We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$194
TravelocityUS$194
CheapTicketsUS$194
Orbitz.comUS$194
TripadvisorUS$194
eDreams
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
116
144
42
15
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
116
144
42
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar instant coffee grand anse top floor rhum runner small hotel steep driveway hotel restaurant caribbean style small fridge small bay friendly hotel taxi driver air conditioned grocery store island crystal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Lovely place but hotel is substandard. I was amazed at the poor standard of both the rooms and the facilities.
If you are looking for a high Quality venue this is not the place. The hotel is dated to say the least but in reality beds furniture fridge bathroom were all of a poor standard.
The food was also poor with a very limited menu and anything other than fish and chicken was classed as premium and would attract an additional charge even if you have selected an all inclusive option as I made the error of doing.
The cost I paid exceeded previous trips on cruises and in 4/5 star venues in Europe .
While the people are lovely and very helpful service is slow at best and we would often spend up to an hour between courses.
The bar has no draught beers and the local bottled beer won’t be to everyone’s liking.
Bottled water is also classed as Premium along with whisky.
So in summary if you are happy to rough it go room only, our last day we were told there were no eggs or cheese for breakfast!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank M9377PVdavidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

General information: The Kalinago when reached by car/taxi is from a very steep drive down from the road – those with mobility issues will not manage either going up or down. However, just to one side of the car park going towards and beyond the Gem Apartments is a less steep but potholed road which is a lot more manageable. A 30/40 minute walk talks you to the Spiceland Mall with shops and a supermarket. This is ok in the daytime but quite dangerous because of the poor road condition in the dark.

On to my main review…….please don’t think that we whinge about places – we don’t, and if you read my other many reviews you will see that I am fair and tend to look on the bright side. The rooms were large and pleasant with a comfortable bed, nice toiletries in the bathroom and a full size fridge in the room, along with kettle, cups & a supply of tea/coffee which the housekeeping staff kept topped up daily. However, this holiday as far as the level of service was concerned was the worst we have ever encountered in our decades of travelling. Previous visits to Grenada have been spectacular and memorable but this one, sadly, will be remembered for all of the wrong reasons.

The Kalinago Hotel and its in-house Fedelis restaurant are located on Morne Rouge bay. Adjacent to the Kalinago & Fedelis Restaurant is the Sur La Mer beach bar & café (described as their sister restaurant) and at the rear and to the side of the Kalinago are the Gem Resort self-catering apartments.

Upon arrival the receptionist announced that we had been upgraded! The Kalinago has approximately 30 rooms – all with beach views and which, upon walking along the different floors and taking a peek when they were being cleaned we could see were the same size and contained the same facilities, furniture & fittings – so being told we had been upgraded when we had already booked a double room with sea view was rather puzzling.

When the receptionist took us to our room I asked about the safe in the room so that we could secure our passports, travel documents, camera, phone etc etc and we were told that it was a new safe and she would get someone to come and show us how it worked. We asked again later in the evening and were told it would then be the following day before she could get someone to look at it. The following morning we contacted reception by phone to remind them and after breakfast asked again only to be told to wait in our room and someone would come to us. When it became apparent that no one was going to come to us I Googled the safe and found the instructions myself in less than 5 minutes. At no time during our stay were we contacted to see if this had been satisfactorily resolved.

Dinner on the first evening was on the beach for the weekly BBQ. We were asked to take a seat at the bar, as a table was not available – all the bar tables had been removed and were all on the beach. After about half an hour we were approached by the waitress with a choice of main course – ribs, shrimp, chicken and fish. We chose ribs only to be told it was not available, followed by shrimp – also not available so opted for chicken. Still whilst sitting in the bar area, the starter (soup) was brought to us and we explained that we were waiting for a table. The waitress disappeared and we sat there waiting for her to return as she had not given us any cutlery. Twenty minutes later, by then the soup was cold, we were shown to a table. They tried to warm the soup up on the BBQ! Our main course arrived with, according to the waitress, “a bit of everything” on the plate. It was dark on the beach – not a candle or anything on the table and we could not see what we were eating and it just looked like a plate of slop – other than the chicken nothing else was distinguishable. We were offered dessert – red velvet cake (which was a frequent visitor to the evening menu) and “something with cherries”. I asked the waitress what “something with cherries” was and she went off to find out only to return with the reply that it was still “something with cherries” – I can only describe it as a pastry case filled with a pastry/crumble topping with tinned cherries poured on top – we shared our cutlery as only one spoon & fork had been left. We avoided the BBQ the following week and went to the restaurant at the top of the road.

Breakfast and dinner during the holiday were drawn out affairs and took in the region of 1.5 to 2 hours per sitting. Although all food at breakfast and dinner was freshly cooked it shouldn’t take that long and the restaurant rarely had more than 8 - 10 people to serve at any one time – so not really that busy. One evening there were only 4 diners including ourselves and on average 6 or 8 at breakfast.

Just to highlight some of the service issues:

When setting the tables the cutlery was handled by the blades of knives and tines of forks, rather than the handles.

If you ordered juice and asked for tea/coffee to be served after breakfast then the cups would be taken away. When you then asked for tea/coffee they didn’t seem to notice that the cups had disappeared and we had to ask for them to be returned.

We asked for fresh milk for our tea as Coffee Mate pots were put on the table. We were told they didn’t have any fresh milk.

When we went to select cereal from the side table we had to ask for bowls as there were none, followed quickly by milk (fresh!) as the carton was empty.

The toast would arrive without butter and jam and there wasn’t always a side plate or additional cutlery!

The butter when available was frozen solid – it was cut into tiny portions and then wrapped by hand in silver foil – sometimes it was just on a plate – no foil!

Halfway through the holiday we were given a plate of fruit at breakfast and we pointed out to the waitress that we hadn’t ordered fruit – only to be told that it was part of the standard breakfast – it was hit and miss as to whether we had fruit for the rest of our stay.

We ordered a pot of tea for two – it came in a single pot and had to ask for another pot so that we could both have a cup.

Another time we asked for a pot of tea and 40 minutes later we were still waiting – when it arrived it had been left standing somewhere to go cold.

Both the breakfast and dinner menus detailed prices for the various items/courses – we thought it was somewhat unusual given that we were hotel guests on half board basis.

The dinner menu consisted of soup, a choice of two appetizers, 4 main courses (no vegetarian selection) and one or two deserts. What did surprise us was that the staff never pointed out at the time of ordering, that a surcharge was applicable to some main course selections – one evening two out of the four selections had a surcharge applied to them.

There was an all day menu but all items ordered from this in the Fedelis Restaurant were subject to a 20% surcharge.

I enquired what the fish was for the main course and was told tuna – which I ordered, only to be told a few minutes later that it was ?? that had a lot of bones in it. This happened on two consecutive nights and I never really got to know what the other fish was that contained a lot of bones!

Sometimes there was a bread roll with the evening meal and sometimes not – likewise butter.

My husband had finished eating and they cleared his plate away and tidied the table leaving me to carry on with my meal.

On another occasion we had both finished our main course and we were asked if everything had been ok – it had – so they left the empty plates on the table and walked off.

All meals on a Thursday were to be taken at their sister restaurant next door (Sur La Mer – see separate review).

Upon leaving the restaurant at Fidelis (and Sur La Mer) a bill had to be made out with a zero balance and signed for - on a few occasions they tried to charge us until we pointed out that we were guests at the Kalinago on half board a breakfast. Towards the end of the holiday the staff were sarcastic about this.

We were there for two weeks and the dinner menu only varied slightly on the second week so quite a repetitive offering.

Generally the food was good but the service absolutely dreadful. The staff were pleasant and chatty but not interested or engaged in what they were doing or providing any customer service. It’s not as though they were rushed off their feet either. Mealtimes on the whole were a challenge as there wasn’t one meal or one day when everything just went ok.

Other behavior that we witnessed…..
One of the maintenance team having an argument on his mobile phone whilst walking across the lawned area at the front of the hotel using excessive bad language.
The bar manager brushing his teeth behind the bar and using the sink there.
After dark we witnessed two individual members of staff urinating in the grounds/lawned area at the front.
This is a family hotel and whether the guests are adults or children this is not acceptable behavior.

In all our years of travelling we were extremely disappointed - so much so that when we met with the rep (Mr. Edwin Frank) at the end of our first full day (following the fiasco of the BBQ and a long and drawn out breakfast and a failure to assist us with the room safe) we asked if he could please look into us moving to another hotel – one that we had stayed in previously. I stressed that whatever the outcome, we did not wish to be singled out by the staff under any circumstances, should we decide to remain at the Kalinago. As our request took place over a weekend and he had to use the emergency phone number and discuss with the Kalinago manager and the hotel suggested by us, once we were informed of the cost – a forfeit of three nights at the Kalinago and a slightly different board basis at a different hotel we deemed the cost of almost 1600 US dollars to be completely prohibitive. After our last meeting with the rep on day 3 (when he told the cost of moving) he introduced us to the manager/owner of the Kalinago, who just happened to be about, and who just shook our hand and said “hello”. I appreciate that we didn’t want to be singled out but she didn’t even acknowledge our concerns to say that she was sorry to hear of our disappointment, or words to that effect, absolutely nothing. Furthermore, the manager of the Kalinago according to her business card is Resort Manager and Sales Rep at the Gem Holiday Beach Resort so I guess that there is a three way including the Sur La Mer also which may possibly account for the lack of service there and the waitresses sometimes working at both restaurants.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank GregoryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

Room just ok. Poor lighting. Very small beds made it impossible to sleep in same bed with my husband.Broken door lock made it extremely difficult to enter room. Reception friendliness just so so. Mostly unhelpful. Restaurant had terrible service and even worse food. There were six in our party. Lunch took 1 hour to arrive. Dinner was atrocious and worse than lunch. 5 of 6 dinners came out at the same time but sixth came out as everyone else was finishing. Bar tender at pool unfriendly and walked by us multiple times to serve local patrons who came up after us. Never again.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank H97FAclairec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

I stayed at the sister resort Gem next door but ate at the restaurant twice during my stay because Chef Sheldon was that great. He could be at any 5 Star restaurant. He made us special dishes to suit our vegetarian diet and his flavors were so well balanced. He truly cooks with love. We got a chance to speak with him and he expressed how much he loves creating in the kitchen and goes above and beyond making people happy. He is a great asset to ANY establishment. Also a special shout out to Kalinago manager Jalil for making us feel at home and welcomed (he’s also a great disc jockey. He played a wide selection of music for the guests listening pleasure in the evenings).

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank simone g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

Breakfast at Kalinago Beach Resort.
Here for the Pure Grenada Music Festival 2018 and my day starts well. Friendly and professional service with smiles all around.
#PureGrenada
#PGMF2k18
#Grenada
Shot with my #SamsungNote8

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank J7265CPdavidw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews