We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveller rating
307
8
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
8
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews san san beach reach falls mary james blue lagoon lobster qi gong vinyl night lemon pie perfect hosts grounds crew cook housekeeper idyllic setting jolly boys fantastic resort jamaican meals beyond compare for couples or families
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 319 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

Well, all I can say is what an absolutely beautiful place to stay. The hosts Mary and James were fantastic, nothing too much trouble.

Have to mention our lovely housekeeper/cook Verona, she was brilliant and made sure we had all we wanted, she cooked the most amazing food exactly how we wanted.thank you.

We visited Frenchmans cove, which is only a five minute walk away from Wilkes bay. I would strongly recommend you pay it a visit......its beautiful. The locals of Port Antonio were all very welcoming and friendly, a nice place to go for veggie burgers is woody's, you have to try them as they are nothing like you've tried before, best veggie burger I've eaten!

If you are looking for a totally relaxing place to unwind, then a visit to Wilkes bay is a must! Thank you so much Mary and James for making our stay with you unforgettable.

Mandy and Patrick

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018

I had a wonderful time in Wilks Bay. The owners Mary and James made the experience absolutely heavenly. Just waking up to doing Qi gong with James to the delicious breakfast Lunch and Dinner always served with a smile and the extra festivities were superb always done with elegance by Mary and our Chefs.

I am definitely looking forward to going again and again. I was definitely impressed!!

Room Tip: All Villas were quiet with an awesome view of the sea!!
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddawkins09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

We had the most amazing holiday at Wilks Bay. Mary and James were so welcoming and helpful - they really helped to make our time special.

The apartment was lovely and just right for our family. Our boys were able to dash out of the house and straight into the pool. Perfect. The beach was idyllic too.

Our housekeeper/cooks - Anne-Marie and Verona - were absolutely excellent. The food was delicious; the service exemplary. We were waited on hand and foot.

We used the resort kayaks for a lovely but tiring trip to Blue Lagoon. James took us on a great tour of Port Antonio. We enjoyed visiting Reach Falls and lots of the local beaches.

It really was a perfect break. We are already trying to work out when we can return.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank PivotalEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

The owners and staff at Wilks Bay have created something special here. We were six adults staying in the three bedroom villa and we all had a great holiday. The setting is gorgeous on its own coral bay yet only a three minute walk to the safe sand on San San Beach and a five minute walk the other way to Frenchman's Cove which is probably one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. Walking to either is safe and easy (and would have been happy to do it even with children). As other reviewers have said there is also loads of great things to do and see in this unspoilt, untouristy, beautiful corner of Jamaica. (Reach Falls is a must, Drapers Vinyl Night, Geejam, Port Antonio. Boston jerk food etc.). James and Mary will organise safe drivers/ guides (Hi Warren) at very reasonable cost for trips out though James kindly drove us to local places like Geejam himself. Always lovely to 'come home' to the comfort, space and amazing hospitality of Wilks Bay. The food was the best and our villa beautifully kept by Angela and Sophie. We didn't see everything in a week as there is so much right on the doorstep that we wanted to enjoy which means another trip is definitely in the offing! The grounds at Wilks Bay are beautiful with lots of sun or shade if needed at any time of the day. We've seen some great places in Jamaica. This little corner near Port Antonio is the best and Wilks Bay so comfortable, we will be back.

Room Tip: All lovely so just depends on the party size. Three room villa very spacious for 6 adults.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aprilvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

Mary, James, Daina - thank you so much for a fantastic holiday.

Wilks Bay is a truly magical place; we will be back with the family next year.

Daina was our housekeeper - she is a wonderful cook and a real delight.

For people who have not been, Wilks is superbly located in a beautiful, quiet and very friendly area.

The resort is very small and ideal for couples or families looking to relax.

Nearby, there are superb beaches and attractions, plus the town of Port Antonio.

John and Jacqui

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Johnffpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews