We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dowtown choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel l'Imperatrice
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Fort-de-France
Reviewed 11 May 2017

The hotel is Colonial style with some touches of maintenance lacks (Elevator doors look) but overall clean, good beds although a bit hard, and all necessary amenities. The bar downstairs is a nice place for a cocktail, but forget the snacks, very expensive and a ham and cheese sandwich came still frozen inside. Overall the staff is friendly enough and this is a good address for some business stay. Two negative points even if not hotel's fault: Junkies roaming around even in the morning, and the park gardener blowing leaves with his noisy machine from 4 till 6 AM...

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurent-pub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2017

Our flight back to the US was cancelled due to the weather, so we needed to find a place to stay in Fort-De-France. I love history, culture, and architecture, so I thought this place was super cool - very old school, quirky, and neat decor. However, the room was very small and the WiFi service was pretty poor, so I wouldn't recommend staying there for many nights. Best part of this place - the L'Impe Cafe. The bar had a great selection of cocktails and the doors opened right onto the street. I've never been to Havana, but I can imagine that's what bars are like there.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank caitlinnnmaryy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

Light rain and stopped for a coke. Comfortable corner plantation weave seating. Nice cool breeze off the park and Caribbean Sea. Friendly folks with free wifi. Menus available in USD, otherwise on euros at $1.30 to $1.00 US. Rain stopped off to Yellow for lunch on Rue VICTOR HUGO!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

This hotel is great for people who love parties and staying up all night and also, culture, history and architecture. This hotel is not a good match for people coming to Martinique to relax, refresh, work and/or study.

This beautiful building has been run by the same family since 1955. It has nice touches you don't see in new structures, like wood mouldings and furniture, but the bathrooms are nice and modern. The only issue with our bathroom was that the part that holds up the shower head was broken so you had to hold it the whole time you used it. Everything is very clean. It's a great location for walking around the historic part of the city.

The breakfast was great: several types of bread, salami, bologna, rillettes or pâtés, an egg station to make your eggs in shell soft or hard boiled as you like, cereals, yogurts, the usual things to put on bread, bananas, oranges, grapefruit, sometimes grapes, apples, dates, tamarind, dates, coffee, tea, juices, and more.

We are a couple that booked a double bed in a "superior" room. The first night at the hotel they gave us two twins beds we couldn't even push together because they were bolted to the wall. We opted to spend the night sharing one of the twin beds. We didn't fall off the sides but we didn't sleep well either.
They seemed apologetic about the mistake and moved us to the room next door the next day. It was perfect. A corner on the fifth floor with a enough floor space for two people to do yoga and beautiful views. (Room 53) The other room with the twins beds is also quite nice and roomy - but not for a couple. Perfect for traveling friends. (Room 52). The fifth floor rooms do not have balconies but are nice all the same.

They did not compensate us in any way for the first uncomfortable night. Even a comped meal at their restaurant would have been appreciated to make up for a terrible first night in Martinique.

This is one of two reasons this is not a hotel we will return to. The second reason, and worse, was the noise. I don't think this has anything to do with the hotel itself, so much as the location, which is situated across from a large park that is used for festivals sometimes. It is also along the parade route for every event from Carnivale to the Bet a Fe parade and others. The festivals are great! They are beautiful and a lot of fun. But it not something I want to have my hotel room next to. The festivals attract ancillary parties and groups (like the motor club that managed to kit out their cars to be louder than the speaker systems in the parades) that party around the hotel until 4am well after the parades have finished (usually around 11pm). And then, at 4 or 5am the clean up crew comes and they are almost as noisy with the machines they use. They did an immaculate job though. To look at the street you'd never know there was a festival the night before.
The hotel itself can also be noisy. There are two conference/reception rooms on either side of the fourth floor. They use amplifiers. They are used randomly, day or night.

You get the idea. We actually did not sleep for the six days we were there. We couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank suzaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Do not stay here, the hotel is horrendous.
Staff are rude and unhelpful, manager is by far the rudest most unhelpful I've ever had the displeasure to speak to.
Absolute disgrace and I wouldn't stay here even if they paid me....
Overpriced hell hole........

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boltondebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort-de-France
0.6 km away
Simon Hotel
Simon Hotel
#2 of 8 in Fort-de-France
170 reviews
1.2 km away
Karibea Squash Hotel
Karibea Squash Hotel
#6 of 8 in Fort-de-France
162 reviews
3.4 km away
Karibea Valmeniere Hotel
Karibea Valmeniere Hotel
#3 of 8 in Fort-de-France
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Hotel La Pagerie
Hotel La Pagerie
#1 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
1,079 reviews
0.2 km away
Carib Hotel
Carib Hotel
#5 of 8 in Fort-de-France
50 reviews
3 km away
Hotel La Bateliere
Hotel La Bateliere
#1 of 1 in Schoelcher
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Imperatrice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Imperatrice

Address: 15 Rue de La Liberte, Fort-de-France 97200, Martinique
Region: Caribbean > Martinique > Arrondissement of Fort-de-France > Fort-de-France
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Fort-de-France
Price Range: €79 - €138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel l'Imperatrice 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Down-town Fort-de-France, with a superb view over "La Savane" Park, L'Imperatrice is a boutique hotel with charm, elegance and Creole authentic spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel l'Imperatrice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing