We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
97
103
85
71
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
97
103
85
71
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviews resort casino pool view castillo zoo security
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 448 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2017

The room carpet had a terrible mildew smell, multiple roaches in bedroom and bathroom, restaurant service terribly slow, a bartender that will not service locals (will only tend to foreigners, just looking for tips), WIFI service is terrible, front desk staff, guards, and parking team provided excellent customer service.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank NRamos70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalonso, General Manager at Mayaguez Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

With which company you stayed with us? With no communication or signal in the area after the Hurricane we provided dedicate lines for internet to those companies that set up their offices at our property thanks to Claro. About the room carpet ... some areas were flooded during the Hurricane and we tried to get them dry as fast as we could but with the emergency and the disaster relief teams requesting rooms we are still trying to get them dry well. Please send an email to dalonso@mayaguezresort.com with your full name to see your folio and see if there are any complaints that we have not addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed for business in the new tower. The facilities need to be refreshed but my room was very nice as it was located in their newest tower (two double beds, big TV, ground floor, new tile, new carpet, desk area).

Although the menu at the hotel restaurant is buffet style (a la carte items were limited post hurricane Maria), there was a variety of salads, proteins and starches for breakfast and dinner (I had lunch outside the hotel). It is a good value for the $ if you are too tired to wander around... plus the staff provides good service.

This hotel is a good option if you have business in Añasco, and of course, in the Mayagüez area.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 1968mayrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalonso, General Manager at Mayaguez Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thanks for the review Mayra!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

After Maria many restaurant had sufer. I went to the lunch special. It is $12 but it only offer one meat and one dessert. I felt it was to expensive for to little options. Well I was comparing it to before María (with 3 or 4 meat and desserts options) But the food, service and place was as good as always and that was why I don't worry. I know they will slowly recover with the rest of the country...

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank JHM959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalonso, General Manager at Mayaguez Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thanks for the review! But if you go to any fast food you will buy a large combo for almost the same price. And ours was $11.05 all you can eat....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

They’re up and running, following Hurricane Maria, but the service is weak, at best. If you stay, ask for a room in the new tower, the rooms in the older building are in dire need of updates and renovation.

There’s clean/potable water and hot water. Food is decent, but service is horrible. It took 90 min and two calls for my room service to arrive. Another colleague had a similar experience.

Allen the tower showers flood the rooms. Every day. Get used to it.

Rooms don’t have Kleenex or facial tissue (a major complaint of mine) and the “coffee makers” are a joke. If your a caffeine junkie, bring your own hot water kettle and/or press. The hotel coffee isn’t worthy of any accolades.

Check-in took about an hour. Bring patience.

Dempsey, a server in the bar/restaurant is great, attentive and speedy. Ask for him and tip well.

Overall, I’d probably stay again, only because it’s the best of the limited options. Avoid the Mayaguez Holiday Inn and the Howard Johnson.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Y7242CAmattm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalonso, General Manager at Mayaguez Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

So sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with us. Every day we strive to improve our service so our guests have a more pleasant stay. We have made annotations of your concerns and we will evaluate them. Thanks !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

We were lucky enough to stay at the Mayaguez during and after Hurricane Maria. The staff was all very professional and helpful during such a disaster! I could not believe how calming they were to the guests when you know they must have been very worried about there homes and families. The restaurant always had food available and tried to accommodate everyone. We were amazed at how fast the staff got the property back to somewhat normal, the day after Hurricane Maria they were working very hard to clear the trees and debris from the grounds. We will be back!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BKnightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews