We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$114
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 02/08
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa De Shalom(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Blue House Boutique Bed & Breakfast(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$175
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reggae Hostel Ocho Rios(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Bar/Lounge
Chrisanns Beach Resort(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
HotelsClick
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/08
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Jamaica Inn(Ocho Rios)
US$441
US$424
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,791)
Filter reviews
2,791 results
Traveller rating
2,244
372
122
36
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,244
372
122
36
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswobbly peacockbeach butlerle papillonroyal grilleast beachterrace restaurantfrench restaurantpeter fraserfrench balconyarnold nugentbutler servicelobster bltrose waterour honeymooneast wingfood and beverage managerthe general manager
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 2,791 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2018

This is going to be a bit emotional for me to write since we are leaving today after a blissful 10-day stay. I don't know how to convey the warmth and sincerity and service you receive here from every member of the staff. I'm beginning to think they give new employees some kind of pill or shot that makes them so special; but actually, as one of the managers said, they make sure to hire special people to begin with.

Our butlers, Ricardo and Orayne, were beyond fantastic. They arranged coffee and fruit every morning on the verandah before we worked out (yup, hit the gym every day but one for our hotel Crossfit workouts). Barbara, Kimberlee, Latoya, Natalia, Michael, Simon, Daniello, Cleon, Romeo, Steve -- I just can't remember all the names but these are just a few of the special people you will meet. Nearly all have been there since our first visit 3 years ago, which tells you something. Oh, Allison in the spa; ask for her! and Tashi, who cleaned our room early every day and make it feel fresh and brand new.

Here are but two examples of the kind of people who work here. Our toilet flooded on day 7, flooded the entire room. There was not even a question of moving us; I didn't even have to ask, and by early afternoon everything had been cleaned up and we were in a new room with every belonging moved into exactly the same place (even the bottle of Advil that was by the TV).

The other is last night after we had a pre-dinner snack on the verandah and were sitting there with the plate still there. Sean, one of the butlers, saw it, came over and removed it. That shows that people here understand that their job isn't just to do THEIR particular job, but to make sure that no matter what, the resort is beautiful and the guests happy.

This was the first time we had a candlelight dinner on the pier and I highly recommend it. Went to Ochi a couple of times for dinner; Japanese restaurant not my thing; but the French restaurant, while similar to Papillion, was lovely, and we had pre-dinner sushi that was excellent, will go there for dinner next time.

We though the food was excellent. The presentation has gone up a notch with the new chef.

Still no renovations and they still are promising them; they do have one room done as a prototype. But we were rarely in the room and the people more than make up for a somewhat dated bathroom.

I guess you can tell how much I love it here.

Room Tip: I forget what category we had but we were on the second floor in the west wing.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank medwriterdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

Love the Caribbean holidays in Jan/Feb but Sandals is one of the best we have been to. Staff at this hotel are remarkable, friendly and so helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Rooms all have sea view and are extremely comfortable. Butler service very good - there when you need them and so immaculate and efficient.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views/quiet and are 3 stories high only. Request which floor you want.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank littlesuntana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

Small 5 star all adults only all inclusive resort with butler service for all. All rooms with a killer view of the ocean, and although there's only a couple restaurants on site they are really good with fantastic service. You can also shuttle up the road to Sandals Ochi to have dinner at one of their many restaurants. As for many places I go, I wish beds had toppers to be a bit softer on top but this a common thing. Our butler Richard definitely made a point of becoming in tune with our needs and schedule and would continually show up with things like wine and cheese, grey goose martinis etc. Just a fantastic relaxing vacation. Suggest we were slightly young for the average there...most folks were in their 60's and 70's but we still thoroughly enjoyed.

Room Tip: I hear a lot of people saying to get the East Wing but I found our view from the West wing on the 3rd floor was impeccable.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank christineomg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

If, like us, having a quiet shady spot to sunbath without having to get up early & reserve a place with a towel is important to you then this is the place for you.
The resort is small and all butler service. There are plenty of sunbeds (butlers are not allowed to reserve) so you don't need to reserve a spot before going down to breakfast. There were still a few guests that felt they had to reserve their spot early which was a bit annoying.
There are 2 small sandy beaches & both are quiet with the east beach being the quietest. Beach butlers (Cleon & Danielo) are available to take your orders throughout the whole day. They were very good with frequent visits & ensuring that every guest had the drinks they needed. The only way down to the beaches is via some steep steps.
There is a small pool a few steps down from the hotel. Again, it's a quiet area with no loud background music.
This is one of Sandals' older properties and not as modern as some of the newer properties. However, it does have charm. All of the rooms have a sea view, even the ones on the ground floor. Only a few of the rooms have a balcony. We had a ground floor Orchid (now called the Viceroy Honeymoon) room in the East Wing. It was spacious with a seating area with a view of the sea plus a separate walk-in wardrobe. There was no separate shower which was a shame.
There are 4 restaurants although the pub didn't seem to be heavily used for meals. The meals were up to the usual excellent Sandals standard. All the evening meals are waiter served. The Terrace would have at least one theme night each week which was buffet only. Our Jamaican themed evening at the Terrace was spoiled by tepid food. The butlers booked all our meals. We found it's best to pre-plan your meals well in advance to make sure you get the times & restaurants you want. Meals can be taken at the neighbouring Ochi resort. We were lucky that we had previously stayed at Ochi and so knew which restaurants we wanted to visit. Each couple are looked after by two butlers who share the duties (one doing 6am to 2pm & the other doing 2pm to 10pm). Ours looked after us very well. It should be noted that each pair of butlers look after 8 sets of guests so their time can be stretched at times. If you are going to a reservation restaurant they will escort you there & make sure you are seated properly. There is a shuttle bus between the Plantation & Ochi and runs about every hour. The system works well although you can be clock watching when eating in the evening at Ochi if you don't want to stay another hour before heading back.
There is only one breakfast restaurant (Terrace). This is a combined buffet and waiter service restaurant. There is a small outside area overlooking the sea which was our favourite spot. We like waiter service breakfasts when we go to Sandals and this one was not quite as good as the others we have used. The meals took longer to cook. However, they did have a wider selection of menu items than is available elsewhere at other Sandals' resorts. The french restaurant is one of the main restaurants at the Plantation. It has a counterpart on the Ochi site with virtually identical menus. They were both very good but the food did take a lot longer to prepare at the Plantation which was a shame.
At 4pm each day English tea, sandwiches and cakes are served. It was very nice but we could only manage this once. The big danger is ruining your appetite for your evening meal! I think this is the only Sandals resort to offer this service.
Overall, this is one of the best Sandals resorts we have visited.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

We have been to several Sandals and were beginning to lose faith in the service and overall experiences with Sandals. Our visit this past week restored our faith as Sandals Royal Plantation was incredible. To the meals, service and staff everything was top notch just like a first visit to Sandals many years ago. A big shout out to the entertainment coordinators Roman and Jason as they truly showed their love of the job and made it fun for everyone. Cleon (beach butler) was one of the best we have ever had and knew our first names from the first encounter which made the service so much more personable. Way to go Sandals Royal Plantation!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good because they all have an ocean view.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews