We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveller rating
417
54
6
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
54
6
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yogurt beach chairs perfect location place to stay continental breakfast within walking distance bars and restaurants wonderful stay perfect hosts nice breakfast the main strip sun bay mini fridge small hotel puerto rico our entire stay blue beach
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 481 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2017

We had a fantastic stay at the Malecon House, the room was very comfortable and tastefully done. We would highly recommend it. They had towels, beach chairs, ice, and coolers available to take to the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cmrm31md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViequesPom, General Manager at Malecon House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

The beaches here in Vieques are a true paradise! I am glad we had a small part in making your beach getaway one that was enjoyable! Thank you for the recommendation, as it is truly appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

We had a wonderful stay at Malecon House recently. It exceeded our expectations, in comfort, cleanliness, friendliness, amenities and location. It is the perfect place to experience the laid back energy of Esperanza and the pristine beaches of Vieques. Amazing restaurants and funky cafes are just steps away from this small hotel. Daphne offers great suggestions for food, and day trips. This charming and affordable hotel exudes local "island" character with a modern vibe and tasteful details and is the perfect choice for a vacation far away from generic tropical resorts

Room Tip: Some upstairs rooms have views.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AriSF2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViequesPom, General Manager at Malecon House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time on Vieques and at the Malecon House! Thank you for bringing your energy to Esperanza, and our little piece of paradise know as the Malecon House!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Out of the many places that we stayed over the course of our trip and keeping in mind that everything is relative....
- nicest rooms (spacious, extremely effective air conditioners, beautiful decor)
- comfortable sheets and soft-ish beds for those of us more picky about such things (ask the proprietor...she knows the bed "softness" in each room!)
- provided great shampoo and conditioner (didn't think I would ever have to specify that, but we stayed some places that did not provide toiletries of any kind)
- most beautiful location...walk out, directly across from the beach
- most convenient location ... beach, obviously steps away, but there are also fabulous restaurants, scooter/bike/kayak/etc rentals within a couple blocks
- delicious breakfast ... continental/tropical blend with coffee, great way to start the day
- really accommodating management...knowledgeable about area... willing to go out of her way to help us with arrangements, keep our luggage after checkout time so we could explore unencumbered...show up after hours when we had questions and locked ourselves out, etc

Things to note:
- as stated in other reviews, there are no TVs so bring a book, or download something to watch onto your laptop/phone because...
- technically there is wifi. But actually connecting to it is a bit of a coin toss, and if one can connect the speed varies from functional to can't-tell-there-is-a-connection. Seems to vary a lot depending on which room one is trying to connect from.

Other than hoping for a tv and better wifi, a 5 star stay...looking forward to returning in the future!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Fauxpaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViequesPom, General Manager at Malecon House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Thank you for the review! I think we need to add you to our staff and have you in marketing for us! So glad you enjoyed your stay, and I really appreciate that you noticed all the little things that added to an experience that makes you want to come back! We gave our wifi a little boost recently and the experience has gotten better there too! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Our first time at the Malecon House and we will definitely come back! We had a family group of 10 with three rooms, the rooms were spacious and comfortable. The property is VERY clean, the staff are excellent, the views are beautiful and the location is fantastic! There were ample beach supplies to use for daily outings, a light but tasty breakfast in the morning, helpful staff, games and books to use and the roof top deck for sunset viewing is wonderful. It was nice that the hotel didn't have TV or phones in the rooms but they do have wi-fi, who needs this stuff when there are so many wonderful things to do on the island, we certainly didn't miss the technology! We had a great time in Vieques and staying at the Malecon House made our visit all the better!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carmen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViequesPom, General Manager at Malecon House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

First of all, thank you for the kind words and review! 2nd of all, so glad you went to the roof top and checked out the view from there! Amazing right! Your review reads like someone who took advantage of the island as it is intended; relax, chill and see the island in all of its glory! I am happy to read that your island stay was a great experience, and thank you for letting the Malecon House be a part of that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Wonderful experience at Malecon house. The staff was helpful, especially Daphne who made every effort to help us with all our requests. The location was great and we loved the island. We recommend it highly, (but really don't want too many tourists to spoil the beautiful beaches).

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lilli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViequesPom, General Manager at Malecon House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

We wont let anyone spoil the beaches for you! Looking forward to your return, and truly appreciate your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews