We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
41
3
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
3
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Whether in Kingston for pleasure or business, taking in the city from a cool pad in the surrounding lush and more upscale hills is definitely a great option...the host/staff is personable, knowledgeable and cook excellent meals...nicer really than you can tell from the photos, easy rides from all the action (if Sunday, it's gotta be dub club), lots of space and lovely grounds. Cool!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Brendan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2015

Lovely place and fabulous people. Oliver is always ready to help, advise and provide fascinating information about Jamaica. Food was excellent and the peace and beauty of the place was in contrast to the bustle downtown

Room Tip: We were in the Pool Room which is spacious but the upstairs rooms have a wonderful view over Kingston
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2015

We were looking for a relaxed start to our holiday in Jamaica before heading to the Blue Mountains. The fairly short trip from NM airport to Moon Hill was fun with the driver who works with Oliver, and the quiet surroundings of the hotel on the outskirts of Kingston was perfect for a relaxed evening. The young guy who cooked our evening meal and looked after us was great, and the fish meals (we tried two different dishes) were superb. We enjoyed an early morning swim in the small pool, ate a delicious Jamaican breakfast, and had a really helpful chat with Oliver the owner about our planned trip, and all things Jamaican. His guide book (Moon handbooks .. never seen in UK but comprehensive and much that is not in LP and RG, tho unfortunately not as up to date as our LP) has been a useful additional purchase since then. Had time to take a short taxi to the Bob Marley museum - unmissable - and walk to Devon House before heading for the hills.
Moon Hill was just what we needed; not flashy or over the top, but clean and well looked after, feeling perfectely safe and quiet as a Kingston stop. Would be fine for a few days stay, but needs taxis into town to see main sights.

Room Tip: We were the only guests that night, and were given the poolside room, which is separate (very lose to house tho)and very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkgox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2014

We have stayed at Moon Hill several times and love it. The setting is very quiet and the grounds are beautiful. The beds and rooms are very comfortable and we always get a good rest there. The house is nice (complete with music studio) but we never spend any time in it because the porch and the pool are our favorite spots. The breakfast is always good, I recommend the Jamaican breakfast and the honor system bar is well stocked and convenient. Your host, Oliver, has an unbelievable knowledge of Jamaica and Kingston (He is the author of the Moon Publishing guide to Jamaica, which is by far the best Jamaica guide out there.) and will happily give you suggestions on where to go and what to see. The location is convenient for navigating Kingston's crazy streets and is close to the main thoroughfares and shopping.

Room Tip: The pool house is our favorite room but is closer to the road so it may not be as quiet as rooms in the main house.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank r0achcat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2014

The owner was chill and a great cook! It was relaxing and a great start to our trip. It felt like you were staying in a home and that was exactly what I needed and wanted. I would stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews