We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant right on the water”
Review of Hotel Bambou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bambou
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Trois-Ilets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2017

We sat on their balcony and had a drink and appetizers. They offered us their beach chairs as well. The beach is soft sand and hardly any waves. A great place for kids or for a day relaxing on a float. Also, if you walk under the bridge and walk out to the small clusters of coral there is some great snorkeling. My kids also took out a jet ski which was right next to the hotel. It was a little pricey $50 per half hour but they could both ride the jetski together and a guide went with them. They loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank debbythec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 796 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2017

Traveled march 9 to 16th. Lovely hotel, cottage style ,colourful and friendly. We enjoyed our stay, the cottage was nice ,spacious,comfortable and clean. Air conditioning, water pressure everything was just fine. We had the Demi pension, which is continental breakfast and buffet style super. Our room a few steps from the pool, restaurant which is right on the beach . You can take the boat across to Fort de France a few steps from the hotel for a few euros. Now I must says anyone under 50 years old may not like it, we found most guests were probably over 60, lot's of
families with children and grand-parents great resort for this. Entertainment every evening, dancing, bathing suit show, creole dancers. Etc...
We enjoyed breakfast great croissants and chocolatine, fresh fruit, cold meat and cheese... as for the buffet I suppose it was good for most people, Maybe I'm a little fussy, not a Creole foody type. I must say though for lunch the beach restaurant was excellent and prices were the same as elsewhere.
We both really enjoyed this hotel, it' originality, great service and cleanliness definitely would recommend ..

Room Tip: Room 100 is the best available or any number in the 90,s
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Cute spot, food was meh, english speaking front staff, near some shopping, evening entertainment was entertaining but they only spoke in french. Nice area on the beach and staff was pretty accommodating. The only thing they could improve is the food. If i were to visit again I would consider this place a 2nd time.... hoping the food menu changes.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 304tonib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

My husband and I are always on the look out for cheap fares to the Caribbean and couldn't pass up Norwegian Air's service from BWI to Martinique. We booked online with the Hotel Bambou and had no issues adding in airfare transit as well, based on other reviews 100 Euros round trip seemed fair and we were not interested in renting a car. The manager was quick to follow up with an email about our flight information to arrange the transportation, much appreciated.

We then got an email about a week before we left asking if we needed any information about the island and confirming our airport pick up, again, much appreciated.

We were greeted by the driver right at the airport as we left customs and we were on our way to the hotel, as many others have noted, English is not spoken much by the locals, so be prepared with basic French.

The front desk ladies who checked us in were super friendly and spoke very good English and gave us the lay of the land. We were staying in one of their bungalow rooms close to the pool and restaurant. Initially I was worried about noise, but that was not an issue at all! The bungalows are SUPER CUTE! They have everything you need, comfy beds, clean room and bathroom, and a mini fridge. The shower was a great size and the whole bathroom was a modern design.

We made it to the hotel in time for dinner that first night, you do get breakfast and dinner included in your room, which was very convenient. Dinners were good, many selections at the buffet and tasty deserts. We did order a 1/2 carafe of wine each night, a bargain at 5 euro!

The next morning we enjoyed our pastries for breakfast and looked out at the beach while we ate. We saw where the ferry into town was, night next to the hotel, and jumped on one after we finished. It's 7 euros round trip into Fort-de-France, and is a lovely 20 minute ride each way. It was carnival time so the city was bustling. We bought a couple of beers for later and a bottle of rum, since we had a fridge in our room we could chill them down quickly. After our return, we enjoyed some pool time before dinner and a quick stroll through the surrounding area. There are a couple of shops there where you can pick up some snacks, lunch and drinks. Very convenient.

The next day we just enjoyed ourselves on the beach. We got there in time after breakfast to find two chairs under one of the little tiki umbrellas. There's an attendant there who will help you find a chair and bring you an umbrella if you need it. For lunch we enjoyed a panini from the snack bar and our beers purchased the day before. We enjoyed looking out at the boats moored out in the inlet.

We were sad to leave the early the next morning, it was an easy check out and our driver was right there at 5:30am ready to take us back to the airport. We really enjoyed our time and look forward to a longer trip next time. The hospitality of all the staff was wonderful and we feel we got a lot of good value for our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank swissmiss10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

We didn't expect much from the pics but we were in the end surprised .
We stayed in the " superior " side of the hotel and our room was brand new , down to walls , sheets , bathrooms . Lovey porch . Great maid service and a large comfortable room with lots of closets , shelves , a fridge and a 220 plug .
There was no mini bar .
There was no one at the pool asking if they could bring you a pina colada but there was a store nearby where you could buy wines and spirits for the fridge .
We had a small pool that was used by only our area , it was often empty and we took a late night swim .
Fabulous sunsets from our porch .
Easy beach access and a short stroll to town if we wanted a change
This hotel serves breakfast and dinner included .
The food was edible . Not better than that .Do not expect much . Special omelettes and bacon and eggs? NO WAY . I made do w bread cheese some cantaloupe .
Dinner too was not great but we did eat there 3 of 7 nights and it was easy . Pickings slim but .!!!
Very little English was spoken . We met only one American couple in the entire week . The staff spoke adequate English but we wished for a bit better insight to the island which was not easily supplied in English .
I have to admit , that after ragging on the hotel a bit , i grew enchanted with it and was sorry to leave .
Good vacation . Simple good vacation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trois-Ilets
0.6 km away
Hotel La Pagerie
Hotel La Pagerie
#1 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
1,079 reviews
0.5 km away
La Suite Villa
La Suite Villa
#2 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
359 reviews
1 km away
Carayou Hotel & Spa
Carayou Hotel & Spa
#4 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Diamant Beach
Diamant Beach
#1 of 4 in Le Diamant
314 reviews
14.1 km away
Hotel Corail Residence
Hotel Corail Residence
#1 of 9 in Sainte-Luce
347 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Bakoua
Hotel Bakoua
#7 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bambou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bambou

Address: Quartier Anse Mitan, Trois-Ilets 97229, Martinique
Region: Caribbean > Martinique > Arrondissement of Le Marin > Trois-Ilets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Trois-Ilets
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Trois-Ilets
Price Range: €128 - €249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bambou 2*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our welcoming establishment in southern Martinique is about 20 km from Aimé Césaire international airport and is a 20-minute boat trip from Fort-de-France. It is an ideal starting point for visits to the "Ile aux Fleurs", placed under the sign of new discoveries and relaxation. Sports enthusiasts will also find plenty to satisfy them thanks to its proximity to the superb beaches and water sport centres. Fine sand, turquoise water, banana trees and bougainvillea are on the programme just a stone's throw from your comfortable and colourful room. A guaranteed change of scenery! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bambou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bambou Hotel Trois Ilets
Hotel Bambou Martinique/Trois-Ilets

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing