We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveller rating
417
53
6
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
53
6
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtbeach chairsperfect locationplace to staycontinental breakfastwithin walking distancebars and restaurantswonderful stayperfect hostsnice breakfastthe main stripsun baymini fridgesmall hotelpuerto ricoour entire stayblue beach
Filter
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 480 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Ok - remember, this is Vieques. We are not talking Maui with state of the art high-rise hotels. It is a very rural island where wild horses abound and paved roads are a luxury. What you get in return is sun, great beaches, very nice people, excellent to good food (Quenepo, Tradewinds, and Lazy Jacks are all close by and vary in price and quality, but all provide more than acceptable food choices) and more R&R than you know what to do with.

With that in mind, I have rated our experience at Malecon House "excellent." There were 4 of us in a room on the second floor overlooking the water. What a view and a great breeze. I could have sat on the balcony all day, but the beaches are far too nice to do so. So, every AM began with us downstairs enjoying a very nice continental breakfast. Then we packed up the chairs, coolers, and umbrella provided by the inn and took off for the day. A Jeep is a requirement to enjoy the island as some of the roads are a bit rough, but it is all part of the adventure.

Our room was large enough to not feel cramped in any way whatsoever. The beds were comfortable. The AC and internet worked and we felt very safe there. As an FYI, when you come in at night you are asked to close the gate to keep the horses out of the garden!

The owners are very nice and as noted in some other reviews, give you space, but were very helpful and pleasant to be around.

The only negative - we needed a better exhaust fan in the bathroom. But, we were only there for 4 nights; it is not like we bought the place. It was hardly enough of a problem to reflect it in the rating, just made it tough to dry off after a shower and with older kids in the room, prevented said drying from occurring in front of the AC unit.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newave314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Our seven-day stay was wonderful. Upon our arrival Robin provided us an informative greeting/orientation of the inn, grounds, continental breakfast etc.

The continental breakfast provided a standard cereal fare, along with fresh juice and fruit, and scrumptious homemade muffins, scones and alike. There was plenty of hot coffee and teas.

Robin and Marsha are friendly, but also wish to give vacationers their space by not being over bearing. In other words Robin and Marsha take your lead, if you wish to get into "how did you get here" they would.

Marsha has great contacts which we took advantage of. One was the bio luminescent tour and the other a five-hour trip on Ron Solt's Vieques island Power Catamaran boat. We were able to snorkel, paddle board, play in the beautiful Caribbean waters, enjoy a delicious meal on deck of the Cat inclidng champagne, wines, mimosa etc.

There are several restauarants within walking distance of the the house, some we enjoyed better that others, but like so much in life it is in the taste buds of the beholder. Belly Button was great for breakfast and lunch - espcially take out for the cooler for the beach. The Steakhouse at Orquideas was one of our favorites.

There are coolers, beach chairs, beach toys,umbrellas, etc available for use by tenants.

Bill & Peg

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

The inn was really nicely done, with high quality materials and good design sense. We were very comfortable during our stay. The Inn is very airy and the grounds are lovely. The location was good for those without a car, although I would have appreciated having a bike to get to the beaches a little further away. We walked to restaurants and to Sun Bay beach. Breakfast was tasty with homemade baked goods, fruit and cereal, but would have been even better with the addition of some yogurt and boiled eggs.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish1856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I have mixed feelings about my stay here. The location is great, obviously. The inn is beautiful and well-maintained. My room was ready for early check in without any advanced notice. I slept well each night and enjoyed the breakfast on the patio each morning. I just felt that the reception was almost cold. Even though everything was nice at the hotel, something about the interactions made me feel almost unwelcome. I just felt like in this price range they should have made you feel more comfortable coming and going.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViequesPom, Owner at Malecon House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Thank you for your time in making this review. It’s a little hard to respond as we are often complimented on our level of service. Occasionally, it can be a hard call to know when to give someone space or attention- we apologize if we got it wrong in this case. Marsha was friendly but has been shaking off a dose of ‘flu and this could have been a factor.
We do remember that this guest did not come into the reception during his two day stay, required no help with taxis and told us on departure that he had enjoyed his stay. A brief relationship such as this during a two day visit does take both parties to establish. We are here to help.....all this guest needed to do was to ask questions/advice/ recommendations. In the reception area, we leave a note telling our guests how to reach us after hours so we are always available to them.
Finally, we do appreciate the positive remarks about our great location, hotel design and standards, sleep quality and breakfast and of course we are always happy to accommodate guests with an early check-in or upgrade when possible.
We hope this guest makes it back our way and will give us a second chance to redeem ourselves in his eyes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We had a very nice stay at Malecon house in early September. My two favorite things about this property are the breakfast and the grounds. Oops, and the pool, that makes three. The breakfast is very good--home made, fresh baked goods, local fruit, cereal, juices, and coffee with steamed milk. It's served outside on the patio, where you're surrounded by beautiful plants and flowers in a rainbow of colors. There is plenty to eat--you won't be hungry.
The innkeepers were friendly and very helpful with directions and suggestions for dining and shopping.
The pool is in a secluded area to the side, and there's a wonderful space with lounge chairs covered by a canopy of green--I think they are the Flamboyan trees. It's a great place for a nap or some quiet time. We went there every day after returning from our excursions.
The rooms are modern European decor, but with nice quality furnishings. We had one of the front facing rooms with a truly fabulous water view. There's also a small women's boutique with interesting resortwear. I bought several things, and you get a discount if you're staying at the hotel.
The hotel has some other nice touches--they have books to share for adults and kids. Also games. There is a nice selection of beach chairs, umbrellas, and coolers to take in your rental Jeep to the awesome beaches all over the island. I prefer this area to Isabel, but it can get noisy on weekend nights with the cars cruising the strip.
You definitely should have a car to explore the beaches--if you don't like the conditions at one, just pack up your stuff and move on to the next. There are maps everywhere to direct you. The only caution I would offer is be careful driving at night--they don't seem to follow many traffic rules, and we were almost side-swiped coming home from dinner! However, there are several restaurants within a short walking-distance, but the ones open after Labor Day were mostly casual, so we did some driving to get some variety.
We really enjoyed our stay here, and would love to return.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the front have a great view of the water.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aggy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews