We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
41
3
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
3
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2015

We were looking for a relaxed start to our holiday in Jamaica before heading to the Blue Mountains. The fairly short trip from NM airport to Moon Hill was fun with the driver who works with Oliver, and the quiet surroundings of the hotel on the outskirts of Kingston was perfect for a relaxed evening. The young guy who cooked our evening meal and looked after us was great, and the fish meals (we tried two different dishes) were superb. We enjoyed an early morning swim in the small pool, ate a delicious Jamaican breakfast, and had a really helpful chat with Oliver the owner about our planned trip, and all things Jamaican. His guide book (Moon handbooks .. never seen in UK but comprehensive and much that is not in LP and RG, tho unfortunately not as up to date as our LP) has been a useful additional purchase since then. Had time to take a short taxi to the Bob Marley museum - unmissable - and walk to Devon House before heading for the hills.
Moon Hill was just what we needed; not flashy or over the top, but clean and well looked after, feeling perfectely safe and quiet as a Kingston stop. Would be fine for a few days stay, but needs taxis into town to see main sights.

Room Tip: We were the only guests that night, and were given the poolside room, which is separate (very lose to house tho)and very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkgox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2014

We have stayed at Moon Hill several times and love it. The setting is very quiet and the grounds are beautiful. The beds and rooms are very comfortable and we always get a good rest there. The house is nice (complete with music studio) but we never spend any time in it because the porch and the pool are our favorite spots. The breakfast is always good, I recommend the Jamaican breakfast and the honor system bar is well stocked and convenient. Your host, Oliver, has an unbelievable knowledge of Jamaica and Kingston (He is the author of the Moon Publishing guide to Jamaica, which is by far the best Jamaica guide out there.) and will happily give you suggestions on where to go and what to see. The location is convenient for navigating Kingston's crazy streets and is close to the main thoroughfares and shopping.

Room Tip: The pool house is our favorite room but is closer to the road so it may not be as quiet as rooms in the main house.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank r0achcat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2014

The owner was chill and a great cook! It was relaxing and a great start to our trip. It felt like you were staying in a home and that was exactly what I needed and wanted. I would stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2014 via mobile

Moon Hill is a work in progress. The owner is the process of upgrading areas of the villa which is a job to be completed over time. This is not a luxury villa , but a clean, secluded option in Kingston. The owner is always around , great guy to chat with and he has extensive knowledge of Jamaica.

I stayed with a group of friends who occupied the entire villa so for us it was more of a communal stay which we enjoyed .

Bedrooms are nicely done, only one has a/c but we were fine using fans. The bathroom is old, shared with another room, we did have hot water problems but generally it was clean and adequate for the limited time we spent in the villa.

Location wise it's at the top of a hill with great views of Kingston especially at night. You will need a car to get out and about, the area seems to be a safe upper middle class residential community and there is remote controlled gate access to the villa .

The BEST thing about the villa is the chef who prepared all our meals to order, it was the most delicious food I've had in Jamaica.

Never used the pool , it lights up at night which is pretty cool.

I had a great stay at Moonhill as with all accomodation , do your research so you know what you are getting.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank IslandBabe18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoonHillJamaica, Owner at Moon Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Hi Johnny,

Thanks for taking the time to review your experience at Moon Hill.

The property is indeed a work in progress as you pointed out and I appologize for any inconvenience caused by the roughness around the edges, especially where the water situation impacted your experience.

In the months since your visit we have managed to sort out the hot water issue (after replumbing the entire villa) and it is working properly now in all rooms with electric hot water backup for when the sun doesn't shine enough to heat the solar heaters.

For the record, we have air conditioning in two rooms, the Master Suite and the Blue Room. Your party did not book the Master Suite so you wouldn't have noticed it there. Since your visit the A/C unit that was located in the Green Room, which shares a bathroom with the Yellow Room, has been relocated to the Blue Room whch has its own bathroom which makes more sense for the business and our guests.

We appreciate your praise related to the culinary experience. I will ensure the chef is apprised.

Best,
Oliver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I love this place. I felt so taken of and Germaine, the Chef and man of all talents was so helpful. The meals were amazing. He is truly talented in the food department. I felt really catered to. The staff went above and beyond to made me feel at home. The only thing is that my second and last night the dog was really loud and it was hard to go to bed. Other than that issue, it was amazing! The bed was comfortable. The room was clean and the vibe was all good. :) Thank you Moon Hill! I look forward to visiting again and must make it back for their famous pizza nights.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natural_Mystic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoonHillJamaica, Manager at Moon Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Roxanne,
Thank you very much for your review and for the high marks given our staff, the property and our culinary offering. Thanks also for pointing out the issue you experienced with the dogs. We apologize for the disturbance that negatively impacted your rest as a result of the dog barking at night. We have dogs on property as one of several overlapping security measures to ensure the safety of our guests, but we do our best to ensure this doesn't detract from the experience, and above all, sleep quality, as this is, after all, our core business. Unfortunately the dogs were positioned close to the house during your stay and this should not have been the case. We have since repositioned the dogs and as they should be free to roam the property after guests have gone to bed, I expect other guests won't be subjected to the same kind of disturbance. I have also asked the staff to be more attentive to such disturbances to ensure it doesn't negatively impact our guests' experience. Thanks again for your visit and for sharing your experience. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews