We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friend's Birthday”
Review of La Madre

La Madre
Ranked #57 of 1,171 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$26
Cuisines: Caribbean, Mexican, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are a small, locally owned business offering high quality meals cooked with the best ingredients. A very intimate space to enjoy lunch or dinner, and now brunch on the weekends. Fresh fruit juices, mimosas & margaritas, premium coffee and great music make this a place you don't want to miss.
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Simply Great. Excellent dishes, great Service, Great Drinks, Nicely located in Old San Juan. This place has it all. Look nowhere else. You can have Mexican food or International even some Asian inspired dishes. We were a group of 12 and were treated very nicely.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jorgeitpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stopped in for an early dinner, the food was tasty! We had their Queso, but wished we’d skipped this (it was excellent) because we also ordered their tacos which were huge, we couldn’t finish them!

The restaurant is small and charming, you’ll love it!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 119ag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

My wife and I visited La Madre for brunch yesterday. We intended to go there for lunch, but on Saturdays they apparently serve only brunch until 5:00PM.

She ordered fish tacos and really liked them. I ordered chilaquiles with red sauce. I love chilaquiles, but I have a hard time finding them in Texas. These were so good that I savored every bite. I wanted to lick the plate, but I figured my wife might be upset with me. The drinks were yummy as well.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Peulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

Staff was super friendly although it was a bit of a wait to finally receive our food. In their defense we are a large family of 7. The food was worth the wait! Loved every bite!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank docairforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Okay so Sunday night, we are wondering around looking for GOOD FOOD (not necessarily local, but fresh and tastey) we found a GEM! A side alley with lovely music and outdoor seating to enjoy a romantic evening! And great service and pricing! Fabuloso y perfecto!!! Thanks Andres!!!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank aatryban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Madre also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to La Madre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing