We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Casa de Tortuga(Isla de Vieques)(Great Value!)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trade Winds Guesthouse(Isla de Vieques)
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Lazy Hostel(Esperanza)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SeaGate Hotel(Isla de Vieques)(Great Value!)
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Blok Hotel(Esperanza)
US$185
US$167
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Vieques Good Vibe House(Isla de Vieques)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Check-in Vieques Hotel(Isla de Vieques)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wave Hotel(Isla de Vieques)
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Vieques Guesthouse(Esperanza)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveller rating
436
109
26
5
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
109
26
5
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonor bartamarind treecasita lindahonor systemcaribbean deluxebeach chairsmade to order breakfastevery morningblue horizonbio baybreakfast was includedwild horsesjeep rentalice machinethought of everythingbed and breakfastesperanza riding company
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 587 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2017

Can't understand how people can give this hotel less than 5 stars. This is a great small hotel with great views, staff, location and ownership. No hotel in Vieques is within walking distance to the great beaches (south side, Esperanza) of the island. Breakfast was included and it wasn't just your typical "continental breakfast" but a delicious offering that rivaled any restaurant. They provided fresh bath and beach towels every day as well as beach chairs, snorkeling gear and beach umbrellas. Will stay here again in my next visit to Vieques.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gabriele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Thank you so much for the great review. We very much look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

I was looking forward to a stay at the Hacienda because of the great reviews in Trip Advisor and the ranking of " #2 in 164 hotels in Puerto Rico". Unfortunately I have to say that this property is more like a nice bed and breakfast than a hotel or resort. I loved the staff, the pool and the character of the place but missed the amenities of a full service hotel. My room was full of hungry mosquitoes and the insecticide provided by the staff did not make the situation better. Although the view of the ocean is very nice the Hacienda is really far from the beach and you need a car to get there. It seems like this property has seen better days and now deserves a little upkeeping.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foncho11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We are a B&B hotel, not a resort. If we know there is a situation with a guest who staying with us, we do everything we can to resolve the situation at the time. Unfortunately, we did not have that opportunity during your stay. we like to know when one of our guests is having a problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Quiet, nice room overlooking beautiful, expansive beaches. Close enough to town to enjoy all that Esperanza has to offer yet just far enough to get away from it all. I recommend renting a jeep so you can truly experience the island. Enjoy breakfast at the hacienda and then hit one of the many beautiful, serene beaches. We filled an ice chest that the hacienda thoughtfully provided in our room and then grabbed some Medallas from the little store down the road.

The hotel owners and staff were really friendly and helpful with beach suggestions and excursions. Definitely hit the Biobay. It's beautiful and pure magic on a clear night.

Vieques is a wonderful retreat from overbooked, overcrowded vacation destinations. On most days, we had entire beaches all to ourselves. The local people were friendly, sweet and very welcoming. Horses literally walk and run about freely on the entire island and if you're lucky, will approach your vehicle for a quick treat.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nalu86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

We are always happy to hear from guests who enjoyed their experience here at Hacienda Tamarindo and on Vieques. It was very thoughtful of you to take the time to write your glowing review. We very much appreciate that. Please visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

We just completed seven nights at the Hacienda. We had heard about it through friends. It is a magical, peaceful , laid back hotel with a commanding view of the ocean five minutes from Esperanza.

The staff is warm and helpful, particularly Pamela and Gloria our server. Breakfast on the veranda overlooking the bay begins the day. The owner, Burr Vail and his trusty old english sheepdog, Zach, steered us to beaches one more beautiful than then next.

We would love to come back again.

Room Tip: Room 23 overlooks the ocean.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 799Peter56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

What a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to write it. We appreciate your calling out names of staff you found especially helpful. We definitely look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

Booked day of for a last minute overnight to Vieques to do the Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking (also fantastic) and was thrilled. Hotel has beautiful views, and a fairly large property (compared to others), with a beautiful pool space. Staff was very accommodating, gave a tour of the hotel on check in, and had lots of suggestions and advice for travelers, and allowed us a late checkout since no one was taking our room that day. Rooms are simple but very clean and comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was great, and served outdoors! Location was close to everything we wanted to do on then island, definitely walkable to the Biobary tour we did, however we opted for a cab because the roads are narrow and do not have side walks. We walk to Black Sand Beach the next day though with no trouble!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank VEliza2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Thank you for that great review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, and hope you might come back for a longer visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews