We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views and beautifully warm service”
Review of Hacienda Tamarindo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hacienda Tamarindo
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 August 2017

I have stayed at Hacienda Tamarindo several times, usually in room 8 or Casita Linda. I love it! The hotel is lovely and comfortable. Located on the desirable south side of the island, just a mile from the buzz of Esperanza, it is a private and intimate setting perfect for relaxation. It's a quick drive to both Black sands beach and Sun bay. I also love to walk on Playa grande in the mornings. The lush landscaping and the view of Esperanza cays from the pool is unmatched. There is a herd of horses and colts thats roams the meadow adjacent to the property. The rooms are crisp and well cleaned with very comfortable beds. The style is homey, think mediterrean mixed with a country inn. The wifi is free, but is best in the library, it can be spotty in the rooms. All of the staff is stellar, they are Vieques locals and bring a wealth of knowledge and realness to the Vieques experience. The breakfast is under the shade of the tamarind tree, accented by finches and attentive service from the ladies in the kitchen. It's cooked to order and you can get whatever you like, eggs any style and a daily special. Like pretty much every hotel in Vieques, you need a car to take advantage of the beautiful beaches, which are all located at the ends of the island in the wildlife reserves. But your room is equipped with a cooler, pick up a six-pack of Medalla from the library, and the little rentals shop has the all the snorkel equipment, umbrellas, beach chairs, and sunscreen to keep you cool and entertained on your excursions. When you get back, make yourself a drink from the honor bar and enjoy the stunning treetop view from the lobby terrace! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Carribean Rooms have views. 8 is big! Casita Linda has two bedrooms with a wrap-around porch and kit...
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your experience. We love to see our guests return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
There are newer reviews for Hacienda Tamarindo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed here last week with my daughter, her husband and two grandkids. We should definitely have planned for a longer stay. The Hacienda is beautiful, tastefully decorated, close to beaches and the breakfast was superb. When we learned we would not be able to bring our rental car over on the ferry, hotel staff kindly made arrangements for a car for us. Thank you!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Gloria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We can't wait for your return. Thank you for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Excellent place, good breakfast and staff. Very quiet place and very nice. The ocean view was perfect and very beautiful. The pool is great and the view it has is perfect. Would stay again. Highly recommend to anyone staying at Vieques.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate knowing that our guests have enjoyed their stays with us, and are willing to share their experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed from June 1-June 6. We had a wonderful time. We were really happy with our entire experience. The pre-trip info was very helpful, check-in/check-out was easy, the room was comfortable and clean, the pool was enjoyable, breakfast was fantastic, staff was friendly and helpful, we loved the views and landscaping, the honor system for buying drinks/gear/snacks was easy & last but not least, it was great to interact with the resident dog, Zac, who had great manners and was happy to receive attention. We definitely recommend staying at this hotel and would love to return someday.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

We always appreciate a great review and knowing that you and your daughter enjoyed your experience on Vieques and with us at Hacienda Tamarindo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

Hubby and I visited PR and on our must do list is to do the Bio Bay Tour at Mosquito Bay. We were hoping to do a day trip to Vieques but couldn’t bcos the tour is only done at night and there wasn’t any flight going back to the mainland (Ceiba airport) that late so after doing some research, we found Hacienda Tamarindo which was a wonderful one-night experience! We chose them bcos we heard/read that they have the best breakfast on the island and we loved it! Our flight back to Ceiba airport the next day was leaving really early as we had to catch our flight back home from SJU so I requested breakfast on the day of our arrival and they accommodated us and graciously had a table waiting for me and hubby as we were barely making it to the end of breakfast service. I was in heaven! The property was beautiful and although it’s not beachfront, we had a beautiful view of the ocean and they also have a large sized pool. It was designed very efficiently – our room had beach/pool towels and an ice chest that we can fill up to take to the beach. They also had complimentary beach chairs and some other beach toys/accessories at a nominal cost. We didn’t have a TV but the beautiful view from our room overcompensated that. They even had an honor bar where guests can have a cocktail, soda, or snack and you just write down what you had on a note pad for billing at time of check out. Btw, we rented a jeep which is essential if you plan to drive around and have access to some of Vieques’ fabulous beaches. We spent our time at Caraca Beach and loved it – the water was pristine and calm and there was hardly anyone there. Keep an eye out for free roaming horses – they were everywhere!

Room Tip: the room by the dining area has a gorgeous view of the ocean
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hb2maui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Thank you for the great review. We appreciate your sharing your experience with Trip Advisor, and hope we might see you and perhaps your friends on another trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
5.1 km away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,840 reviews
1.2 km away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
455 reviews
7.8 km away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
74.1 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
95.8 km away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tamarindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tamarindo

Address: Rte. 996, Km. 4.5, 00765-1569, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: €173 - €237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Tamarindo 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vieques’ Hacienda Tamarindo offers 17 very special rooms, each lovingly and creatively designed and decorated by owner, Linda Vail -- her swan song after over 20 years as a commercial interior designer. Each guest room and public space is unique; imaginatively spiced with a lifetime’s accumulation of art, antiques, and collectibles. An ancient Tamarind tree in the lobby atrium majestically rises three stories through the center of the building. Terraces, courtyards, and sitting rooms offer ample space for relaxation and conversation. The Hacienda is perched on a hilltop with spectacular 180 degree views of the Caribbean -- from sunrise to sunset; looking down on the bedazzling, ever-changing myriad of blue, emerald and turquoise waters. Caribbean trade winds and lazy paddle fans keep you cool and comfortable. Here, you can fall asleep to a tree frog serenade and awake to the smell of jasmine on the gentle sea breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hacienda Tamarindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tamarindo Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing