We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff..great value for 2** hotel”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Caribbean
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff..great value for 2** hotel”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is convenient with some amenities within walking distance and taxis readily available. Room was clean and just fine for 2** hotel, bathroom updated but the lack of hot water was a negative for me.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaribbeanButterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    308
    133
    47
    79
See reviews for
159
295
45
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The neighbourhood might not be to everyone's liking, but this is the place to stay.
Very clean, very quiet and extraordinary people to welcome you.
The hotel has a 'bistro', but you will also find restaurants nearby.
Our room had a small fridge and microwave and there is a grocery store within walking distance.
The bus stops in front of the hotel and for 50 cents it will get you the Old San Juan terminal where you can catch the free trolley.
We stayed for 2 nights before cruising

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brasstess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I have stayed in this hotel countless times in the past for business reasons, and it has never occured to me that I should properly write a review about my experience. I guess because most of my previous visits only spent a night or so at the hotel. Anyway, this time around, I did stay for 3 nights, so...
The staffs are very friendly and accommodating. Since I do not personally speak Spanish, they are willing to teach me a few words for me to get by. Great location, about 10 to 15 minutes away from Old San Juan. The bus stop is just a block away. A few restaurants and a supermarket (if you need grocery for an extended stay) are just up the block. The room is clean and roomy with microwave and refrigerator. I especially love the rooftop terrace. It offers a great view of the city and plenty of fresh air. The only concern seems to be the water in the shower. A few times, the water did not come out hot enough, well...it was not exactly cold, but I guess given the warm weather in PR, it shouldn't be much a problem. A great value for the overall experience and will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPWONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerSanJuan, Manager at Hotel Miramar, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Thank you for taking time to write regarding your hotel stay . We are always glad to hear from our guests and very happy to know that our staff delivered to your expectations and that you also found our location ideal for your needs.
Our location in the Miramar district puts you in the middle of the so called Golden Triangle, right at the intersection of 3 major expressways, at the entrance of the San Juan islet, and within walking distance of the Convention Center and Condado Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We found this hotel on Trip Advisor, read the previous reviews, and then booked it. It was an excellent choice. It is about a 10-minute bus or taxi ride to old San Juan and is in a nice business and residential mix neighborhood. The staff was very friendly and there is a restaurant attached to the hotel, and several others in the neighborhood. There also is a movie complex just up the block with first run films. Our room was large and very comfortable. Our only concern was a certain mustiness upon entering the room. We suspected the air conditioner filter needed to be changed. A couple of other guests that we talked to also noticed the odor. Overall, a very good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room because the hotel is located on Ponce de Leon, one of the main streets in San...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RustyCarpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerSanJuan, Manager at Hotel Miramar, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Thank you for taking time to let us know about your hotel experience. We try hard to deliver the best hotel value in San Juan. As a boutique hotel we offer personalized service, attention to detail and amenities and accomodations that rival with hotels at the high end of the market..
It is very rewarding when our valued guests let us know t hat we are delivering on our promise.
Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I stayed here for one night after spending over a week on the East side of the island. I scored a great deal on hotwire and just needed a clean place to sleep. The hotel is a boutique-style hotel in Miramar, a residential area, which is about a 10 minute walk to Condado area. Hotel Miramar was absolutely perfect for what I needed! The public bus stop was right across the street and for .50, I took the M3 bus to Old San Juan where I spent the entire day walking and exploring. The front desk staff was friendly and very helpful with questions about Old San Juan, nearby dining, taxis, safety, etc.. The hotel is SO charming, there is a little sitting area on the lobby floor but away from the lobby area with computers for guests' use. There is a fitness center, laundry facilities and a very nice rooftop terrace offering sweeping views of the city. The rooms were very spacious and incredibly clean. This was the perfect simple accommodation for one night. My only complaints were that the water in my shower never got hot, only lukewarm and the bed was a little hard for me. Nevertheless, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room higher up for better views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEGMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerSanJuan, Manager at Hotel Miramar, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and candid feedback. It is a pleasure to hear from our valued guests when they take the time to let us know that they appreciate our services, location and value as we strive to be the best hotel value in San Juan!
Thanks again and we look forward to your future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
3.2 km away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
947 reviews
0.6 km away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.3 km away
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
#17 of 47 in San Juan
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
1.4 km away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
6.7 km away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Property: Hotel Miramar
Address: 606 Ave Ponce de Leon | Miramar, San Juan 00907-3106, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel San Juan
Miramar San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing