We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
432 results
Traveller rating
326
58
17
14
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
58
17
14
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mille fleurs chocolate tea eco hotel bird watching daily changing menu frenchman's cove homemade jams gourmet food relaxing experience rio grande local ingredients eco friendly fresh flowers breakfast and dinner gardens are beautiful shrimp local guide
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 432 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2016

First I must apologize for being so tardy with my review. We stayed here in December and my husband and I had such a wonderful time. The beauty around is nothing short of picturesque, walk the gardens and you will see the art of a kept but natural area full of hummingbirds, a cat, frogs in the little pond and so on. We walked the grounds everyday of our stay and were never disappointed. Shireen and staff are friendly and accommodating.
I have a special diet I am Gluten free and there was fresh baked bread for me at breakfast and dinner such a treat! The breakfast is superb and large, dinner was top notch and delicious.
The hotel arranged a birdwatching hike and a coffee plantation tour each tour was more than we expected, Roger our birding guide was friendly and knowledgable and we checked off many birds on our list!
We loved our stay and will be back again.

Stayed: December 2015
Thank ChloeWatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbhpot, Manager at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2016

Your lovely trip report has come just in time for Easter and is a lovely Easter present for us! Thank you. No worries about getting down to this only now. We understand that often times when one returns home, one is engulfed with work that has piled up during one's absence... so all the more, we appreciate the fact that you have remembered to post your trip review and have taken the opportunity to do so now.
Take a look at another Gluten-free recipe we recently posted for a Caribbean Lasagne but using strips of Plantain instead of Pasta.
We are delighted to hear that you plan to return and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Wishing you a very pleasant Easter Weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2016

This was our first trip to Jamaica and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay for our family of five! We have three children between the ages of 4 and 6 and we all felt right at home because of the wonderful staff and the clean and comfortable rooms. The food was delicious and the staff went out of their way to make sure our kids were also happy with the food. We are Muslim and mentioned to Shireen a few weeks before arriving that we eat only halal meat (similar to Kosher). They were able to source halal meat for us, which was beyond impressive.
Shireen helped us plan out our days, calling guides in advance, and drawing out maps to make sure we knew where we were going. The local contacts they know are great, especially the guide they recommended for our Reach Falls hike.
Although Port Antonio is a 3 hour drive from Montego Bay, the drive is beautiful, and it is well worth it. Port Antonio is quiet and untouched, with beautiful beaches and mountains. All are a short drive from the hotel.
If you want a relaxing vacation, away from the big all-inclusives, with a chance to experience real Jamaica, I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank aqamari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2016

very friendly staff in a beatyfull hotel. It is situated at a quiet location, small and very ecofriendly hotel, spacious room, breakfast and dinner greatly enjoyed, beatifull beaches and other trips to do.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank edwin v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2016

We are just coming back from an amazing 4 days stay at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill in eastern Jamaica.

The hotel has wonderful views on both the ocean and the mountains. It's quiet and peaceful, yet surrounded with many things to do and explore.

Our room was large, luminous, super clean, lovely decoration with fresh flowers, and organic bath products.

Service was great. Everything, starting from the welcome drink and gifts awaiting in the bedroom, is done so that you feel at home in a very friendly and cosy atmosphere.
Barbara's organic slow food is super tasty and fresh. Bread, yogurt, jams, tomato sauces are home made. We loved our early morning cup of coffee and stroll in the tropical peaceful garden... with all sorts of birds!

There was a booklet in our room with very useful information on things to do.
Each day we left to explore the surroundings thanks to Shireen's tips and phone calls to arrange everything. We liked the way the hotel's owners promote a tourism which supports local businesses and communities. We went to Frenchman cove bay, a little paradise beach where the river melts into the sea. On day two, we swam and jumped in the river going up to Reach falls. Coming back to the hotel to get a herbal bath and a massage under the huge trees late afternoon is just... heaven. On our last day we went down the Rio Grande on a bamboo raft conducted by captain Howard. Belinda was there that day cooking on the riverside and we enjoyed her great jerk chicken!

It was our fist time in Jamaica. We know exactly where we'll come back .... far away from all-inclusive resorts and the madding crowd.

Room Tip: A superior room for the best view
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Franckkkk1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016

We stayed at HMBH recently for a week, and had a lovely time. We had never been to Jamaica, and are not really the “big resort on the beach” kinds of folks. We much prefer small, less hectic, more mountain/jungle than beach, but with a certain level of amenities and excursions. We’ve stayed at eco-lodges in various locations in Central America and the Caribbean and were looking for something similar. HMBH advertises as “eco-chic boutique” and delivers on that promise. It is a small boutique hotel, with a gorgeous garden/grounds area (7+ acres, lovely setting for a morning stroll, lots of birds if that’s an interest), extremely friendly and helpful staff, great accommodations and delicious food. The hotel sits atop a hill offering great views from our balcony of the gardens and sea. They set up several excursions for us – birding (one of us is an avid birder) and non-birding – which went off without a hitch. In addition to the day trips, we also took advantage of the hotel’s free transportation to Frenchman’s Cove – a lovely small, local beach 5 minutes from the hotel by car. Port Antonia is also close, and we enjoyed a short afternoon walking the marketplace there after our river raft trip. Shireen (one of the owners) was wonderful and very attentive to us during our stay, greeting us every day at either breakfast or dinner, and offering suggestions for trips we might enjoy. The food was delicious and as good as any 5 star. I would highly recommend the HMBH and look forward a future stay.

Stayed: February 2016
Thank BirdsoftheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbhpot, Manager at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2016

Thank you for your positive feedback. Nice to know that both of you ( birder and non-birder) enjoyed yourselves and were able to find a good balance that suited both of you.
It was a pleasure having you and we hope the time here will help you to bridge the cold spell till spring comes along. Our best wishes for the Easter Holiday and a wonderful weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews