not go until the signposting is in place. (We were saved by the typical kindness of the people, one of whom stopped their car and gave us a ride back to our car as we walked back along the main road about two miles away).

Date of experience: March 2016
2  Thank HUGH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2015

Quite a hike to get to the start of the trail, but worth it. Hire a guide! It's easy to get lost as the trails are not well marked.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2015

The Sturgeon Family built a summer retreat in the hills above Salem, Montserrat. The hike takes you past lovely plantation groves of coconut, banana and other tropical vegetation. Fabulous views along the way!

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2015

Fairly easy trail. Definitely one that is marked well. Nice walk through lush foliage. Out and back on the same trail.

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank joep893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cot Trail also viewed

 
Montserrat, Caribbean
Montserrat, Caribbean
 

Been to Cot Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing