We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place. Would definitely recommend!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of FAIRY HILL PALMS

Front Balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Front Balcony
Private Bathroom
Full Kitchen
Back Porch
Driveway
Outdoor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Port Antonio, Portland Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Michael J
1 review
“Lovely place. Would definitely recommend!”
Reviewed 22 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The apartment was clean and the owner was very helpful. Goof value with nice sized rooms. Fans in all rooms, comfy beds and 10 minute walk to the beach. I would definitely stay there again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2017
Thanks again Michael J, it was a pleasure hosting you and your family (group). We appreciates your patronage, you were great, we hope to see you again. Thanks for booking Fairy Hill Palms.

Regards,
Linton and Alecia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alina W
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Like home”
Reviewed 5 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

My friends and I spend just a night in that guest house. What I can say, the house is nice, clean and spacious. The kitchen is spacious and fully equipped, as well as living room, plus the balcony, great spot for evening chilling out. The owners, Mt. Linton and his wife, are very nice and helpful people. Great spot for vacation.
Mr. Linton came to the main road to great us and show us the way to his house. As we arrived late, we were very grateful, that he has a little shop in his garage and we could buy some grocery for our supper and breakfast.
As we got a medical issue Mr. Linton directed us to the hospital, giving us map and offering late departure with no extra costs.
We really appreciate his attention and care.
I highly recommend this place as safe, clean, warmed with the hearts of the owners!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being treated with Jamaican warmth and respect
Liked least: a little difficulty to find the place
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2016
Thanks Ali, it was a pleasure hosting you and your friends. I hope your friend is much better. Should you come Jamaica again and in the area, please feel free to stop by.

Regards,
Linton and Alecia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris-Kei...
Bielefeld, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The two bedroom apartment was very large and nice. It was very well equipped and clean. The husband and wife hosts were of a high standard. Nothing was a problem for them. Not close to shopping area. We would stay again The local council should do a better job of building better roads in the area. Nice location near a fine beach but bad roads.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and size of apartment.
Liked least: No hot water.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn-Mari...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable - felt like home!”
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week at Fairy Hill Palm! Linton and Alecia were warm, friendly and attentive. The guest house was immaculate, comfortable and well-appointed. We would definitely stay here again and have already recommended this place to our friends and family.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2015
It was a pleasure to have you staying here at Fairy Hill Palms. You were 10+/10, you were great and always welcome.
Once again, thank you very much.

Alecia & Linton.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizbarTor...
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This was a nightmare of incompetance and inconvenience”
Reviewed 4 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
5
people found this review helpful

The guest house was much farther from Port Antonio than we were led to believe. On arrival, we found that we did not have the three bedroom house we rented, but only two bedrooms, and an offer from our bumbling, incompetent host that he'd put one of our friends in a room in his home next door. After a 45 minute argument, the guest in the third bedroom in the rental house quit the premises in a huff, and we had the three bedrooms originally rented. Our host Linton then guided the four of us to a beach at the bottom of a hill, but suggested we take a short cut that was steep, muddy and an obstacle course of tree roots and jagged rocks. We descended, but soaked to the bone in sweat. Linton's 'advice' on the subject of a descent local restaurant for dinner took us on a wild goose chase to two of the worst eateries in Jamaica. His third suggestion, the hotel at the famous Blue Lagoon, we discovered on the next morning had been closed more than ten years earlier. We were pretty groggy in the morning because it was nearly impossible to sleep thanks to the constant racket coming from several roosters, a bunch of barking dogs, a forest of crickets, and a deranged preacher man who chanted at length. The house has no hot water and no air conditioning. Our host insisted 'there is no need for these things', and that it had never been an issue with guests. Although we planned to stay for two nights, the thought of a second night was intolerable, so we sacrificed half of the money already spent and got the hell out of Dodge, I mean Portland.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing