We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the fun place it used to be.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantic Beach Hotel
Ranked #46 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Overpriced parking at $30 daily is a must. There is little to no street parking. Not the fun place it used to be. You need to pass the front desk and register anyone you bring to your room. A guest was hit over the head while walking on the beach in the evening while I was there. The staff was so so and the rooms were noisy. The better hotels are not much more expensive and when I return I'll stay in one of them. The only thing this hotel has going for it is the Ocean View rooms but not much else.

Room Tip: I would not stay here again, If you must stay here at least ask for an Ocean View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Don go to this very dirty place. No client service. Very bad experience. The room are so tiny. Very rude personell. Dont go to this place.
The employe told me in very bad attitude that if other person want to enter i have to pay 30.00 per person to this dirty hotel.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank lsantos2074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

As communicated to the hotel, I arrived from the airport at 2 AM needing some food and asked if I could have an extension of my check out time of 1 hour. I was told no. In the morning they called my room an hour early to be sure I was up so I would be out on time. Then a lot of banging on doors to get people up and out. The single most unpleasant experience I have had at a hotel out of 65 countries. Sadly they have let this place run down and they have forgotten that they are in the hospitality business.

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Timothy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Where to start.....the building is in terrible condition, pictures are deceiving, way overpriced for what it has to offer (it should be a 1 star hotel if at all), there is an energy charge?! and a mandatory 100 dollar cash deposit (why can't they accept a credit card?) and I have never stayed in a place so dirty.

WiFi is only available at the lobby area, and yes it is a beachfront hotel - which is why I booked it - but you have no access from the hotel because the stairs are blocked.

And the view of my room?! I attach pictures of said view, just terrible.....

To top it off you can clearly hear the guests from other rooms when they come back from the bar or whatever, so no sound sleep possible.

Oh and the cleaning lady (or whoever is in charge of kicking everyone out) yells at all checkout guests like 1 hour before checkout, that you have to leave as soon as possible..... I have never experienced such a nasty treatment from a hotel in my life.

The location is just not worth the headache.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Years and years back I stayed at this hotel and it was cute. Just returned from a stay there 2 weeks ago. What a disaster. We had 2 separate rooms and paid about 3 times the normal rate due to the week we were there between Christmas and New Years. Check in process is a process in itself, budget a good 30 min (if you are lucky) per person for that experience. All kinds of extra fees added to your rate, The "resort" fee made me laugh... where was the resort?

Rooms are small, bare and have various broken fixtures. Elevator may or may not work depending on the day. Other friends of ours were staying at another hotel and they were not allowed to enter the hotel come knock on our door to meet us. They were actually followed to the elevator and told to leave. WIFI never worked anywhere in the building. If you check out 5 min past 11am they will charge you for another full day. The bar is never open however they will only let you eat or drink on their patio and 1st floor area with food & beverage you purchase from their non open bar. If you try to eat a sandwich or have a drink at the outside patio overlooking the beach you will be told you have to take it to your room or leave the hotel to eat it. I'm staying in your hotel and I cant eat food or drink a coke in an outside public area?

If you need to check your bags at checkout because they throw you out of your room @ 11 and you need to kill time before your flight, just leave your bag in the lobby area where anyone can just walk up and take them. That is their bag storage area.

This place honestly has huge potential but needs to be sold to someone who has even a slight clue of the hospitality business or business in general for that matter. Hopefully people will stop booking this hotel and it will be forced to close its doors. That would be a huge contribution to the area.

Room Tip: Best rooms are at a different hotel
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
5  Thank Euroboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
6.3 km away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
264 reviews
0.4 km away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
847 reviews
4.6 km away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#8 of 47 in San Juan
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sandy Beach Hotel
Sandy Beach Hotel
#41 of 47 in San Juan
322 reviews
4.4 km away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
974 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#40 of 47 in San Juan
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Beach Hotel

Address: 1 Vendig St. | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: €154 - €764 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience one of San Juan's most popular beach front locations at the Atlantic Beach Hotel on Condado Beach. The Atlantic has become a favorite place for the travel savvy and open minded traveler who enjoys its unpretentious atmosphere and its lively appeal to a wide variety of lifestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantic Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Beach San Juan
Hotel Atlantic Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing