We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Ranked #19 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

We have been to many all-inclusive resorts in the Caribbean and the Riu Palace Tropical Bay was our favorite! It is a smaller and older resort than some of the others in the region, but we felt that the size was perfect for our family. We could get around the resort easily and the staff was very friendly and personable. Staff remembered you at restaurants or in the pool area!

The food, especially in the specialty restaurants was very good! The amenities were also good.

Negril is a beautiful area of Jamaica and we will return there and to the Riu Palace Tropical Bay.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
8  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 250 of 5,525 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

We have been going to the Riu tropical bay for years. The food is amazing, the beach is the best,the jerk hut is amazing and the people there are awesome. The rooms are ok, but we're never in there so who cares, but they came twice a day to clean them. So they were always spotless. We were treated like royalty from the minute we arrived and saw Deone the bell boy and the front desk and everybody in the restaurants. We were ther for 10 nights and that wasn't long enough. I will highly recommend this to everyone. There is nobody more picky then me!!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
10  Thank wendytarantino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

We stayed at this resort for 8 days and we were VERY happy with it. The waitstaff at the breakfast and lunch buffet were absolutely great, friendly, and helpful. The entertainment team was also very good, but could have been less forceful in picking guests to participate in activites/games. The beach and view is one of the best I have seen. The food was good and there were a lot of choices, and we liked that there were five different restaurants to choose from every night. The shows during the evening were entertaining and kept our attention. We were blown away by how nice all of the people were.
However, the sellers on the beach were obnoxious and nonstop. I wish security would have been tighter to avoid being bothered every two minutes to buy things. Some of the staff that worked on the landscaping or beach/pool were creepy and asked us to meet them at a night club, their house, for drinks, etc., which was inappropriate.
Overall this was a great resort and we loved our time here, there are just a few minor things to be aware of :)

Room Tip: Rooms have thin walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank summernic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

Jamaica is a great place to visit, Riu just disappointed me big time. The room was good, beach was GREAT, food is just ok, wish they have snack at the bar. Specialty restaurants were a pain, they don't let us make rsvp, but wouldn't even let us sign in to be seated, and won't even let us know the estimate time so we can be back to check back with the host. What are you expecting your guests to do? Stand in front of the door and watch your other guests eating until there is table to be sit? Or is it your way to push us away? I won't ever come back, but please fix your system so other guests can enjoy their stay!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
6  Thank Tiff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Dear guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the opportunity to respond.

On the one hand, we regret to read you were not satisfied with the specialty restaurant system. This new policy has been implemented after carefully assessing all of guests’ feedback regarding this matter. We always welcome feedback from our customers, since it gives us the opportunity to make appropriate improvements and changes where necessary.

We would be delighted if you would honor us with another opportunity to convince you of our RIU service and quality.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

We met up with family for a week get together. This place turned out to be pretty perfect for our group. The beach is very nice and is on a large bay perfect for swimming or wading. The view is quite pretty. The pool isn't huge but we didn't feel crowded. We had two little ones with us and it was perfect for them.
The staff is wonderful, friendly, helpful, energetic, and kind. The service was overall great.
Food is good for an all inclusive.
Breakfast buffet was huge and good. I especially liked the fresh, ripe mango, papaya, and pineapple and other fresh fruit and smoothies. Available are eggs cooked to order and omelettes as well as tons of other breakfast stuff.
Lunch barbecue of jerk chicken and sides very good.
I liked the dinner buffet better that the specialty restaurants but they're worth a try.
Now, the entertainment. I'm at an all inclusive. We're a captive audience. My expectations weren't high. But I was blown away! The dancers are phenomenal! So much energy, athleticism, and professionalism. Every show was better than the one before. I'm not sure which was my favorite. The choreographer whose name I believe was Geraldo ( sorry if I got it wrong) is extremely talented. I've seen quite a few Las Vegas shows and these performers would not be out of place there.
And the dancers provided poolside entertainment during he day. These folks can't possibly be getting paid enough!
We had an oceanfront room which was worth paying a bit extra for. The accommodations were nice. Not the Ritz but better than a Holiday Inn. The grounds are pretty and very well kept.
We had a wonderful time.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
8.1 km away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.1 km away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#26 of 81 in Negril
5,777 reviews
2 km away
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Royalton Negril
Royalton Negril
#22 of 81 in Negril
1,162 reviews
0.4 km away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 81 in Negril
4,448 reviews
4.1 km away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#13 of 81 in Negril
5,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay

Address: Norman Manley Blvd | Bloody Bay Beach, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Negril
#7 Family Hotel in Negril
#12 Spa Hotel in Negril
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#21 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: €242 - €425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 24-hour All Inclusive Riu Palace Tropical Bay Hotel opens year round and is located on Jamaica's west coast in the tourist area of Negril on the island's longest and most beautiful Bloody Bay beach. RIU Palace is the most elegant category in the RIU hotel chain, with hotels that meet the highest standards in terms of luxury, excellence and sophistication, creating a unique experience. The location is ideal due to its proximity to Sangster Montego Bay Airport MBJ (80 km) and Negril (6 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 416 cozily furnished rooms with free Wi-Fi and offers many amenities. Relax in our spa area or get in shape at the gym. 2 outdoor pools and 1 children's pool. Day and evening entertainment. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main buffet restaurant, Italian and Japanese, Fusion restaurants and Steakhouse, as well as 4 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tropical Bay Hotel Negril
Riu Tropical Bay Jamaica
Riu Palace Tropical Bay Negril
Riu Tropical Bay Negril Jamaica
Negril Riu Tropical Bay Hotel
Riu Jamaica
Riu Tropical Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing