We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
3
6
3
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
6
3
5
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We spent one night at this place 4 children and 4 adults and paid $17,000JMD for two rooms. Firstly the room and sheets were covered in dust which were changed on request. The bed was old and so were the pillows extremely uncomfortable. The worst situation was when the lights were turned out the children felt something crawling on them ....to out surprise when we put the lights back on the place was teaming with cockroaches. We had to ask staff for spray to kill them but the children were do distraught and wanted to sleep in the car. In the end we all ended up sleeping in one room.....never again.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank christopher m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Actually traveled June 2006(no option) After staying at a couple B&B'sThought this would be something a little different for a night or two.Arrived early evening after a long day to find the lodge on a hill of a quiet side street. It looked interesting.We checked in and went up to our room.It wasn't quite what I had imagined. It was old yes but bed, sheets, all old and felt like no one had stayed there in years. Every surface felt sticky.We did ask for and were able to get 2 floor fans, it was hot on 2nd floor & no breeze. As we were discussing dinner the power went out.We thought we would give it till after dinner & then hopefully would be back on.It didn't & were told it was a big outage.Being hot,tired, no power, were getting the creeps & managed to catch the desk person before they left for the night. They seemed surprised we didn't want to stay the night. Couldn't reverse our charge because no power but assured us they would as soon as power was back on. So we drove back to Ochio Rios in the dark, in the rain.

Room Tip: Look at it before you decide to stay. By reading some of the reviews I wonder if maybe improvements have been made?
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank terwoj54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016

+ staff is friendly and helpful
+ rooms are big and clean

- You can really hear EVERYTHING throw the walls (Local couple next door stayed up the hole night, so I couldn't sleep at all: 8 hours of talking, tv was screaming and they were having sex). The hole house was empty except us and that couple next door. The staff could have put us to different part of the house...but they didn't.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank travellersience2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

Stayd for 5 nights! We backpack traveled all around jamaica and port antoino was our last stop! We think its the nicest place of jamaica!
There is a lot to do like reachfalls ( tip! ), boston beach, winnifred beach, long beach, frenchmans cove, blue lagoon, partys, romantic harbour ect.

The house is soo nice! It's like a dream! If i could i would stay here forever! Nice big rooms, clean, good cold showers.. Nice staff that will help you with everything.. I would recomand it to everyone! It's Perfect!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank marielouise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and the experience was very average. The rooms are drab for the price though the beds comfortable. The cheaper rooms (around $30-$40) don't have private bathrooms and the shared bathrooms have only cold water. There are even cheaper rooms out the back that are quite off-putting, more like mini-dungeons.

The building was constructed i the 1880's and has a strong Victorian character, though it's quite dilapidated in parts and nothing like the well-kept Victorian buildings in Australia (and I'm sure other places too) that have a certain charm.

I would not recommend staying in Port Antonio at all as there are ongoing roadworks as well as plumbing / electrical upgrades going on throughout the town which will apparently last another 2 years (there's definitely corruption involved because it's a tiny town). This will continue to result in frequent power outages and water shortages for quite some time. It wasn't possible to take a shower in the building for over 24 hours at one point which isn't ideal. Besides these hassles, Port Antonio is an ugly town full of vagrants so if you want to visit this region then give Port Antonio a wide berth and head to one of the guesthouses along the coast between Port Antonio and Boston Bay.

If you do choose to stay in Port Antonio then I would recommend one of the small guesthouses 2 streets back from this place. They charge about $45 a night and are more modern and provide kitchen access (which is great as eating options in Port Antonio are a disgrace). Ultra-low budget travellers could head to Scotia Guesthouse one street back from this place where a single is $15. Avoid guesthouses closer to the centre than this place if staying on the weekend as you'll get a lot of noise from the bars.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews