We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Checking places after Hurracan María”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mayaguez Resort & Casino
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

After Maria many restaurant had sufer. I went to the lunch special. It is $12 but it only offer one meat and one dessert. I felt it was to expensive for to little options. Well I was comparing it to before María (with 3 or 4 meat and desserts options) But the food, service and place was as good as always and that was why I don't worry. I know they will slowly recover with the rest of the country...

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank JHM959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalonso, General Manager at Mayaguez Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thanks for the review! But if you go to any fast food you will buy a large combo for almost the same price. And ours was $11.05 all you can eat....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

They’re up and running, following Hurricane Maria, but the service is weak, at best. If you stay, ask for a room in the new tower, the rooms in the older building are in dire need of updates and renovation.

There’s clean/potable water and hot water. Food is decent, but service is horrible. It took 90 min and two calls for my room service to arrive. Another colleague had a similar experience.

Allen the tower showers flood the rooms. Every day. Get used to it.

Rooms don’t have Kleenex or facial tissue (a major complaint of mine) and the “coffee makers” are a joke. If your a caffeine junkie, bring your own hot water kettle and/or press. The hotel coffee isn’t worthy of any accolades.

Check-in took about an hour. Bring patience.

Dempsey, a server in the bar/restaurant is great, attentive and speedy. Ask for him and tip well.

Overall, I’d probably stay again, only because it’s the best of the limited options. Avoid the Mayaguez Holiday Inn and the Howard Johnson.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Y7242CAmattm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalonso, General Manager at Mayaguez Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

So sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with us. Every day we strive to improve our service so our guests have a more pleasant stay. We have made annotations of your concerns and we will evaluate them. Thanks !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

We were lucky enough to stay at the Mayaguez during and after Hurricane Maria. The staff was all very professional and helpful during such a disaster! I could not believe how calming they were to the guests when you know they must have been very worried about there homes and families. The restaurant always had food available and tried to accommodate everyone. We were amazed at how fast the staff got the property back to somewhat normal, the day after Hurricane Maria they were working very hard to clear the trees and debris from the grounds. We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BKnightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Naomi, was awesome helping me with a reservation. That was the only thing good about this place. I cannot fathom how it is called a resort.
First off, the room was filthy, drapes were dirty, bathtub was not clean, and the fridge did not work well. The cleaning staff did not even change the bed covers.
The front desk folks we had to engage with some of the issues we were having did not help at all and were rude. I would certainly never stay at this place ever again. In addition, I would not recommend this property.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joserodriguez10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

After a night of terror at our home in Gurabo during hurricane Maria and 2 weeks without communication, school, daycare, work ($$$), electricity, water supplies waiting hours in lines for basic supplies like food, gasoline, banks etc knowing nothing from our family on Aguada and running almost out of our monthly family income , our kids were overwhelmed with all this so we decided to come to this hotel to spend a night and it was a night of TERROR. We have my mom refugee at my home so she was with us during this situation. They made my mom pay another room just for herself and the customer service was very very NASTY specially from Ms Arlene Mass. The supervisors were anti guests and did not offer any solution to our situation. Rooms were expensive, humid and we got allergic rhinitis. Being a puertorrican this is something that was not expected. We do NOT recommend this hotel at all. It was a very disappointing and sad experience, we even didn't rest as we thought.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Hector R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalonso, General Manager at Mayaguez Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

We are sorry you had this experience at our property. How many people were in your room? We only accept up to 4 persons. Speaking about other areas of the hotel... Did you had the opportunity to enjoy the pool and had a hot meal?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayaguez
2.1 km away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
16.1 km away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
2.6 km away
Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
Aquarius Vacation Club
Aquarius Vacation Club
#1 of 4 in Boqueron
351 reviews
27.6 km away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Cabo Rojo
718 reviews
29.5 km away
Parador Villa Parguera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayaguez Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayaguez Resort & Casino

Address: 0.3 Route 104 Km, Mayaguez 00680, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Mayaguez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Price Range: €124 - €210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mayaguez Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mayagüez Resort & Casino is an independently operated, deluxe, full service hotel located in the west coast town of Mayagüez.The hotel is nestled amid 20 acres of scenic, sunny surroundings with spectacular views of the Bay. It is conveniently located 15 minutes from the center of town and the University of PR, Mayagüez Campus; 10 minutes from the Puerto Rico Zoo; 15 minutes from the local Eugenino Maria de Hostos Airport; a 25 minute shuttle flight from the Luis Muñoz Marin San Juan Airport; a 45 minutes drive from the regional Rafael Hernandez Airport in the town of Aguadilla; 25 minutes from the Golf course in Joyuda, Cabo Rojo; and a short ride to the most beautiful beaches and tourist attraction areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mayaguez Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayaguez Resort And Casino
Mayaguez Hotel Mayaguez
Mayaguez Resort Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing