We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12,474)
Filter reviews
12,474 results
Traveller rating
4,571
3,902
2,110
1,036
855
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,571
3,902
2,110
1,036
855
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jerk chicken gold club don pablo the grill a la carte restaurants time share dolce vita karaoke bar beach snack bar main buffet nude beach air transat japanese restaurant orchid buffet air canada towel hut face cloths
Filter
Updating list...
2,727 - 2,732 of 12,474 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

A big disappointment. The food was a total disappointment. The drinks were cheaply made even at dinner. It was very hard to make reservations to the 5 restaurants at the resort... The customer service was horrible

  • Stayed: July 2016
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosebud0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CassandraGen, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Dear guest,

We regret that we were not able to fulfill your expectations and we are very appreciative of your reviews. We put our greatest interest into your opinion and you can rest assure that we will take good note about it to check this information with the relevant department’s heads to give these matters the proper attention.

On behalf of our General Manager and all Team Members, we apologize for the situations you have explained and we would appreciate the opportunity to revise your perception of our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

The hotel is beautifully landscaped and well-maintained. The security is top-notch. Buffet has a good selection of options although I do wish they did "Jamaica Day" more than just once a week. We had one issue with room service not bringing glasses/wine bottle opener as requested one day but overall, we had quick and satisfactory responses from room service. We were part of the "Golden Club" which allowed us to have a quiet room in which to access internet and get answers to questions. Jermaine in the Golden Club was very helpful with any question I may have had.
Regarding poolside lounge chairs, a suggestion is to note which chairs have a towel/belongings sitting for more than an hour without anyone there. Those belongings should be removed. While it wasn't rampant, it was disappointing that some people would save chairs and then go to the buffet or wherever for hours.This practice left our family of 5 with little choice of shade for the short time we would spend at the pool.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank sas025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CassandraGen, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Dear guest,

We are very delighted that you have chosen the Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica as your vacation destination. It is always a good feeling when our guest posts wonderful reviews such as yours. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you and we look forward to hosting you again to provide you with a relaxing and memorable holiday stay.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Check-in - Absolute nightmare. There's no line; the process is slow and cumbersome. The staff are very friendly, but the whole thing is just disorganized.

Resort - Beautiful lobby, pools, grounds, beach, etc. No complaints there.

Rooms - Average. Bathrooms are dated, and our shower had mould. This is probably because there's no exhaust in the bathroom.

Restaurants (Buffet) - Pretty good selection, there are several to choose from.

Service - We received some excellent service from several members of the staff. Most of the time, it was awful. We called down for bottled water and towels, which never showed up. At the restaurants, servers would constantly disappear. When they're available, they'll forget basic requests (drinks, cutlery, napkins, etc.). At the bars, some bartenders were downright rude. There are some major training issues here.

Activities - This resort excels at these. Tonnes of free and fun activities including beer drinking contests, dance lessons, etc.

Room Tip: Try to get upgraded to the luxury side. In the regular side, try staying close to the main lobby, or you'll be walking a lot.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Shim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CassandraGen, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. It is always concerning when our guests are not completely satisfied with their holiday; however, we really appreciate this feedback and we would like inform you that the Managers of the departments involved will be taking the necessary measures.

Thank you for your time and we hope beside those events you had a relaxed and casual atmosphere during your vacation.

Yours respectfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

I'm currently staying here and this is my second night. When we arrived to the front desk there was no order. People were lined up complaining about one thing or another. There no velvet ropes to form lines so every space of the front desk was covered with a noise of complaints from patrons. I've never seen this before. They were 9 of us, two famlies looking to enjoy our yearly vacation. We booked together and yet they managed to put us in three separate buildings. This is a plea for service as this is the second night we have no bed for our kids. We booked a junior suite for me my wife and two boys. We realized that there was only one bed and have called endlessly since yesterday for a roll in bed. They sent a housekeeper twice to clean the bed that has not arrived. We have yet to see a manager although we have asked. So, this is my plea for service since calling does not seem to make a difference.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Alberto V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CassandraGen, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Dear Alberto,

There is nothing more important for us, than to meet our guest’s expectations. Our Management and Team is very respectful in regards with our guests’ reviews and sincerely regret that you left our property not totally happy. Thank you very much for your comments, which will be addressed accordingly.

Thank you very much for your feedback and for vacationing with us.

Yours respectfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

The hotel is very beautiful (Bahia Principe has a very unique style for their hotels worldwide). The staff was great and helpful. The food was good. The Japanese restaurant had tasty food. They were also very accommodating to me as I have a Shell fish allergy.

The room service was basic in the sense that the food was the usual (burgers, tuna sandwich, fries, etc) but it was included in the service.

The beach could be a lot better in that it has rocks and plants. We both got cut by rocks and still have the scars.
Finding a chair by the beach is not too difficult. Our favorite place was by the little gazebo. Be prepared to see weddings.

The hotel is peaceful and low key.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CassandraGen, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Dear Elaine,

Thank you for making it the Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica your vacation destination of choice. Thank for you for the good comments and for letting us know that you had a wonderful time.

We were happy to be of service to you and we are looking forward to serving you again on your next visit. Thanking you again.

Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews