We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Negril Escape Resort & Spa(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$269
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Home Sweet Home Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$167
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Fairmont Inn(Negril)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Fay Guest House(Negril)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
US$917
US$501
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cliff Hotel(Negril)
US$1,398
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveller rating
296
93
24
5
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
93
24
5
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfiltered waterbanana pancakespattiesocean viewopen showerboutique hoteljunior suitepatty manjerk chickentree frogsnice sizesmall hotelfull kitchenrum punchwelcome homerooms are beautifuleither direction
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 427 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

I came to Idle Awhile in November 2015 with a friend and knew I had to bring my husband back. So here we are again.

We are in an upper regular room and it is great. The huge balcony is essentially a living room so I can hang out here and read if my husband wants to sleep.

The staff at Idle Awhile are awesome. King, Kim, Nick and Nathefa all greeted me when I came back. I felt like I was seeing family again.

Dining and entertainment options are plentiful. Chill Awhile at the hotel is great for any meal. We often have just walked along the beach to somewhere that looks interesting (perhaps after reading some reviews on TripAdvisor) and all the options have been great.

If you are tired of queuing up in huge buffets and eating mediocre Japanese food in a themed restaurant then Idle Awhile is for you!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank JothetravelerfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry Ann S, Manager at Idle Awhile The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and for bringing your husband to experience Idle Awhile. Our staffs are big on creating a warm family base environment for all our guest to feel as if they are coming home. We appreciate your recommendation for our Chill Awhile restaurant.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

Thank you!

Warm regards,


Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Once again our days in Negril were enhanced by the wonderful place called Idle .
The long serving staff are a testament to the management's ability to keep and motivate them, giving the property a homecoming welcome to its guests.
Well done!
The "common Room" for families is, Chill Awhile, cool and outdoors by the beach.

John & Elandra : Esquimalt2

Room Tip: Room 204 our favourite.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Esquimalt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry Ann S, Manager at Idle Awhile The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2016

Dear John & Elandra,


Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your time spent at Idle Awhile Beach.
It was a pleasure having you home again. And we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.


Warm regards,


Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016

This was our first time in Jamaica travelling with 3 children - 8, 6 and 4. Having been to big resorts in Europe for most of our holidays with the kids this was our first time in a more 'boutique' environment and despite slight concerns that it wouldn't work for the children we couldn't have been happier. The beach outside the hotel is truly stunning. The sea is clear, calm and shallow - perfect for the children to play in and there are plenty of water sports on hand whilst still maintaining a calm environment. Every morning the lovely lifeguards put sunbeds out for us and were so helpful and friendly. Our accommodation was across the main road which whilst not as good as staying beach side did not pose a problem as there was security there the whole time who jumped up and helped us across the road with a smile every time we crossed. We spent the first couple of nights in the family suite which although large and clean was quite noisy as right by the main road. When we asked to move the staff were extremely helpful and we moved to another suite a little further back. This was wonderful with a lovely outside area with hammocks, terrace and even a little (cold water) jacuzzi which the boys loved. The food was delicious at the little restaurant Chill Awhile on the beach and we ate breakfast and lunch there every day. The staff were so friendly and happy to sit and chat with our youngest child for hours and see to his smoothie requests!! Nicholas on the front desk was superb in helping us with dinner reservations at night and sorted a fabulous driver Tyrone who drove us to from and from each restaurant. All in all if you're looking for a chilled hotel with beautiful beach, friendly staff and great food you can't go wrong with idle Awhile.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _felicity_lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry Ann S, Manager at Idle Awhile The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2016

Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to share your review with the Trip Advisor family on your time spent at Idle Awhile Beach. We are delighted to read your review and that you and your family had a great time with us. We appreciate your comments made on our rooms, beach, and staff. From our driver, lifeguards, securities, and front desk.

We look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit to Negril.

Warm regards,


Kerry-Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2016

I thought I was pretty good at research but this place proved me wrong; they have a very nice beach front location next to the Charela and they have plenty of nice umbrellas in addition to shade trees, which along with great beach staff make their beach area the best on the 7 mile beach; they also have large Villas that apparently can be (and were occuppied by as many as 6 adults plus children - that's great for families but ends up skewing the patrons of the facility to families. Even the few one bedrooms were occupied in part by split families. The families either hang out as a unit or hang out with other families creating a much different environment than the other facilities I'm familiar with (The Spa, Westender and Charela). As a passinbg vender remarked each day "lotsa babies" including everything from 3 month olds to 8 and 10 year olds. The kids for the most part were behaved; the parents who came from the UK orUS were pretty self or family absorbed which changes the vacation equation.
We were in room 102; it was a nice large bedroom with a lovely garden area. The bathroom was great but no electrical connection which was minor. The bed had a weird separation near the head which produced some discomfort but otherwise was fine. There was modest road noise but some fairly unusual and loud noise at times from the garden birds and insects; in the end it didn't occasion much loss of sleep and I would not hesitate to book on that basis: ask for some extra pillows. The garden area is very nice for relaxing.
We came in on a Wednesday afternoon and stayed for 4 days (before moving to the Spa Retreat). We had a decent dinner that first night with a small but nice crab cake and good but pricey fish ($26 I think, or almost twice what the fab. fish at The Spa cost). From there the food was downhill. Service was languid which was no biggie; however the food came from another location seemingly far away; breakfasts were okay (the Charela next door has better); the lunch salad with jerk chicken was good, but the lunch burger (miniscule meat, not good) was impacted negatively by travel and size.
On Saturday night they had a special prix fixe dinner for $30 or so with something described as steak in a fruity basil sauce as the main: it was shockingly bad: I'm surprised they would serve it; when I remarked on it the waiter shrugged gently.
We usually meet loads of people and make friends to visit with during the trip; we met one couple with some college age kinds plus people staying at the Charela who happended to be swimming around. Our closest contact with an Idle Family was some Princessy type on the beach who accosted us "Did you see someone go by - that's our daughter": not good.
So: the Rooms are nice and if you have an extended family in a villa I would assume they are reasonable; as to couples I would suggest checking out the Sea View rooms at the Charela, though they are considerably smaller. OR you may be enchanted by all the little kids: I prefer dogs myself.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank sandbag7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry Ann S, Manager at Idle Awhile The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2016

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for staying at Idle Awhile. Your comments made on our beach location and staff are certainly appreciated.
Let me apologize for not meeting your expectation and for the discomfort you have faced during your stay.
It is our aim to satisfy our customers and we hope that we get another opportunity to serve you in the future.


Warm regards,


Kerry-Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

Our family of 4 (kids are 8 & 10 years old) just returned from an idyllic and unforgettable week at Idle Awhile The Beach. We hated to leave & counting down until we can return. If you are looking for a picturesque beach and total relaxation- look no further. From the moment you arrive until your departure you will be treated well by a staff that felt like family by the time your trip is over. The beach is stunning- calm waters & soft, white sand. There are fun water sports and activities right from the beach. Huge thank you to Eric & Aaron on the beach who took such great care of us every day. They had our beach chairs set in our spot & were an extra set of eyes watching our kids so we could (shockingly!) read a book or snooze in our chairs. As they both told me on day 1 - "your kids are out kids this week". We never had to fight for chairs and there is a lot of shade since they have done a terrific job at conserving trees & vegetation. For kids they have floats, buckets, beach toys to borrow so no need to pack. We ate breakfast & lunch every day at the beach side restaurant/bar - Chill Awhile. Delicious food & tasty drinks. Huge thank you to Junera & Sonia for the best food, drinks, service and smiles at Chill Awhile. They made us feel so special every day and always went the extra mile. The food is really tasty - not your typical hotel food and reasonably priced for an ocean front resort. The rooms are clean and grounds are lush and well kept. The only FYI is the Whitehouse Suites are located across the street - separate from the rest of the resort. It is an easy & short walk, only a few minutes and the suite is clean & well kept but wanted to share that location detail. Finally thank you to Nick at the front desk for all your help, sharing information and just all you did to make our stay special. Thank you to everyone at Idle Awhile The Beach for making our family's vacation so wonderful- I really hope to see you all again soon. It is so refreshing to see a small, boutique hotel that focuses on service and your personal experience nestled away on this gorgeous beach- a sharp & welcome contrast from the mega all inclusives. Thank you all!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry Ann S, Manager at Idle Awhile The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2016

Dear Christine,


Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so glad that you and your family had a great vacation with us at Idle Awhile Beach. We especially appreciate the fact that you made a special effort to highlight our restaurant, beach,food, service and our staff that made your vacation an amazing one.

We look forward to seeing you when you return to Idle Awhile on your next trip.


Warm regards,


Kerry-Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews