We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$365
US$315
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$350/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

El Canario by the Lagoon(San Juan)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tres Palmas Inn(San Juan)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Miramar(San Juan)
US$153
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$219
US$186
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$399
US$343
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$307
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$192
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$380
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$235
US$230
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
718 results
Traveller rating
90
139
111
103
275
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
139
111
103
275
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 718 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2017

It is all about LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION. I stayed here in the 1980s and didn't expect an easy time, based on the recent reviews. I was most pleasantly surprised. This is a bare minimalistic venue, only about 35-40 rooms, right on the beach.. No usual hotel services other than housekeeping and clean towels each day. Our room was small, yet clean. Everything in the bathroom worked. The TV cable in the neighborhood was out for our first two days, so no TV. The old elevator was out the last two days we were there. A hotel worker carried down my luggage. The air conditioning worked at 110% our entire stay, and boy did we need it...the barometric pressure outside was like 150% in humidity. There are hidden charges if you book on a service like Travelocity ($10/day per room "electricity charge", plus taxes). There is a $10/day, 24 hour parking lot right across the street, so don't reserve their $12.50/day spots in front of the hotel. All in all, everything turned out waaaay better than we expected here, and would not hesitate to go back there.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LARRY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvyn M, General Manager at Atlantic Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear Larry A, thank you for your review in September. We are pleased to announce that the hotel was purchased by new ownership in mid-May. We have cleaned the hotel thoroughly and fixed any broken items as needed. The best news of all we will begin a beautiful renovation on the property shortly. We hope that visit us again in the near future to witness our wonderful improvements coming soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Too much noise around, the elevator was to old and evert time Someone comes around you can hear the steps across the hall. A little bit of pushing attitude from the hosts regarding the check out and too much papers to sign for just a stay. It was clean , the location is great but they have to upgrade a few things and should have a place for a small breakfast or snack in the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cfigueroamontano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvyn M, General Manager at Atlantic Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear Cfigueroamontano, thank you for your review in August. We are pleased to announce that the hotel was purchased by new ownership in mid-May. We have cleaned the hotel thoroughly and fixed any broken items as needed. The best news of all we will begin a beautiful renovation on the property shortly. We hope that visit us again in the near future to witness our wonderful improvements coming soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

the hotel was not what I thought it would be everyday I had to ask for sheets and had to change my bed on my own.. no where to sit on the beach had to pay 5 dollars for beach chair and 10 for a umbrella the tv was out three days of our stay and the elevator was broken and old!!! But staff was friendly and it's in a good location no opening to beach from hotel the hotel is broken down and old next time we will not be staying here

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MicKal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvyn M, General Manager at Atlantic Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear MicKal S, thank you for your review in August. We are pleased to announce that the hotel was purchased by new ownership in mid-May. We have cleaned the hotel thoroughly and fixed any broken items as needed. The best news of all we will begin a beautiful renovation on the property shortly. We hope that visit us again in the near future to witness our wonderful improvements coming soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

I saw driving around trying to find a hotel for one night before my flight back home. I ran into this very old hotel. The location could not be better. On the beach with an amazing view to the ocean. The area is full of restaurants, stores and night life. It reminds me a little of a mini South Beach. This is a 2-3 star hotel because it's old and there has no money invested into it. The elevator is kind of a ride.... but, it's clean, everything works and the staff was very nice. I enjoyed the great surprise.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvyn M, General Manager at Atlantic Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear Thomas A, thank you for your review in August. We are pleased to announce that the hotel was purchased by new ownership in mid-May. We have cleaned the hotel thoroughly and fixed any broken items as needed. The best news of all we will begin a beautiful renovation on the property shortly. We hope that visit us again in the near future to witness our wonderful improvements coming soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

It feels just like a cheaper MOTEL, I don't think they care to much about it, the elevator is so old that only someone really lazy enough not to walk the stairs would take that. The bathroom feel like pool there is more water outside the shower than in. The bed had a brick holding the mattress. There is dirty everywhere even the shower curtain have mold. The walls are so thin that you can hear your neighbor conversation clearly and they also charge you a separate fee upon check in to cover electricity and water. no refrigerator, if you want Ice you have to go to the baseman and get it. THE ONLY NICE THING ABOUT THIS HOTEL WAS THE BEACH (is not really part of the hotel is a public area), which you have to exit the hotel and take public stairs if you want access the beach. And the customers service is so poor.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Tommy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvyn M, General Manager at Atlantic Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear Tommy P, thank you for your review in August. We are pleased to announce that the hotel was purchased by new ownership in mid-May. We have cleaned the hotel thoroughly and fixed any broken items as needed. The best news of all we will begin a beautiful renovation on the property shortly. We hope that visit us again in the near future to witness our wonderful improvements coming soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews