We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best vacation ever”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Negril, Westmoreland Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Harly P
1 review
“Best vacation ever”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

By far the best vacation I have ever taken. The pictures do not properly show how beautiful the house is. The food at catch a falling star is amazing and the hospitality that Sandra and Tom showed myself and my sister was amazing. I will only stay at sundown when in negril!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnAir7101...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true local Negril experience”
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Sundown Villa far exceeded our expectations and the photos truly do not do it justice. Our airport pickup was prompt and took us directly to the heart of the Westmoreland neighborhood on the cliffs in Negril about 90 minutes from the airport. Sundown is an incredible property, gated and secure so we felt very safe and the neighborhood was safe as well.

The house itself is stunning inside and out, the bright colors and comfortable furniture make it an authentic ocean retreat. If you are looking for a true local, non resort experience this is absolutely the place to stay. We loved the open air doors and windows and it had everything you could possibly need from the kitchen to beautiful patios with seating and lots of spots to lounge and socialize.

Tom and Sandra who live on the property full time were hands down the highlight of our stay. They greeted us with open arms and were there 24/7 to help us with any questions we had. Both of them also drove us around Negril on separate occasions giving us their unique take on Negril's history and showing us some of the best local spots. They were extremely kind and helpful with any request we had and they were a joy to meet and get to know. The property outside of the house is breathtaking, Tom and Sandra grow many different varieties of plants including Aloe, Cacti and gorgeous flowers and there are three lovely dog friends on the property named Beyonce, Purple Rain and Marley.

Just 50 yards away from the main house there is a private cliff, picnic table, fire pit and lounge chairs just for guests of Sundown. It was incredible having this area all to ourselves and being able to hop in to the crystal clear blue ocean below. Right next door through a small gate is Catchafalling Star Resort and the famous Ivan's Bar and Restaurant. All of the staff at the resort were so kind to us and we ended up eating a large number of our meals with them. They also allowed us to share their pool and cliff area as well as snorkeling equipment. Sundown is just across the street from a little market that sells snacks, drinks, water and any other day to day items you might need and a larger grocery store is located just 5 minutes away by car. Another fabulous plus was that the taxi's parked in an opening right outside Sundown and were always easy to hail. Sandra was also always happy to help coordinate a cab for us if needed. We also found a ton of local restaurants and bars that were within walking distance, this truly could not be a more perfect location for getting a true local feel and enjoying all of the best Negril has to offer.

We absolutely loved Sundown and cannot wait to go back and see our friends Tom and Sandra again as soon as possible!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One love”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Sun Down for a week in June for my 40th birthday. Amazing is all I can say. The house is fantastic, lots of room, high power ceiling fans that cool it down during the night, unbelievable views, well stocked kitchen for cooking light meals and hosts that treated us like family from the moment we arrived. Tom and Sandi are wonderful and helped us truly embrace the Jamaican mantra of 'no worries'. The house allows you access to Catcha Falling Star which you can get to via a small gate on the side of the house. We used their pool (and bar) quite frequently. Both Sun Down and Catcha have cliff jumping opportunities as well.
Across the street is a small market that has quite a bit to offer. Beer/liquor/eggs/milk/snacks etc. They charged us $40 one day for a case of Red Stripe Light (we sent the boys on the beer run & they didn't think to question the price, but definitely complained about it). The next day we went back for another case of beer, a bottle of rum and some snacks and they charged the boys $52. Due to a slight mix up with our airport pick up we didn't have enough room in the car to stock up on beer/food for the week (our driver stopped at what was a Costco equivalent) and had we had room in the car, we would have bought more supplies. So prepare in advance and ask to stop at the store outside of Montego Bay for supplies before you head to Negril.
There are plenty of places to eat around Sun Down. Ivan's (the restaurant in Catcha Falling Star) was by far the best meal we had during our stay. There are also places within walking distance (one morning we walked about a mile to Just Natural for breakfast. We were sweaty, but it was worth it). There are cabs available and we ended up using Juba (the taxi driver from Catcha)- got his phone number and when we called, he was there within 5 min.
By Wednesday of our trip we were already planning another trip back next year. Considering my only complaint about Sun Down was that the coffee pot took quite a while to brew...then I really had 'no worries'.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidhous...
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Private paradise made for one of the best trips to Negril since 1980”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in December 2014

I've been travelling to Negril since 1980 when I originally stayed just across the road from Sundown Villa. This trip was fantastic with a fully equipped fantastic house right beside Catcha Falling Star. John and his wife stay on the property and balanced perfectly the personal service of our needs with privacy.
The upper bedroom is huge and tastefully appointed including large bathroom and wonderful deck. The 2nd bedroom is very nice and comfortable. The house was very clean and fully equipped with everything we needed to cook and entertain.
We will be staying again this Jan and can't wait

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Like a home away from home
Liked least: A few confused guests from Catcha wandered in to use the jumping cliff.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing