We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
108
115
28
20
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
115
28
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews almond tree breakfast was included swinging bar included in the room rate rooms are clean jamaican breakfast ocean view close to town port antonio ocho rios town ackee and saltfish our honeymoon wedding reef gourmet bartender
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

My friend and I spent 4 nights at the Hibiscus Lodge Hotel in Ocho Rios from the 14th March to the 18th March.

We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist.

The reception area was a little dated but clean.

After checking in we were escorted to our room by a porter who carried our bags to our room.

Our pre booked ocean view room was clean, air conditioned with the most spectacular view that I can honestly say was the best view I've had from any hotel.

Breakfast was included. In our 4 day stay and was varied.

The makerel and Bammy breakfast menu uses tinned makerel and not fresh

Chipped cups were often used for our breakfast coffee

We found the price of food very expensive and comes with a service charge. As such we ate out most night and was a third of the price at the hotel

Some of the waiting staff appeared friendly enough some presented as being a bit serious. A smile does not go amis.

We found it unpleasant for waiting staff to stand and watch from afar as we ate. However dirty plates were promptly removed

You can call a cab from the hotel to the local tourist shops. Our trip to Dunns River Falls cost 2,500 jamaican dollars round trip for 2 persons.

Miss Dawn was our escort and she was warm and friendly

Would I recommend the Hibiscus? Most definately. Would I stay again yes I would

The hotel does not have a beach however beaches are within walking distance or a short taxi ride away.

See the views from Room 24 which we occupied

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

This hotel is in an amazing situation, perched on the cliffs over looking a coral reef lagoon. Probably the best location I have everexperienced. Many terraces overhang the ocean and the gardens are a tropical delight. The rooms are spacious and our ocean view bedroom had a large terrace with views to the sea. A/C was quiet and efficient as was the ceilin fan. The rooms do not have tea or coffee making facilities so bring a travel kettle. There is no safe or fridge in the room but you can get ice from the bar - it would have been nice had the staff filled the ice bucket. Staff friendly and attentive. Food OK to good in the evenings. BUT when we visited the Pentecostal church next door had a youth conference of some sort and the VERY amplified gospel singing each night was a pain. On two nights the noise went on til 3AM! Plainly unacceptable. No apologies from staff, no offer of a discount, just seemed to be taken as business as usual. Fully realise that this is not under hotel control but they could have complained. Anyway, a good hotel, reasonable price but beware that gospel singing at volume 11.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank frigilianafreddy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

We, 2 couples, spent 4 nights here, and enjoyed our time here. Rooms are large and clean, ocean view with large balconies.

Breakfast, at the Almond Tree restaurant on site, was included with our reservation...and it was delicious ! Wide variety to choose from...no complaints on any of the dishes. Service was excellent, very attentive waiters.

We never used the swimming pool as we are beach people, but it was lovely and clean. We did sit in the hot tub several days, and it was a nice temperature ...we didn't find any controls for jets but we didn't ask either.

We walked about 2 blocks away to Mahogany beach where we got loungers and refreshments. You can snorkel there or take catamaran tours from there. It is a small, fairly protected bay with nice sand and few tourists, so fit the bill for us. There is some shade under trees for those that need to get under cover.

We walked downtown to eat most nights...did eat dinner at the Almond Tree the first night, but wanted to experience more. As there were 4 of us, we were fine walking, but some may be intimidated by the locals...depends on your level of comfort. The guys were approached to buy weed, but not when us gals were with them..ha ha...found that interesting.

We also walked to the bank and exchanged Cdn. cash for Jamaican dollars and that was super easy...just be sure to take your passport. Everything is priced in US $$, but ask for Jamaican price...the Cdn. $$ during our visit was way down compared to the US $ so preferred to use Jamaican.

We went to the market to buy some trinkets and jewelry...almost too many stalls for my liking...everyone hoping to make a sale, but if you are courteous to them, they will be to you as well. Lol..can literally buy anything there :) No coffee there from what we saw.

The hotel arranged transfer from the airport for us with Dawn, who we also booked to take us to Dunn's River Falls and to our next hotel in Negril. Her van wasn't new, but worked fine for us...I would use again. The distances are great, so not cheap.

I would definitely recommend Hibiscus House if you are looking for an independent hotel in a great location.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank green4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016

We've tried a week, several times, two weeks last year and now a month and it just keeps getting better and better. Now our official home for escaping from February in Canada. This is authentic Jamaican hospitality. Outstanding open sea views from every room. Still the best cooking for all meals and a Jamaican breakfast to die for.
Irie!

Room Tip: All have a great view. Some larger than others.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glynis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2016

Stopped here as part of our cruise tour. Lovely 'oldie world' hotel. Afternoon tea was limited but good, particularly the Banana Cake. Views are to die for. A place to bear in mind when we come to Jamaica next.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews