We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$240
US$233
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Travellers Beach Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Negril Tree House Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$161
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$210
US$193
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pure Garden Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$54
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Sands Negril(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$76
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$413
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,737)
Filter reviews
5,737 results
Traveller rating
2,604
1,936
694
312
191
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,604
1,936
694
312
191
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbloody bayfusion restaurantocean frontspecialty restaurantspool barjerk hutjerk chickenentertainment staffbeds pushed togetherrick's cafescuba caribemusty smellbeautiful beachlobsterreservation systema la carteslunch buffet
Filter
Updating list...
446 - 451 of 5,737 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

We have been going to the Riu tropical bay for years. The food is amazing, the beach is the best,the jerk hut is amazing and the people there are awesome. The rooms are ok, but we're never in there so who cares, but they came twice a day to clean them. So they were always spotless. We were treated like royalty from the minute we arrived and saw Deone the bell boy and the front desk and everybody in the restaurants. We were ther for 10 nights and that wasn't long enough. I will highly recommend this to everyone. There is nobody more picky then me!!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
10  Thank wendytarantino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

We stayed at this resort for 8 days and we were VERY happy with it. The waitstaff at the breakfast and lunch buffet were absolutely great, friendly, and helpful. The entertainment team was also very good, but could have been less forceful in picking guests to participate in activites/games. The beach and view is one of the best I have seen. The food was good and there were a lot of choices, and we liked that there were five different restaurants to choose from every night. The shows during the evening were entertaining and kept our attention. We were blown away by how nice all of the people were.
However, the sellers on the beach were obnoxious and nonstop. I wish security would have been tighter to avoid being bothered every two minutes to buy things. Some of the staff that worked on the landscaping or beach/pool were creepy and asked us to meet them at a night club, their house, for drinks, etc., which was inappropriate.
Overall this was a great resort and we loved our time here, there are just a few minor things to be aware of :)

Room Tip: Rooms have thin walls
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank summernic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

Jamaica is a great place to visit, Riu just disappointed me big time. The room was good, beach was GREAT, food is just ok, wish they have snack at the bar. Specialty restaurants were a pain, they don't let us make rsvp, but wouldn't even let us sign in to be seated, and won't even let us know the estimate time so we can be back to check back with the host. What are you expecting your guests to do? Stand in front of the door and watch your other guests eating until there is table to be sit? Or is it your way to push us away? I won't ever come back, but please fix your system so other guests can enjoy their stay!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
6  Thank Tiff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Dear guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the opportunity to respond.

On the one hand, we regret to read you were not satisfied with the specialty restaurant system. This new policy has been implemented after carefully assessing all of guests’ feedback regarding this matter. We always welcome feedback from our customers, since it gives us the opportunity to make appropriate improvements and changes where necessary.

We would be delighted if you would honor us with another opportunity to convince you of our RIU service and quality.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

We met up with family for a week get together. This place turned out to be pretty perfect for our group. The beach is very nice and is on a large bay perfect for swimming or wading. The view is quite pretty. The pool isn't huge but we didn't feel crowded. We had two little ones with us and it was perfect for them.
The staff is wonderful, friendly, helpful, energetic, and kind. The service was overall great.
Food is good for an all inclusive.
Breakfast buffet was huge and good. I especially liked the fresh, ripe mango, papaya, and pineapple and other fresh fruit and smoothies. Available are eggs cooked to order and omelettes as well as tons of other breakfast stuff.
Lunch barbecue of jerk chicken and sides very good.
I liked the dinner buffet better that the specialty restaurants but they're worth a try.
Now, the entertainment. I'm at an all inclusive. We're a captive audience. My expectations weren't high. But I was blown away! The dancers are phenomenal! So much energy, athleticism, and professionalism. Every show was better than the one before. I'm not sure which was my favorite. The choreographer whose name I believe was Geraldo ( sorry if I got it wrong) is extremely talented. I've seen quite a few Las Vegas shows and these performers would not be out of place there.
And the dancers provided poolside entertainment during he day. These folks can't possibly be getting paid enough!
We had an oceanfront room which was worth paying a bit extra for. The accommodations were nice. Not the Ritz but better than a Holiday Inn. The grounds are pretty and very well kept.
We had a wonderful time.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Where to start... we were sold an all inclusive resort with a KIDS CLUB and arrived to find out that the club doesn't exist, yet it is clearly advertised on the website and by travel agencies..! No services at all for kids- (except, after pointing out this fact they found 2 girls for 3 days out of the 11 we stayed that for an hour that entertained the kids with rock painting- that was the end of it)
BEACH AREA is very big, but nothing like umbrellas or shades other than a couple of palm trees around- yikes! It was exhausting to hint for shade. Yet, the beach- the water- is the best and only feature that makes this hotel worth considering. The only thing they have are bars- there are 4 or 5 on a small property serving only what is on their menu. RESTAURANTS are just "ok" nothing great, especially for this so called 5-star resort... I have definately had better! Buffet is decent- they have 4 small sit down restaurants where they don't require reservations yet if there is a line they male you sit outside without as much as a wait list- except of course if you want to "pay" your way around then they make an effort to call you.
ROOMS are old, not very big- showers are very small and old school with baths that you can barely turn around into without falling; water pressure around the resort is super low takes at least 20 minutes to shower up in the room! The whole resort in general needs renovation, every room building has faded colors - purple, pink, white- just let go, what a shame.
SERVICE is ok-
Prices at the SPA are off the roof- a couple massage at $459?! Really..!
24HR Room service that is free of charge and included in the resort fee is decent yet all plates are pre-cooked so nothing gets to the room fresh or hot, simply plastic wrapped and cold. Room fridge/bar is pretty stocked with sodas and some liquors but no snacks to tag along such as chips or peanuts- need to call room service to eat something.
SNORKELING is available but you need cash ($25 a piece for deposit) for an hour and hope there is one available as they only have a handful for the whole resort. Canoes, boards, paddle boats ect are available without deposits yet you have to work around the one guy working 9 to whatever his hours might be and if he's not around they just tell you to come back.
ANIMATION.. morning aerobics is really the only thing going- sports and other recreations are optional as the animations people don't invite or ask around to get people motivated- they simply make an announcement and if only a couple of people show up they send everyone back and cancel an event, this has never happened in any of our past resorts! Night animation, nothing crazy, just some music and a little show, nothing worth staying around to watch- but there is nothing else going on either so that or sleep.
CLEANING services is pretty good and they come bay twice a day which is nice. LAUNDRY service is decent, yet it is literally THE ONLY hotel I have ever been to that calls you to make payments prior to check out- I have always paid my bills all together at check out but here its a whole different story..
And to end with a spark, airport shuttle came to pick us up and noone was around to load our bags, all just sitting around talking, just left the bags there and we had to load ourselves. 5 star services I tell you.
This was our first visit to a RIU chain hotel- didn't even know they had resorts until now, and I can definately see why! I sure hope hotels are better structured and live up to RIU expectations and standards I have heard of- this one falls way short, it was a big disappointment for our 12 day pit stop vacation in the Carribean- good thing we are heading to a new Caribbean location! Jamaica and Negril on the other hand, amazing.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank giulybooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns.

We are committed to provide excellent quality of our products and services to our guests. We regret to read that you have left our hotel with an opposite idea in your mind. We appreciate our guests’ comments since they help us improve our services. We will share your impressions with the corresponding department in order to make adjustments, if necessary.

We hope you will choose to visit us again, and give us a chance to demonstrate the high standards of guest service that are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews