We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
242
7
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
7
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool supper club private beach outdoor bath private cinema screening room romantic setting caribbean sea breathtaking views authentic experience modern amenities rio grande overlooking the sea best kept secret very special place jamaican food frenchman's cove
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2017

I have traveled the entire Caribbean and stayed at many five star hotels, including Caneel Bay in the US Virgin Islands, and nothing compares to the Trident Hotel. Sorry Goldeneye... The staff is professional to a fault and caters to your every need. The hotel manager, Lij, is the best in the business. The Villa is luxurious but not ostentatious. I absolutely adored my private plunge pool overlooking the Caribbean Sea. The sense of privacy throughout the hotel was refreshing since I don't particularly like crowds. Just an overall amazing experience..I will be back to this Shangri-La.

Room Tip: Must have a villa with a plunge pool
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donpaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TridentMgmt, Manager at The Trident Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Hello donpaddy,

Thanks for taking time to share your review on your first Trident experience. More importantly, thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you! We are fully aware that you had many options available to you, and so we are elated that you had a fantastic stay with us. For sure we will ensure that your feedback is shared with the entire team. Thank you for your support and see you soon :)

Sincerely,
The Trident Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

The Trident Hotel is and will remain one of our favourite hotels in the world. The comfort and privacy are second to none. Over the years we have developed a family type relationship with the staff. Unfortunately, changes in personnel have been a regular occurrence, staff have not necessarily left of their own accord. Luckily, most of them are quite young and we hope they will go on to develop their skills elsewhere.

Regarding the bar and restaurant, the food this year had improved even further, very good indeed. The hotel-own beach is kept pristine and for anyone in need of relaxation it's the perfect place to be. The wonderful staff work tirelessly round the clock to ensure the hotel is maintained to the highest standards. The gardens are delightful. The tropical climate, however, is also harsh and occasionally has an adverse effect on some of the functions around the hotel villas, but anything brought to the attention of the staff is addressed promptly and efficiently.
We cannot recommend this hotel warmly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChristianeH215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TridentMgmt, Manager at The Trident Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Hello ChristianeH215,
As always, it was our absolute pleasure hosting you once again! Truly, you have cemented your place in our family and we couldn't be happier having you. The family that we work tirelessly to maintain incorporates everyone, staff and guests, and we are happy that you feel a part of that. It is quite pleasing to learn that you particularly enjoyed the food this year, we will certainly share this with the Chef and his team. We are very appreciative of your open and honest review. The only way to improve is to know what to imrpove on, for that we thank you. We look forward to your next visit :)
P.S. The Trident Hotel Football Team says "likkle more!"

Sincerely,
The Trident Hotel Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

Our first visit to Portland and it didn't disappoint. The Trident staff was so friendly and accommodating. This intimate venue allows you to relax while being close to some of the best waterfalls and river rafting on the island. We even met the owner Michael Lee-Chin and his family while on property. A must stay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank WMessam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TridentMgmt, Manager at The Trident Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Hello WMessam,
Thank you for the opportunity to serve you on your 1st 'Porty' visit. We are very happy to hear that your time in Port Antonio was special and we are pleased to have been able to contribute to that experience. We hope to host you again in the near future :)

Sincerely,
The Trident Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

We stayed for a lovely weekend to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday. The facilities were great but what made our stay lovely wathe excellent customer service. Friendly and attentive it was also discreet - not an easy balance to master. We loved the gym, which really is fabulous, although none of the exercise bikes worked and none of the staff could get them to work either. We also enjoyed an indulgent afternoon in the private cinema. I think had we brought our children they would have been made welcome, but might have been bored. As it was, we had perfect peace and quiet - made all the more so because the wifi didn't work properly which worked in our favour as it meant we could not be dragged into the real world - that and the fact that the bed was super comfy! Food was good, cocktails were lovely and we enjoyed a few games of pool in the lounge. The whole place is a work of art, a really lovely environment to be in.

Room Tip: We were offered an upgrade which was lovely, to a Junior Villa.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DhakaJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TridentMgmt, Manager at The Trident Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Hello DhakaJen,
We are extremely happy that your husband's 50th birthday was special. This is a very significant celebration and we are honored to have been chosen as your preferred destination. We pride ourselves on operating as a family, and that relates to everyone, staff and guests. It is therefore gratifying to hear that you experienced this. We did a thorough check on the exercise bikes and they are all functional. I am not quite sure what happened there, I must apologize for that however. Apologies also for the inconsistent WiFi, we have been experiencing some challenges with our service provider. The internet is a lot more stable now and we continue to closely monitor it. Port Antonio is generally a very laid back place. However it uniquely offers something for everyone, no matter your age. I guarantee you if you should take your family, everyone would enjoy the rustic charm that 'Porty' offers :) We hope to serve you again in the near furture.
Thank you for your kind and open review and see you soon.

Sincerely,
The Trident Hotel Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

My husband and I stayed 3 nights here to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. One of the best luxury hotels I have visited. The property is extremely beautiful and private. The staff was very professional. We were upgraded to a room with a private pool at no charge. The staff arranged for us to have a private dinner and movie in the theatre room and also gave us turndown with a complimentary bottle of wine upon returning to our room. It rained off and on most of the weekend but did not damper our stay. We enjoyed the time on the private covered patio. We were still able to enjoy some of the nearby sights (the famous Frenchman's Cove was compliments of the hotel), as well as the private pool whenever the sun did show itself. We enjoyed breakfast every morning under the veranda looking out at the ocean. Love that the property is small and private, no crowds or long waiting. Everyone was very nice and the property was well kept as the workers were always cleaning. Definitely plan to stay again in the future!

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the ocean so you can't go wrong with any
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tonya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TridentMgmt, Manager at The Trident Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Hello Tonya C,
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you on such a special occasion. We're happy that we could help in making your 1st anniversary as memorable as it was. It's fantastic to learn that you enjoyed our offering so much. The Team will be eagerly anticipating hosting you again in the not too distant future :)

Sincerely,
The Trident Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews