We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$240
US$233
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travellers Beach Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Negril Tree House Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$161
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$193
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pure Garden Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$54
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Sands Negril(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$76
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$413
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$536/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,963)
Filter reviews
2,963 results
Traveller rating
2,100
627
146
65
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,100
627
146
65
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslotus leafchef's tablecrossing guardbeach grilllotus restaurantcoffee barshort walk across the streettree house styleday bedjerk chickenjohn waynetree frogsa la carte restaurantpiano manbloody baysmall resortour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
459 - 464 of 2,963 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
24
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Boosh!
Got to love this place. Super simple resort. Very nice accommodations in a very small but well managed resort. Can't really say I have ever had a real problem here. A good place to chill and enjoy the sun. Food is good and service is good. Water is clear and warm and the sand is soft on the feet. We have visited this resort three times. We would go back again. Great for couples.
Recommended!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon P, Manager at Sunset at the Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Thanks for choosing our Resort once again as your Vacation Destination. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share beautiful review on tripadvisor Thanks for your continued support of Jamaica and Sunset at the Palms. We are indeed very delighted to hear of your feedback; "Got to love this place. Super simple resort. Very nice accommodations in a very small but well managed resort". Your very kind words of compliments about food offerings as well as service is much appreciated.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

My wife and I have been to Negril Jamaica several times and we usually stay at an all-inclusive property period this trip we wanted to stay at sunset at the Palms because of the individual cottages and the Beautiful Landscaping. The property is quite beautiful and the food was also very good sometimes the service from the staff was a little unattentive but we are on Jamaica time. There were just a few little things that cause me to give it a be minus but overall we really enjoyed this place and the majority of the staff.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Travis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon P, Manager at Sunset at the Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thanks Travis P for taking the time to write about your recent stay at at Sunset at the Palms Resort. Thanks for feedback regarding service. We truly value the opinions and comments of our guests as we strive to continuously improve our product. We are also very much appreciative of your kind compliments about our beautiful property and food offerings.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

My husband and I spent a week here and loved it! From the minute we arrived until the day we left we were treated with the utmost kindness and sincere appreciation for staying at this resort. We loved the room, simple, sweet and quaint. Nice king size bed, dresser, bench, desk and air conditioning. There is a television in the cabinet attached to the dresser but we only watched it briefly at night for the late news and weather. The bathroom was spacious with a huge shower, there were plenty of towels and a large closet for hanging clothes upon entering the bathroom. The room safe is also in the closet along with a bench to put your suitcases. The deck has a nice comfy chaise couch and a table with two chairs. We sat there a few afternoons when we returned from the beach or day trips, mostly after they sprayed for mosquitoes but we also used OFF bug spray too. The peepers will sing you to sleep each night and the birds will wake you in the morning.
The grounds of the resort are impeccable! Headley, Lyndford and Clinton certainly take pride in their work and keep the resort as picturesque as you see on their site. The trees, flowers and "wildlife" are quite tropical and enjoyable from your balcony or strolling through the resort. If you do visit be sure the take Headley's Nature Walk, its fantastic! We learned about all the trees and flowers and we even visited Farmer Basil, in the back of the resort to see his gardens. The "resort goat" Betty was a true joy to meet and pet.
The reception area, dining area and martini bar are open air design so there is not air conditioning but there usually is a nice tropical breeze blowing through. It can get warm at times, especially when you are over near the buffet and cooking area but we did not find it unbearable. The food at the buffet was very good and each night was a different themed night, Our favorite was Jamaican night, the freshly made, before your eyes fruit plate was to die for! The breakfast buffet was mainly the same everyday and Thadian makes a fabulous veggie omelette. Once the wait staff learns your likes they are quick to accommodate when they see you. Claudia had my coffee ready to pour each morning just as we sat to eat. We ate at the buffet style restaurant for breakfast and all but one dinner every day. We ate at the Lotus Leaf restaurant one night and we were not impressed and actually left disappointed. Others who had dined at the Lotus Leaf did enjoy it. It is a nice intimate setting but the food was just average and they ran out of dessert! We didn't try the Chef Showcase. Most days we had lunch at the beach unfortunately, I cannot remember the chef's name but he did a great job with everything on the menu!
We spent most of our water time at the beach, Jeff, the lifeguard, set up our chairs anywhere we wanted him to put them, they have a few shaded huts too. We walked the beach before basking in the sun at The Palms private section of beach or floating in the clam cool water's of Bloody Bay. One piece of advise, make sure you either use sunscreen with bug repellent or bug repellent in general because the sand fleas on the Negril beaches can be brutal!!
The bars at The Palms are great and very quick to serve what ever you were drinking. The magnum was my favorite at the beach bar, a nice apple martini at the Martini bar and a refreshing cranberry and vodka at the pool bar at night listening to that night's entertainment. Alex was by far our favorite bartender, look for him at the pool bar or martini bar!
The nightly entertainment is great! Paul, aka "The Piano Man" was phenomenal and truly a joy to listen to at the Martini Bar. We had the pleasure of talking to him after his performance and learned he is a self taught musician and now teaches his skill to aspiring young talent. The Reggie Band,with the female singer is great, she has a great voice and the woman dong the Karaoke has voice needing a talent scout to discover her!
We could go on and on singing the praises of this resort, if you're looking for a resort with a tons of people, constant activity and being treated like a paying customer, this is not your resort. If you're looking for peace and quite, relaxation and being treated like family this is your resort! We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: The rooms in the 400's are pretty centrally located to all the resort amenities.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon P, Manager at Sunset at the Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thank you very much Julie L for your very informative review of Sunset at the Palms Resort. We are indeed very delighted to hear of your feedback; "if you're looking for a resort with a tons of people, constant activity and being treated like a paying customer, this is not your resort. If you're looking for peace and quite, relaxation and being treated like family this is your resort!". At our Resort, we take pride in fulfilling the Vacation Expectations of our much appreciated Guests and their satisfaction is our reward. We do appreciate your kind words of compliments about the room, grounds, entertainment,as well as food and beverage offerings. Thanks for your recognition of our staff. They are truly the ones who create fond memories for our much appreciated guests and make each visit special.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

Me and my wife have only been here one full day and already love the place ! Had the best massage I've ever had today ! Food so far ...Perfect ...Anyone complaining is clearly very uptight and in the wrong place because everyone here is amazing happy friendly and accommodating !! Will write final review at the end of our honeymoon !

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank pattony1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon P, Manager at Sunset at the Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thank you so very much pattony1. We really appreciate you taking time to share review about your vacation experience at Sunset at the Palms Resort. We are indeed very delighted of your feedback: "Me and my wife have only been here one full day and already love the place". We are very much appreciate of your favorable comments about the massage, food offerings, as well as about staff as being; amazing, happy, friendly and accommodating.

Thanks again and we hope you will continue to enjoy your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

What a disappointment Sunset At The Palms was! But let's note the good things first: The piano player (Paul?) was wonderful for the hour or so that he played in the evening, and our driver, Manner, was safe and courteous. Just about everything else was extremely sub-par.

The Room: No dresser for clothing, so expect to live out of a suitcase or hang every piece of clothing on a hanger in a small space. A "One Size Fits All" bathrobe does not fit everyone so having it there was useless. The room itself was very poorly lit making it difficult to read.

After our first night, no one came to straighten up the room, so the bed remained unmade and nothing cleaned for two days; after the second night, housekeeping showed up after 4pm - when we were retuning from the beach, so we had to wait before we could even shower. Then a short time later someone knocked on the door and asked to inventory the room -- did they think we were thieves?
There is no door on the bathroom, so even though the "business" part of the room was a few feet away from the opening, there's still no door.
Using the outdoor daybed just led to being set upon by little black bugs.

The Food: Mediocre at best! Mostly what was available was the buffet - which was very limited and of so-so quality. On two mornings at breakfast, there were black birds eating off of the fruit and the cheese trays; when I told a staff member about this nothing was done and the trays were left where they were, so unknowing guests could eat the food off the same tray where the birds had just eaten. No restaurant is indoors, so eating in the heat and perspiring while dining are a sure thing. The "specialty" restaurants were tremendously disappointing: the steak was like chewing leather, and at the "Showcase" guests are expected to applaud for their dinner as if it were something special- which it was not.

The Grounds: were nicely maintained, but there was the constant fake recorded sound of crickets; this constant chirping was probably meant to add ambience; it didn't. The worst aspect of the trip: EVERY afternoon at 430pm, the grounds were sprayed for bugs; because the rooms do not have glass windows, but only wooden slats, the insecticide permeated our room for upwards of thirty minutes while we sat there with washcloths covering our noses and mouths. This was NOT healthy!! At least the man who did the spraying got to wear a mask -- see photo. (Is DDT banned in Jamaica?)

The Beach: was about two-tenths of a mile walk from our room across a busy two-lane road and nothing special once we got there. Closing at 7pm, where does a person go to see the "Sunset At The Palms"? On our last day there, there was no water at the beach facility so using the bathroom or washing hands before lunch was not possible. It was also very difficult to get any drinks for the same reason.

The Pool: looked like it would needed a good scrubbing. We wouldn't even spend any time there.

When we made our reservation and again when we checked in, we were asked if we were celebrating anything special. Both times we told them that it was our anniversary. We thought that maybe they would leave us a card or flowers from the grounds, but absolutely nothing was done or said. Did they ask just to include us as a statistic?

We have stayed at other all-inclusive resorts before, so our hopes for this were high based on those previous experiences, but we were nothing but disappointed and even turned off by this location.

We would never return to Sunset At The Palms ever again. At $500 per night it didn't even come close to being worth it. Never again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank PhotoVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol S, Director of Sales at Sunset at the Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Dear PhotoVal,
Thank you for advising us of your concerns about your stay at Sunset at the Palms.
Please accept our apologies for the breakdown in our customer service procedures that would have enabled us to provide the amenities to add to the celebration of your anniversary. We have taken appropriate training and disciplinary actions to ensure that procedures are followed in the future.
We are located in the tropics and part of the ambience of Sunset at the Palms is our beautiful gardens.
All of the sights and sounds in our gardens are completely natural and cannot be turned down or off.
We do have a daily spraying program as insects are also part of a tropical environment. DDT is indeed also outlawed in Jamaica and the product used , although carrying a distinct odor, is only harmful to insects and is approved by Green Globe .
We regret that you had to cut your stay short with us due a family emergency and that we were unable to receive and address your concerns while you were on property.
We take your review very seriously and will use your comments to refine our product for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews