We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a great experience but EXPENSIVE photos”
Review of Dolphin Cove

Dolphin Cove
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.00*
and up
Shuttle Service from Runaway Bay Hotels to Ocho...
Ranked #9 of 32 things to do in Ocho Rios
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This magnificent property has a natural cove which is surrounded by 5 acres of lush tropical rain forest. Visitors have the opportunity to interact and "Swim With" dolphins, enjoying the thrill and love of these amazing lovable animals. Visitors can also swim with, hold, feed and learn about the evolutionary secrets of the Caribbean sharks. Visitors can capture their dream of being a dolphin trainer by taking the challenge of being "Sea Keeper" for the day. Voted as Jamaica's Number One Attraction for a reason. Come for the day, for memories of a lifetime.
Reviewed 6 January 2018

My partner and I came here and we both had such a great time. Everyone was very friendly however, when it came to getting the photos, they cost $100!!! They literally bring you far out so only their photographer can take photos of you.

Thank Rhianna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear traveler,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us, it has been great to read that you enjoyed the dolphin activity and you passed a nice time.
We really appreciate your comments about our photo prices, listening to our visitors helps us to improve our quality.
On behalf of our team we hope to have the opportunity to see you again.

Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"swim with the dolphins"
in 309 reviews
"shark show"
in 294 reviews
"dolphin encounter"
in 203 reviews
"nurse sharks"
in 66 reviews
"jungle trail"
in 40 reviews
"speed boat"
in 47 reviews
"bucket list"
in 110 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 105 reviews
"other attractions"
in 39 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 87 reviews
"take pictures"
in 101 reviews
"beach area"
in 29 reviews
"our honeymoon"
in 32 reviews
"fun experience"
in 32 reviews
"jerk chicken"
in 52 reviews
"dunns river"
in 76 reviews
"an excursion"
in 42 reviews
Filter

141 - 145 of 3,135 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2018

We were very excited to go swimming with Dolphins. Upon arrival, we were offered 2 different packages for swimming with the dolphins and decided to choose the 'deluxe package' where we would have 3 different swims with the dolphins.
We entered to park with over an hour to spare until our 'swim time'.

The park is going through some major renovations, so there was much construction going on.
There seemed to be many park employees around, but not much organization, many people milling around not sure where to go. We were told that there would be guide to show us around, but that didn't seem to happen.

We just forged off on our own, and went on the 'jungle trail'. We stopped at the Love Bird Enclosure,and entered along with a large tour group. The Enclosure was very crowded, but we stayed until the tour left and then really got to enjoy all the lovebirds. A staff member gave us bird seed to attract the lovely birds to our hands.

We continued along the jungle trail, but found the crowds overwhelming, too many people and not enough space.

We just went to the assigned area to wait for our 'dolphin encounter'.
The dolphin encounter was not very well organized, many people and no one telling us what to do or where to go.
We were finally organized into small groups, but we were surprised to be placed into a group with people that had paid for the lesser encounter. I asked the staff member about it and she said because only 2 of us (my friend and I) were the only ones to choose the deluxe package, there were not enough for a separate group, and we just be included with the other group, but would be doing more than them - weird by what's to do?

The dolphin encounter was fabulous and a thing to always remember. Our dolphins - Sky and Michael were a delight, and seems to enjoy interacting with us as much as we enjoyed being with them.
I was a bit awkward that we were having a deluxe encounter with the dolphins and the rest of our group was just having the regular encounter. The group had to stand there for quite some time while my friend and I continued to swim and interact with the dolphins - we should have been in a separate group.

The only negative thing was the pictures. We were not allowed to take pictures of the dolphin encounter, they had a staff member taking photos to sell us.
The photos taken were good, but terribly overpriced! And you could not just buy one, you had to buy all the photos of yourself on a DVD for $125!!!

Overall, we really enjoyed the time with the dolphins and were glad to do it.

Thank rockhollow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Dear traveler,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us at Dolphin Cove Ocho Rios.
We are very happy that you and your friend enjoyed your day and the dolphin activity was terrific, they are wonderful creatures!
We really appreciate all your comments and observations, they will help us to improve our services and take measures where necessary.
Looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

We’ve swam with dolphins before but this was a much more interactive experience.
The staff were great. Photos are very, very expensive and you can not use resort credits.

Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Dear traveler,

We would like to thank you for your preference and for taking the time to share how was your experience at Dolphin Cove Ocho Rios.
We are pleased to know that swimming with dolphins and interact with them has been an amazing experience.
Our team is always ready to help you and make it a lifetime experience, we deeply thank you for this opportunity.
Dolphin Discovery Group appreciates your preference and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

One of the most amazing places I have visited. My husband and I were on our honeymoon and booked the Ultimate Swim with the dolphins (definitely the one to book since there are tons of people). We were able to touch, kiss, play, be pushed by the foot, and pulled by their fins. The trainer was very knowledgeable and answered a lot of our questions. Unfortunately , I booked with a tour group so I did not get a chance to see and do everything they had to offer. They have sharks and stingrays you can swim with, and other animals to look at (we liked the love birds the best). You need a full day to spend here and it looks great for kids.

1  Thank Alaina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear traveler,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us at Dolphin Cove.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your day and the dolphin activity was terrific, they are wonderful creatures.
We really appreciate your opinion and we are pleased that our services were as expected.
Looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Our time at dolphin cove was amazing, the dolphins were very friendly, was a bit nervous around the stingrays but I was ok knowing the trainer was right there on spot. We also encountered with the parrots, iguana, rabbits and birds, all animals were adorable. We didn't get to see the shark show reasons been we weren't inform amount the time it began but that was ok. Did I mention about the cost for pics!!! Pics with just 1 person is for $60.00us two persons $110.00us!!! Like seriously?
Visit: December 23rd 2017

Thank Javel_Dougy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear traveler,

We would like to thank you for your preference and for taking the time to share how was your experience at Dolphin Cove.
We are pleased to know that swimming with dolphins and interact with our marine life has been an amazing experience.
Our team is always ready to help you and make it a lifetime experience, we deeply thank you for this opportunity and we deeply appreciate all your comments.
Dolphin Discovery Group appreciates your preference and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolphin Cove also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Lucea, Hanover Parish
 

Been to Dolphin Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing