We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
14
40
23
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
40
23
17
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2015

The plus side first of all, this is a hotel with a nice location within easy walking distance of the restaurants and ferry stop at L'Anse Mitan. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with plentiful tropical flowers and hummingbirds galore. The small private beach is a pleasant place for a quick dip and the breakfast is pretty good, with croissants, fresh fruit etc.
But, and this is a big but, the chalet-style rooms here are depressingly shabby. Furnishings look like they were bought in the 1970s, the beds are saggy (a nightmare for anyone with any back issues) and the candlewick bedspreads look so grubby that I felt I had to wash my hands after handling them. Sheets had holes in them, the bathroom was clean, but still felt dirty and the kitchenette just made the room feel even more low-rent and grim. Also, the air conditioning leaked water, so we couldn't use that. The little terrace at the back was a Godsend as we really did not want to spend any more time than we absolutely had to in the room, but it had a very uninspiring view of the back of the reception hut.
I can't really comment on the staff as they were nowhere to be seen most of the time and rather inconveniently, reception closes for most of the middle of the day (about 12-4 I think) so if you do need anything for those 4 hours, good luck with that! Weirdly, on our first night someone started up either a chainsaw or a strimmer somewhere near our room at midnight. Goodness knows what all that was about, but it didn't help with a good night's sleep.
In summary, the beautiful grounds do not make up for the grimness of the rooms. Much investment is needed, starting with new beds, a lick of paint and new bedlinen. Not recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 464fionam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Lovely location, with a small private beach and a bar area, to watch the sunset.

There are a number if chalets throughout the complex. The rooms we were in were shabby and in need to a great deal of maintenance and updating. The beds were comfortable enough. The pillows were a little lumpy. Most of the lights were not working in the room and the wooden slats on the windows and door did not fully close, so be prepared for a few nocturnal visitors.
Security in the rooms is not great. The bottom stable door lock did not fit, so could easily be opened without a key! No safe in the room, so had to take all valuables with is each day.
The rooms had a kitchen area, fridge and electric rings. There were no facilities, but you can ask for a pan and cups for making a drink.

A large pool and lovely seating area, were ideal for cooling off after a day exploring. The extensive gardens are lovely, great to watch crabs, frogs and birds. All chalets have a balcony, so you can sit relaxing in the garden.

The village complex is about 20 minutes walk from the town, downhill, with a good range of restaurants and cafés.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a good buffet, with fresh French bread, cheeses, ham, jams, croissants etc. A new coffee machine is available to help yourself. The breakfast/reception area is very pleasant. A BBQ is available on Saturday nights or on other nights by request, which is a new venture, in the bar area near the beach. The portions were large and of a good standard. The setting was great.

In summary: with some care and attention to the rooms, this would be an ideal place to stay. It seems as though they were doing maintenance work, so it would be worth seeing if they have any chalets which have been updated.

In terms of scores, I'd give 1 for the rooms, but 4 for everything else.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damselflyspotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

L'Imperatrice Village is a great place to relax, small chalets in lovely grounds with a good size swimming pool and a private beach. Basic, but good breakfast is available, but not much else. If the beach bar is open you may be able to get a drink, but otherwise bring your own and use the fridge in the room. Rooms have a/c, small kitchen, fridge etc. but are old and need refurbishment. Its is ok for a nights sleep, and if you take it for what it is, and not expect too much, the location makes up for it. 10 mins walk to Pointe du Boute for shops, bars and cafés.

Room Tip: Chalets in the gardens, choice to be near the sea or further in land nearer the pool and reception, all quiet and kitted out the same. If you want kitchen equipment to self cater, you need to ask at reception (in French) for this to be provided.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelTrax1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I am not sure what the Imperatrice Village is doing in the Fort de France section of hotels in Martinique.
To avoid disappointing travellers looking for a hotel in the city, it should be pointed out that the Imperatrice Village is a vacation complex in the town of Trois-Ilets. It is not too far away from the Anse Mitan quarter of Trois-Ilets from where one might catch a ferry to Fort de France (approximately 30 minutes, no services in the evening). Alternatively it's about an hour's drive from Fort de France, depending on the density of traffic jams.
To resume, the Imperatrice Village is a nice place to spend a quiet holiday away from everything, if you want to stay in Fort de France for pleasure or business, choose a hotel in or near the city.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank FDF-resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

If you are a tourist L'Imperatrice Village is a good accommodation. We stayed there for 5 nights and had some good night sleeps. Yes, it isn't the most beautiful accommodation but it has everything you need. The accommodations are spread out through the Village and there are 3 studio's under one roof. There is a little beach but it's not really worth lying there the whole day. Best is to rent a car for the whole period of your stay as everything is driving distance. Breakfast is very simple so if you want more than simple you best check into the most expensive hotel on the island.

Before coming to Martinique I've spend hours even days trying to find a nice accommodation that isn't too expensive. L'Imperatrice is perfect for that. The studio's do need a bit of paint and repairing but I do believe we all just sleep there and tour around the island every day. There are beautiful beaches everywhere. And while driving around the island I noticed that many accommodations don't look as nice as this one.

The owner is very friendly, doesn't speak much english but with a smile everything is possible. Do keep in mind, while being there during a local holiday it can get very busy with local families. Our first 2 nights were very quiet, and afterwards it became very busy but they all are friendly offering us local foods.

The accommodation is about 15 min walk to Point du Bout, which is a very nice town. There are some shops and restaurants at the Creole Village and a nice marina. However like I wrote before. It's best to rent a car.

Overal, we had a good time there. Just don't expect the world and everything should be fine. We had cottage 138, one of the closest to the beach. (with gorgeous sunset)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sabinesjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews