We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Our favorite Hotel on our Favorite Island””
Review of Hotel Amaudo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Amaudo
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Saint Francois
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2016

To quote Philippe, the owner, “There are no problems at the Hotel Amaudo”. I would go further than that and say, “The Hotel Amaudo is guaranteed Bliss!”

This is true not only because of its spectacular location but also because of the attentive service that anticipates and attends without waiting to be asked.

We arrived late at night, but were greeted by Philippe, who gave us the keys, explained a few basic things about the room and said anything else could wait until morning. And… what a morning! The sound of birds… Bright sunshine on a blue sea… and, from our balcony, a beautiful view of waves crashing against a cliff.

This view also formed the setting for a breakfast of warm croissants, pain au chocolate, rolls, fresh cut tropical fruits and a cup of coffee so large, it might better be described as a “bowl”. The coffee was richer than American coffee… more European… just like Guadeloupe. We realized THAT is why we love this Island… because it is still part of France, it feels very European. As if Provence blended with the Caribbean. The airport is modern. The highways are great. Everything is well maintained and manicured. And…. The food (and wine) is outstanding. Why wouldn’t it be? It’s French!

True bliss. Even when we were faced with what we thought of as a major problem… a flat tire on our way back from dinner. Back at the hotel, my husband opened the trunk of the car to retrieve the “spare.” There was NO spare. Just a can of “Fix-A-Flat” and instructions on its use. We tried this. It failed, resulting in nothing more than a puddle of white goop on the pavement. We retired to the room, where after several attempts, we finally managed to speak with Avis Roadside Service Guadeloupe. (FYI – There IS no “Avis roadside service” in Guadeloupe. In fact, a Google search revealed that as of last year, Avis stopped including it as part of their rentals; instead, they offer it as an extra cost option. Sadly, even this option is not offered in Guadeloupe.) The Avis representative told us… that in the morning, WE would have to call a towing service to pick up the car and return it to the airport. Then, WE would have to take a taxi to the airport to pick up a new car. And, WE would have to pay for all of this. The fact that the airport is 45 minutes away wasn’t the only problem. We were also expected to be on a boat at 7:30am for a snorkeling cruise to one of the out-islands.

But as mentioned in the beginning, Philippe said, “At the Hotel Amaudo, there are NO problems!” He had already seen the car and said he would take care of everything. He then called the snorkel boat and had them wait for us while he drove us to the marina.

When we returned from the cruise, Philippe was there to pick us up and return us to the hotel where our “new car” was waiting. He had handled everything including negotiating the payment (only 20 euros to repair the flat.)

So we recommend the Hotel Amaudo for the comfort of the room, the spectacular view, the delicious breakfast, the impeccable service and… the Bliss!

P.S. We absolutely DID have a second “bowl” of coffee.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor. We had room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
14  Thank Barrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2016

Yes, the view is absolutely breathtaking, and the grounds and pool are lovely. The owners are so welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was superb, but don't expect to be offered a second cup of coffee. The room (#1) was a disappointment compared to other similarly priced hotels we've stayed in the Carribbean and appeared to us to be in need of an update. Bed was comfortable. Hotel is in a remote location.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vagablondes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2016

The hotel Amaudo is a lovely, small hotel overlooking the ocean with a beautiful infinity pool, wonderfully appointed rooms with private terraces. The managers, Phillipe and Annie, are warm and welcoming. It is difficult to find at night as the roads ar very dark but once ther it is a bit of quiet paradise.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016

My husband and I are staying here this week. The hotel Amuado is situated in a quiet spot just outside St. François surrounded to the rear by beautifully kept gardens and with a stunning, uninterrupted view of the Caribbean Sea across to Dominica, Marie Gallante and The Saintes. The hotel is small and intimate. The rooms are a good size, well equipped and kept spotlessly clean, as is the rest of the property. The continental breakfast is a real treat taken overlooking the fabulous view. Philippe and Annie are wonderful hosts, kind and very helpful. I would definitely recommend staying here, in fact I would add an extra star for staying in a virtual paradise with such friendly hosts. Tip: you do need a car if you stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank gillrobinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

My husband and I are staying this lovely hotel this week. Our room is very quiet, spacious and comfortable with a king sized bed and beautifully appointed. The terrace overlooks the ocean and hillside and is private. Breakfast is delicious and includes yogurt , assorted rolls , croissant , jam , tropical fruits and juice. The coffee is great. Phillipe the owner speaks English and has been able to guide and direct us.

Stayed: April 2016
1  Thank stephaniegould77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francois
20.1 km away
La Creole Beach Hotel & Spa
2.4 km away
Le Relais du Moulin
Le Relais du Moulin
#3 of 8 in Sainte-Anne
132 reviews
9 km away
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Sainte-Anne
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
La Metisse
La Metisse
#2 of 8 in Saint Francois
261 reviews
13.3 km away
Hostellerie des Chateaux
Hostellerie des Chateaux
#3 of 8 in Saint Francois
231 reviews
21.6 km away
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
#2 of 23 in Le Gosier
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amaudo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amaudo

Address: Anse a la Barque, Saint Francois 97118, Guadeloupe
Region: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Grande-Terre Island > Saint Francois
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Saint Francois
Price Range: €128 - €204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amaudo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel AMAUDO , built in colonial style overlooks the bay "Anse à la Barque" situated at a short distance from the city center of Saint-François. Facing the sea and surrounded by well arranged gardens, this charming hotel is a haven of peace and comfort. The overflowing pool in front of the panoramic view invites you to relax and daydream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Amaudo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaudo Hotel St François
Hotel Amaudo Guadeloupe/Saint Francois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing