We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night in Vieques ... i wanted more!”
Review of Hacienda Tamarindo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hacienda Tamarindo
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 June 2017

Hubby and I visited PR and on our must do list is to do the Bio Bay Tour at Mosquito Bay. We were hoping to do a day trip to Vieques but couldn’t bcos the tour is only done at night and there wasn’t any flight going back to the mainland (Ceiba airport) that late so after doing some research, we found Hacienda Tamarindo which was a wonderful one-night experience! We chose them bcos we heard/read that they have the best breakfast on the island and we loved it! Our flight back to Ceiba airport the next day was leaving really early as we had to catch our flight back home from SJU so I requested breakfast on the day of our arrival and they accommodated us and graciously had a table waiting for me and hubby as we were barely making it to the end of breakfast service. I was in heaven! The property was beautiful and although it’s not beachfront, we had a beautiful view of the ocean and they also have a large sized pool. It was designed very efficiently – our room had beach/pool towels and an ice chest that we can fill up to take to the beach. They also had complimentary beach chairs and some other beach toys/accessories at a nominal cost. We didn’t have a TV but the beautiful view from our room overcompensated that. They even had an honor bar where guests can have a cocktail, soda, or snack and you just write down what you had on a note pad for billing at time of check out. Btw, we rented a jeep which is essential if you plan to drive around and have access to some of Vieques’ fabulous beaches. We spent our time at Caraca Beach and loved it – the water was pristine and calm and there was hardly anyone there. Keep an eye out for free roaming horses – they were everywhere!

Room Tip: the room by the dining area has a gorgeous view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hb2maui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Thank you for the great review. We appreciate your sharing your experience with Trip Advisor, and hope we might see you and perhaps your friends on another trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2017

Can't understand how people can give this hotel less than 5 stars. This is a great small hotel with great views, staff, location and ownership. No hotel in Vieques is within walking distance to the great beaches (south side, Esperanza) of the island. Breakfast was included and it wasn't just your typical "continental breakfast" but a delicious offering that rivaled any restaurant. They provided fresh bath and beach towels every day as well as beach chairs, snorkeling gear and beach umbrellas. Will stay here again in my next visit to Vieques.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gabriele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Thank you so much for the great review. We very much look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

I was looking forward to a stay at the Hacienda because of the great reviews in Trip Advisor and the ranking of " #2 in 164 hotels in Puerto Rico". Unfortunately I have to say that this property is more like a nice bed and breakfast than a hotel or resort. I loved the staff, the pool and the character of the place but missed the amenities of a full service hotel. My room was full of hungry mosquitoes and the insecticide provided by the staff did not make the situation better. Although the view of the ocean is very nice the Hacienda is really far from the beach and you need a car to get there. It seems like this property has seen better days and now deserves a little upkeeping.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foncho11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We are a B&B hotel, not a resort. If we know there is a situation with a guest who staying with us, we do everything we can to resolve the situation at the time. Unfortunately, we did not have that opportunity during your stay. we like to know when one of our guests is having a problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Quiet, nice room overlooking beautiful, expansive beaches. Close enough to town to enjoy all that Esperanza has to offer yet just far enough to get away from it all. I recommend renting a jeep so you can truly experience the island. Enjoy breakfast at the hacienda and then hit one of the many beautiful, serene beaches. We filled an ice chest that the hacienda thoughtfully provided in our room and then grabbed some Medallas from the little store down the road.

The hotel owners and staff were really friendly and helpful with beach suggestions and excursions. Definitely hit the Biobay. It's beautiful and pure magic on a clear night.

Vieques is a wonderful retreat from overbooked, overcrowded vacation destinations. On most days, we had entire beaches all to ourselves. The local people were friendly, sweet and very welcoming. Horses literally walk and run about freely on the entire island and if you're lucky, will approach your vehicle for a quick treat.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nalu86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

We are always happy to hear from guests who enjoyed their experience here at Hacienda Tamarindo and on Vieques. It was very thoughtful of you to take the time to write your glowing review. We very much appreciate that. Please visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

We just completed seven nights at the Hacienda. We had heard about it through friends. It is a magical, peaceful , laid back hotel with a commanding view of the ocean five minutes from Esperanza.

The staff is warm and helpful, particularly Pamela and Gloria our server. Breakfast on the veranda overlooking the bay begins the day. The owner, Burr Vail and his trusty old english sheepdog, Zach, steered us to beaches one more beautiful than then next.

We would love to come back again.

Room Tip: Room 23 overlooks the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 799Peter56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

What a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to write it. We appreciate your calling out names of staff you found especially helpful. We definitely look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
1.2 km away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
5.1 km away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,843 reviews
1.6 km away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
375 reviews
74.1 km away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
850 reviews
74.2 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tamarindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tamarindo

Address: Rte. 996, Km. 4.5, 00765-1569, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: €132 - €318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Tamarindo 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vieques’ Hacienda Tamarindo offers 17 very special rooms, each lovingly and creatively designed and decorated by owner, Linda Vail -- her swan song after over 20 years as a commercial interior designer. Each guest room and public space is unique; imaginatively spiced with a lifetime’s accumulation of art, antiques, and collectibles. An ancient Tamarind tree in the lobby atrium majestically rises three stories through the center of the building. Terraces, courtyards, and sitting rooms offer ample space for relaxation and conversation. The Hacienda is perched on a hilltop with spectacular 180 degree views of the Caribbean -- from sunrise to sunset; looking down on the bedazzling, ever-changing myriad of blue, emerald and turquoise waters. Caribbean trade winds and lazy paddle fans keep you cool and comfortable. Here, you can fall asleep to a tree frog serenade and awake to the smell of jasmine on the gentle sea breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hacienda Tamarindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tamarindo Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing