We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
Review of Moon Hill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moon Hill
Ranked #5 of 31 Kingston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 April 2015

Lovely place and fabulous people. Oliver is always ready to help, advise and provide fascinating information about Jamaica. Food was excellent and the peace and beauty of the place was in contrast to the bustle downtown

Room Tip: We were in the Pool Room which is spacious but the upstairs rooms have a wonderful view over Kingsto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2015

We were looking for a relaxed start to our holiday in Jamaica before heading to the Blue Mountains. The fairly short trip from NM airport to Moon Hill was fun with the driver who works with Oliver, and the quiet surroundings of the hotel on the outskirts of Kingston was perfect for a relaxed evening. The young guy who cooked our evening meal and looked after us was great, and the fish meals (we tried two different dishes) were superb. We enjoyed an early morning swim in the small pool, ate a delicious Jamaican breakfast, and had a really helpful chat with Oliver the owner about our planned trip, and all things Jamaican. His guide book (Moon handbooks .. never seen in UK but comprehensive and much that is not in LP and RG, tho unfortunately not as up to date as our LP) has been a useful additional purchase since then. Had time to take a short taxi to the Bob Marley museum - unmissable - and walk to Devon House before heading for the hills.
Moon Hill was just what we needed; not flashy or over the top, but clean and well looked after, feeling perfectely safe and quiet as a Kingston stop. Would be fine for a few days stay, but needs taxis into town to see main sights.

Room Tip: We were the only guests that night, and were given the poolside room, which is separate (very lose t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkgox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2014

We have stayed at Moon Hill several times and love it. The setting is very quiet and the grounds are beautiful. The beds and rooms are very comfortable and we always get a good rest there. The house is nice (complete with music studio) but we never spend any time in it because the porch and the pool are our favorite spots. The breakfast is always good, I recommend the Jamaican breakfast and the honor system bar is well stocked and convenient. Your host, Oliver, has an unbelievable knowledge of Jamaica and Kingston (He is the author of the Moon Publishing guide to Jamaica, which is by far the best Jamaica guide out there.) and will happily give you suggestions on where to go and what to see. The location is convenient for navigating Kingston's crazy streets and is close to the main thoroughfares and shopping.

Room Tip: The pool house is our favorite room but is closer to the road so it may not be as quiet as rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank r0achcat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2014

The owner was chill and a great cook! It was relaxing and a great start to our trip. It felt like you were staying in a home and that was exactly what I needed and wanted. I would stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2014 via mobile

Moon Hill is a work in progress. The owner is the process of upgrading areas of the villa which is a job to be completed over time. This is not a luxury villa , but a clean, secluded option in Kingston. The owner is always around , great guy to chat with and he has extensive knowledge of Jamaica.

I stayed with a group of friends who occupied the entire villa so for us it was more of a communal stay which we enjoyed .

Bedrooms are nicely done, only one has a/c but we were fine using fans. The bathroom is old, shared with another room, we did have hot water problems but generally it was clean and adequate for the limited time we spent in the villa.

Location wise it's at the top of a hill with great views of Kingston especially at night. You will need a car to get out and about, the area seems to be a safe upper middle class residential community and there is remote controlled gate access to the villa .

The BEST thing about the villa is the chef who prepared all our meals to order, it was the most delicious food I've had in Jamaica.

Never used the pool , it lights up at night which is pretty cool.

I had a great stay at Moonhill as with all accomodation , do your research so you know what you are getting.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank IslandBabe18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoonHillJamaica, Owner at Moon Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Hi Johnny,

Thanks for taking the time to review your experience at Moon Hill.

The property is indeed a work in progress as you pointed out and I appologize for any inconvenience caused by the roughness around the edges, especially where the water situation impacted your experience.

In the months since your visit we have managed to sort out the hot water issue (after replumbing the entire villa) and it is working properly now in all rooms with electric hot water backup for when the sun doesn't shine enough to heat the solar heaters.

For the record, we have air conditioning in two rooms, the Master Suite and the Blue Room. Your party did not book the Master Suite so you wouldn't have noticed it there. Since your visit the A/C unit that was located in the Green Room, which shares a bathroom with the Yellow Room, has been relocated to the Blue Room whch has its own bathroom which makes more sense for the business and our guests.

We appreciate your praise related to the culinary experience. I will ensure the chef is apprised.

Best,
Oliver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
4.9 km away
Altamont Court Hotel Kingston
4.6 km away
Neita's Nest
Neita's Nest
#1 of 31 in Kingston
189 reviews
7.6 km away
Chester Avenue Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
897 reviews
13.9 km away
The Grand Port Royal Hotel
The Grand Port Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Royal
146 reviews
4.9 km away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#8 of 25 in Kingston
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Hill

Address: 5 Roedeen Close | Barbican Heights, Kingston, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range: €64 - €212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Moon Hill in Kingston, Jamaica :::Nestled in the Blue Mountain foothills on the edge of town, Moon Hill offers the ultimate home away from home in a comfortable hillside villa boasting spectacular views of Kingston, a private pool and expansive gardens. Whether you're a visiting executive with chronic hotel fatigue, a family looking to experience the most memorable vacation, a yoga instructor seeking the perfect retreat, or a producer or musician needing a luxurious base with easy access to the best of Kingston's music and entertainment industry, this four-bedroom villa is the only accommodation option of its kind. Coupled with personal concierge services to cover any need, Moon Hill offers its guests all-exclusive accommodation. Moon Hill is also a great stop-off point for those visiting other parts of Jamaica who fly into or out of Kingston, where a night or two at the start or end of a trip can give visitors a taste of the best the capital city, Jamaica's Heartbeat, has to offer! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moon Hill Hotel Kingston
Moon Hill Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing