We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for children (and adults, too!)”
other travellers have booked this property
Private Patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Patio
View from Patio into Kitchen Queen Size Bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Private Patio
View from Patio into Kitchen
Queen Size Bed
View of Patio from Bedroom
View from Bedroom of Living Room
View From Living Room Area into Bedroom
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Dining Area in Kitchen
Full Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
San Juan, Puerto Rico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Federster...
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for children (and adults, too!)”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed with our children (4 and 2 years) for 8 nights at Casa Arana and couldn't have been happier. The place itself is – as other reviewers already stated – gorgeous: an open, spacious apartment that is simply but beautifully furnished in combination with your private secure courtyard surrounded by tropical plants. Our kids had a blast just running around or watching the occasional lizards that visited. Although being in the center of Old San Juan Casa Arana is very quiet and relaxing. We loved coming home from walking the beautiful city and being welcomed by such tranquility and peace. The owner Luis Alfonso is very kind and professional to deal with. All in all we really loved our stay and are already planning on coming back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DELAQUERI...
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Class and charm”
Reviewed 12 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

All the reviewers before me rightly sang the praises of Casa Arana. I don’t have a single reason to differ by playing a sour note.
The apartment is ideally located at the heart of historic San Juan on a quiet, narrow street lined with old, colorful buildings in diverse stages of restoration (for its age, Casa Arana itself is in great condition). In all directions a short walk brings you from one picturesque street to the other to everything you need (shopping, restaurants) and to the places you want to see or visit in the old town. Let’s specify here we never felt unsafe.
From the street we enjoyed reaching the apartment through the art gallery. Besides this touch of class, we found the place roomy and comfortable and enjoyed having neither television nor a humming air conditioner. Since it was February, the airflow through the different rooms, if activated by the fans, kept us cool and the mosquitoes away (we did not need to use the net above the bed). The kitchen is well appointed if you feel like preparing meals, and the bathroom is adequate. On a slightly negative side, lighting could be more favorable to reading at night. And the enhanced picture of the patio on the website is somewhat misleading since the three-story high walls surrounding it prevent sunrays from reaching there. It is definitely shady. I guess this is an advantage in hot weather.
Señor Melendez, the owner, is a courteous, discreet and affable host. His daughter Olivia deals very professionally with the business part. It was a pleasure to interact with both.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charm and convenience
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balistrer...
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place to stay”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We have stayed in several other properties in San Juan but this was the one we enjoyed the most. The location is awesome and so is the owner. We all had music in common. We walked all over the city during the day and came back in the hot afternoon to our little oasis in the city to rest and read, and also to listen to music as we got ready to go explore the night life. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the locaion
Liked least: The bed, but it's not terrible.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old San Juan Charm”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I recently stayed at the Casa Arana apartment and we are already looking forward to coming back as soon as we can! We absolutely loved it for so many reasons. One reason is for its prime location. It was so nice to be able to walk down the street to get to the market, restaurants and shops. The apartment has a wonderful kitchen, which allowed us to make some of our own meals instead of eating out all the time. Also, there are fabulous restaurants in all directions. We so preferred staying here compared to a hotel or resort because we actually felt like we were living in Puerto Rico. You get to experience the charm and history of Old San Juan through this apartment. Another reason why it was so great was all the space you are getting. We loved being able to have so much room, especially the patio which is the heart of the home. It was way better than being confined to a hotel room. We gladly recommend this apartment to our friends and family or anyone who is looking to experience Old San Juan at its finest!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina...
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Casa Arana for a week and it was such a pleasure. The location cannot be any more convenient if you are staying in Old San Juan - we were close to EVERYTHING! The venue itself is clean, spacious, and very beautiful in its historic architecture and layout. You really feel like you are somewhere tropical! There is not air condition but do not let that stop you - all the rooms open to a beautiful courtyard and we got a breeze in from there and the numerous fans. Its a true tropical experience - also the owner Luis is so friendly and nice! We loved chatting with him and will definitely stay here again when we find ourselves in San Juan once more.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing