We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
175
103
25
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
103
25
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view villa housekeeper cook frenchman's cove blue lagoon great lawn rum punch party shopping list johnny cakes reach falls bird sanctuary a wonderful stay swimming pool is callaloo hour drive hidden paradise bedroom villa authentic jamaican
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2018

My family enjoyed a wonderful stay at this beautiful resort out of Port Antonio,Jamaica. Our room was extremely nice with all the necessary amenities and a gorgeous view of the Caribbean! The staff , especially Derron , was very helpful and accommodating. Our cook , Wendy, was outstanding and prepared a delicious Jaimacan breakfast and dinner for us. The large pool was very nice, and great tennis courts also. Goblin Hill is close to other attractions, such as Frenchman’s Cove and Reach Falls. I would definitely recommend Goblin Hill, so beautifully serene and quiet with a very helpful staff.

Rebecca Pucheu
Mann

Stayed: July 2018
Thank rfpucheu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Better late than never, Just the quote I said to myself when I landed on the perfect Island of Jamaica. It took a 4 hour drive from Montego airport, We had communication with Goblin hills prior to coming, in regards to them helping us out with transfers but in the end we opted to sort our own.

When we reached the Villas after a very long travelling journey we was greeted with the cheerful, polite and helpful member of staff Darren, throughout our x5 night stay he was very attentive in checking in on us to see if our stay was ok and if we needed help with any activities that we wanted to do and arranged a driver for us if needed.

Through this helpfulness we met our driver Pete, such a lovely jolly fellow that was just as excited as us to go on half of the excursions. we paid about £70.00 uk pounds each to get to reach falls there and back which was about a 45 min drive. Pot Antonio is a lovely area and having being driven around for days I feel going back I would feel safe and confident to hire a car and travel myself as a x5 car hire came in around £200.000 English pounds.

My friend and I were celebrating our 30th Birthday and purposely chose to come to Port Antonio to have great views and activities with a laid back Jamaica, cool running's, no problem everything Irie vibes full of adventure, and yes that was exactly what was served.

The hotel staff were very friendly and many we said hello to daily on a first name basis which added to a personal touch of "feeling at home" Roshann, the bartender made great cocktails and homemade punch, Orville and Micheal were the night security who helped us with our bangs the first night of our stay and attended to any maintenance emergencies.

All staff we met were absolutely beautiful people who I engaged in frequent conversations with, that will always stay with in a special way. There great spirit, liveliness and love of there country just made me feel so peaceful and glad that I had chosen this villa to stay at.

The grounds were maintained very well and the hills overlooking San San beach from your balcony or smartly laid out deck chairs at certain areas over were great to sit reflect and bask in the beauty of Port Antonio. Its a perfect location to get to many amazing features of Jamaica including Frechman cove, Winifred beach, blue lagoon, trident castle, Geejam and trident hotel and many more.

Our Housekeeper Andrea was just that auntie you needed to make you feel warm and cared for. Our first day she went into town with us and brought items to prepare for our breakfast and dinner. She cooked an array of great tasty food and fresh fruit which tasted amazing. Many of our breakfasts were kept on our balcony that was immaculately spread with flowers as a sweet personal touch. Breakfast times were the best, overlooking the crystal clear water, clear sky and beautiful greenery around us, contemplating our days adventure in San San.

Andrea looked after our room well and was very attentive and her presentation of food is honestly great.

There were some cons, but it didn't outweigh the amazing experience this hotel impacted on my 30th Birthday celebration.

There wasn't a phone in the rooms or any way to contact reception, we was lucky to had exchanged WhatsApp for quicker communication or to ask our housekeeper to pass messages onto reception. I do think means of communication to reception needs to be explored for greater continuity of communication.

Darren really is the star of bringing me this great Goblin hills experience I will never forget his great charisma and spark!! Happy birthday, Birthday Twin! lol.

Overall I would most certainly recommend this villa, we would certainly stay here again, wifi, great beds, staff, location, views, homely feel of the picturesque Jamaica. Amazing

Room Tip: every villa seemed to have a perfect view
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank trina_4_u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoblinHill, Owner at Goblin Hill Villas at San San, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Dear trina_4_u,

Thank you on behalf of Derron, Andrea, Roshan and the rest of our staff for your kind and very much appreciated remarks about them and your stay at Goblin Hill; not to mention Petey, who is our most recommended driver because he knows everywhere and everyone, and has a great personality and charm, as you found.

Yes, Port Antonio is small enough and accessible enough for you to get around on your own in a rental car, if you come again - most of the main attractions, beauty spots and beaches are along the main road, or near to it...an exception to this is rafting on the Rio Grande, which requires a driver to take you to the start of the rafting trip, and then meet you at the destinationat Rafters’ Rest, to take you back to the hotel.

Andrea is indeed a talented cook, as are so many of our housekeepers, who are all trained by an outstanding cook/housekeeper, Miss Myrtle! We are glad you enjoyed peaceful breakfasts on your balcony overlooking the view.

I am happy to let you know that we are in the process of setting up telephone connections in the villas!

Derron is certainly a very special person! He and all the others whom you have mentioned will have a copy of your review placed on their file and on our staff bulletin board.

We look forward to welcoming you again!

The entire team at Goblin Hill villas at SanSan..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

We visited out of season and, though we did not, we felt as if we had the place to ourselves. The noises of the night creatures were wonderful, and the views from the grounds are exceptional. Comfy beds, good showers, good aircon, good WiFi, good pool.

The grounds are lovely to wander around, and safe for kids

We enjoyed our housekeeper's attention to detail, too, though we think the cooking was toned down a little on the spice side in case our palates were not up to Jamaican levels of spice.

Suggestion for the management is to provide passes for Frenchman's Cove beach for all guests for the duration of their stay. It is idyllic and the villas are very close to it, though you do need your car for the short trip to it. San San beach itself we looked at but considered to be far less inviting. Adding this pass will add a marketing plus for Goblin Hill.

Very close to the Blue Lagoon, too. It's at the end of the driveway.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gtbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoblinHill, Owner at Goblin Hill Villas at San San, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear gbtg,

Thank you for your appreciated review. We do think we are right for the independent traveler, of which you are certainly one!

I am glad you enjoyed the spaciousness of the property which does make it feel uncrowded even when we are full. And then of course, there are so many beauty spots in the close, surrounding area, within a 5 mile radius or less, that sometimes our car park is empty even when we are full, because everyone is out at Reach Falls, rafting on the Rio Grande, or at Idyllic Frenchman’s Cove, or the Blue Lagoon or at Boston Beach and Jerk Centre, or ‘Winnifred Beach....and so on and on!

Our housekeepers can bring on the spice if you give them the word ! They are a little afraid to overdo the Scotch Bonnet pepper for unaccustomed palates, but will happily revert to our true spicy tastes, including Scotch bonnet, pimento, bird pepper, jerk seasoning, hot curries, and more, if given permission..

We used to have a special arrangement with Frenchman’s Cove, but alas, no more. We are working on a possible alternative- we’ll make sure you and everyone hears about it, if all goes well. In the meantime, Petey, our local driver (favorite of all) will take you to Frenchman’s and pick you up later, for a reasonable charge to save the walk..

Hope to see you again!
Best wishes from the whole team at Goblin Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

Goblin Hill was busy but the hotel is so spacious that we did not really notice the other guests at all. The lawn that stretches down to the coast road is immaculate, and the place is surrounded by deeply planted woods, so bird life is abundant. The bar and pool area are well maintained as are the rooms, which are spacious and very clean. Staff were super friendly and helpful but not at all patronising which is sometimes a thing I find in hotels here. We felt able to just be independent and do out own thing, although it was great to have Michelle come in and cook our breakfast for us in the morning! We'll definitely go back and stay at Goblin Hill again - it's a relatively short drive from Kingston and such a lovely area.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DhakaJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoblinHill, Owner at Goblin Hill Villas at San San, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear DhakaJen,

Thanks so much for posting a review of Goblin Hill. I am so pleased that you appreciated the ‘specialness’ of our spacious grounds which always make us feel uncrowded, and the abundant bird life - did you know that there are 22 species of birds to be seen on our property alone? Goblin Hill’s eleven acres are located in the 700 acre San San estate, which is a bird and tree sanctuary, so this helps us to maintain the abundance of nature on and around our property.

I’m glad too you had a good feeling about our staff - they are indeed friendly and genuine. Our cook/housekeepers are here to prepare and serve breakfast in your villa and also other meals as well, if you wish. Goblin Hill suits independent travellers like yourself, and there is so much to see and do very near at hand. Within a 5 to 10 miles radius there are waterfalls, river rafting, surfing at Boston Beach, the Blue Lagoon, and many beautiful Cove beaches such as Frenchman’s Cove, and Winnifred’s Beach.

We hope to see you soon again,

The Goblin Hill team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Suite 27 with panoramic view was absolutely the best on the property. With the help of Derron at the front desk, Roshan at the bar the dear Miss Joan cooking up a storm for us it was an incredible experience. The driver recommended by the hotel, Petey, is without doubt the most caring, careful and fun person to be with. He took us everywhere with a sense of joy and our security as a priority. He knows EVERYONE!!
Our only criticisms: the bar could have been better stocked. No dark rum during our 4 night stay. No fresh coconut water at the bar even though the grounds are filled with trees. A gardener got some for us and we brought it to the bar. No fresh squeezed juices to serve drinks. CANNED juices. No fresh limes or lemons.
All else perfect.

Room Tip: Panorama suite #27. Unobstructed second floor view of San San Bay.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JOEL77ST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoblinHill, Owner at Goblin Hill Villas at San San, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear JOEL77ST,

Thank you for your review. I’m so glad you enjoyed your experience with Joan, Derron, Roshan and Petey - definitely some of the nicest people anywhere! I’m sorry the bar let us down - certainly we have lots of coconut trees on the property available to our guests.
The only problem with providing coconut water in the bar, is that coconut water should be drunk as fresh as possible - straight from the coconut if possible. So we don’t cut them and store the water unless we know they’re going to be needed.
We have had guests who order a dozen coconuts to be delivered to their villa and cut open by Roy or Kevin, the gardeners. Sometimes we have to order them from off property, too. But then you have a huge jug of coconut water in your fridge to have with meals as well as with your rum!
Certainly ‘red’rum (as opposed to the powerful white rum) should have been available - next time!
We hope you’ll be back, and signal to us ahead of time to be fully stocked with coconuts and juices...we’ll be ready!
Do come again.
The Team at Goblin Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews