We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come, Eat, Enjoy!”
Review of Cocina Sorongo

Cocina Sorongo
Ranked #37 of 117 Restaurants in Mayaguez
Price range: US$1 - US$15
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Bar, Puerto Rican
Description: Cocina Sorongo is a small local restaurant, which serves the best dumplings in the western area. Influenced by the traditional cooking of grandmothers, new dishes full of flavor and color have been created. If you want to try truly Puerto Rican food you have to come to Cocina Sorongo. We are on the shore of Mayagüez beach, always playing good music. Quiet atmosphere, cold beers and good food. You want something different come to Sorongo.
Restaurant details
Description: Cocina Sorongo is a small local restaurant, which serves the best dumplings in the western area. Influenced by the traditional cooking of grandmothers, new dishes full of flavor and color have been created. If you want to try truly Puerto Rican food you have to come to Cocina Sorongo. We are on the shore of Mayagüez beach, always playing good music. Quiet atmosphere, cold beers and good food. You want something different come to Sorongo.
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Where I should begin? In July 2016 I visited Sorongo for the first time. My daughter Irene accompanied me. It is an artisan cozy place just in front of the sea. Every single entry in the menu is a unique delicacy. Sorongo is a creative concept, where alcapurrias, empanadillas or cuajito is not just simple that. But beware with things hot. They are really hot. If you are not into it, don't even try. Prices are afordable. Beers are cheap. It has a good ambience. I came back in october with my love one. She was delighted. I highly recommend Sorongo.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank El P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

This place is a hidden treasure.
It is a small place like a shack, but the flavor is there.
We ordered some empanadillas. Chicken, carne brava (hot and spicy) if you want the turnovers are dipped in bacalaito mix (a fried cod fish dish) we decided that. Fact the empanadillas took awhile, but we drank the coolest beer I have ever had.
Empanadillas (turnovers) carne brava is extremely spice but tasted great. We also had a hamburger with alcapurria ( a fried dish made of green bananas linstead of bread. It was very good.
Place is small but clean. It has ocean view so it can be relaxing. Small place, no A/C or fancy stuff, but people are good and friendly.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Golosocriollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

Very unique place!! The food is delicious, the view is breathtaking and very reasonable prices! Would definitely recommend!

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank Barbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

One of a Kind Food And Place . This spot created its own menu with a big twist on the island traditional dishes some with historic names. Menu prices are very affordable and staff is funny! Leche, Chopo and staff will make sure you leave with a smile!

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank AValentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

This is the best place for eating and having a good time in the west of Puerto Rico, I always enjoy having fun there and the staff is really nice with their costumer. This is a must go place

Date of visit: March 2016
1  Thank Y7380DDmichellel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cocina Sorongo also viewed

Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
 
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Cocina Sorongo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing