We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our worst family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mayaguez Resort & Casino
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

I cant divide this in bad or good, since everything was bad. The checking was the longest I have ever witnessed and for what? THIS!!?? After i finished the huge check in I couldn't even go to the pool so we had to rest in our beds which looked like decrepit old as sin beds from 1942 with a brown yellow-ish color that was disgusting. Next day, we went to the reason everybody comes here the lazy river, which was horrid as well with a dark blue color and baby feces. As soon as we could we bolted from the hotel like there was no tomorrow. AVOID!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalonso, General Manager at Mayaguez Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Jose... The lazy river is closed since Hurricane Maria for the damage it suffered. What problems did you have during your check-in? We had only a few rooms available because we are full with diferents Disaster Relief groups.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2017

The room carpet had a terrible mildew smell, multiple roaches in bedroom and bathroom, restaurant service terribly slow, a bartender that will not service locals (will only tend to foreigners, just looking for tips), WIFI service is terrible, front desk staff, guards, and parking team provided excellent customer service.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank NRamos70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalonso, General Manager at Mayaguez Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

With which company you stayed with us? With no communication or signal in the area after the Hurricane we provided dedicate lines for internet to those companies that set up their offices at our property thanks to Claro. About the room carpet ... some areas were flooded during the Hurricane and we tried to get them dry as fast as we could but with the emergency and the disaster relief teams requesting rooms we are still trying to get them dry well. Please send an email to dalonso@mayaguezresort.com with your full name to see your folio and see if there are any complaints that we have not addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed for business in the new tower. The facilities need to be refreshed but my room was very nice as it was located in their newest tower (two double beds, big TV, ground floor, new tile, new carpet, desk area).

Although the menu at the hotel restaurant is buffet style (a la carte items were limited post hurricane Maria), there was a variety of salads, proteins and starches for breakfast and dinner (I had lunch outside the hotel). It is a good value for the $ if you are too tired to wander around... plus the staff provides good service.

This hotel is a good option if you have business in Añasco, and of course, in the Mayagüez area.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Mayra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalonso, General Manager at Mayaguez Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thanks for the review Mayra!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

After Maria many restaurant had sufer. I went to the lunch special. It is $12 but it only offer one meat and one dessert. I felt it was to expensive for to little options. Well I was comparing it to before María (with 3 or 4 meat and desserts options) But the food, service and place was as good as always and that was why I don't worry. I know they will slowly recover with the rest of the country...

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank JHM959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalonso, General Manager at Mayaguez Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thanks for the review! But if you go to any fast food you will buy a large combo for almost the same price. And ours was $11.05 all you can eat....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

They’re up and running, following Hurricane Maria, but the service is weak, at best. If you stay, ask for a room in the new tower, the rooms in the older building are in dire need of updates and renovation.

There’s clean/potable water and hot water. Food is decent, but service is horrible. It took 90 min and two calls for my room service to arrive. Another colleague had a similar experience.

Allen the tower showers flood the rooms. Every day. Get used to it.

Rooms don’t have Kleenex or facial tissue (a major complaint of mine) and the “coffee makers” are a joke. If your a caffeine junkie, bring your own hot water kettle and/or press. The hotel coffee isn’t worthy of any accolades.

Check-in took about an hour. Bring patience.

Dempsey, a server in the bar/restaurant is great, attentive and speedy. Ask for him and tip well.

Overall, I’d probably stay again, only because it’s the best of the limited options. Avoid the Mayaguez Holiday Inn and the Howard Johnson.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Y7242CAmattm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalonso, General Manager at Mayaguez Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

So sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with us. Every day we strive to improve our service so our guests have a more pleasant stay. We have made annotations of your concerns and we will evaluate them. Thanks !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayaguez
2.1 km away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
16.1 km away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
29.5 km away
Parador Villa Parguera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR
2.6 km away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#2 of 4 in Mayaguez
136 reviews
15.9 km away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayaguez Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayaguez Resort & Casino

Address: 0.3 Route 104 Km, Mayaguez 00680, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Mayaguez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Price Range: €157 - €225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mayaguez Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mayagüez Resort & Casino is an independently operated, deluxe, full service hotel located in the west coast town of Mayagüez.The hotel is nestled amid 20 acres of scenic, sunny surroundings with spectacular views of the Bay. It is conveniently located 15 minutes from the center of town and the University of PR, Mayagüez Campus; 10 minutes from the Puerto Rico Zoo; 15 minutes from the local Eugenino Maria de Hostos Airport; a 25 minute shuttle flight from the Luis Muñoz Marin San Juan Airport; a 45 minutes drive from the regional Rafael Hernandez Airport in the town of Aguadilla; 25 minutes from the Golf course in Joyuda, Cabo Rojo; and a short ride to the most beautiful beaches and tourist attraction areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mayaguez Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayaguez Resort And Casino
Mayaguez Hotel Mayaguez
Mayaguez Resort Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing