We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Atlantis(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$476
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Aligio Aparthotel & Spa(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
US$171
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas(Santa Barbara de Samana)
US$123
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$401
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,275)
Filter reviews
4,275 results
Traveller rating
2,166
1,424
461
139
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,166
1,424
461
139
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain poolsnack barmain buildinga la carte restaurantsanimation teambuffet restaurantseafoodjacuzzi poolbacardi islandevery hourtwo weeksdominican republicsamana townspaghettifirst choicegrand bahialower pool
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 4,275 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2018

We spent Christmas there and loved every minute. The first time we walked out to the main pool and looked and the view it was more breathtaking then the pictures. The town of Samana to the left with boats and a cruise ship in the distance, the long bridge you can walk, and the beach below. When you go to the other side it's a whole different world and just as beautiful.
We had a suite in the villas below and our view, for us was like being at our cottage. The quiet pools below are lovely and we liked that you could move around the resort (also no chair problems everywhere we went) and enjoy it for different reasons. The property is well maintained and the food very good.
The beach is nice, but If you are looking for a long white beach to walk this resort is not for you and would suggest the Grand Bahia El Portillo also in Samana. We have also stayed there. The Two resorts can not be compared as they are beautiful for different reasons. We loved this one for its rugged atmosphere and we cant say enough about the wonderful staff and all they did to make our stay awesome. We truly cant decide which one we are going back to with our friends next February.

Room Tip: Possibly the villas where we stayed below could be a mobility issue for some but they do have carts to bring you up to the main area.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank Erlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Dear Guest,

First of all, please receive greetings from the Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa. We would like to thank you for trusting and recommending Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa.

We are grateful for your comments regarding your recent stay with us and appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback. It is always a pleasure to receive comments from our guests; they will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. The entire Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa team is very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. 

We would be delighted to welcome you again at Samaná.

Best regards,

Rachel castro Lorenzo
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

First of all, we had great weather. Even if it does rain, which it did most days, it lasts 5 minutes. It is difficult to find any fault with this resort. Our group of 12 has gone on annual Christmas trip for 10 years and we ranked this resort #1. We loved the location and size of the hotel. It is a smaller resort, which allows for a relaxed, easy going, yet fun environment. The hotel staff is the heart of this resort. You can't be taken care of any better. They are professional, welcoming and willing to make sure you are happy. You never have to rush for a pool chair, as there are so many pool options. The animation staff is superb. They get you involved and hit just the right amount of activities so as to let you chill and read and enjoy the sun. The single buffet has a wonderful variety to choose from. The chef has a theme each night, so you taste buds never get bored. The food quality is very good. Rooms are spacious, though bathrooms are small, but very clean and well maintained. The location is beautiful, and offers many vantage points to enjoy. The views can be enjoyed from the outdoor and covered patio's where you can lounge and enjoy a wide variety of cocktails, out of real glass, or enjoy great coffee and tea from the coffee bar. The beach is small and if you are looking for white sandy beaches as a priority and wish to walk for miles, then this is not the place for you. There is a beach, where many people enjoy the activities or just swim and sun. We really enjoyed the change from the usual "beach" resort. The exercise facility is very well equipped and if you a road runner, it is a quick run to town where there is a path along the water to enjoy. The nightly entertainment was good, good variety. If you are looking for a place to party to 2 am each day, this is also not the resort for you. The disco is open from 11-?, but because of the size of the hotel, don't expect to party with 100 people. The main bar does close at 11 PM, so you have to get your drinks from the disco, which is about 2 minutes away. It is inconvenient and does not have selection of drinks and if one change could be made, it would be to keep the main bar open to 12. This is a well run and very enjoyable resort, and the other guest we talked to all experienced and spoke very highly of their stay.

Room Tip: View looking out to main pool
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Brent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your nice comments about the Hotel and we hope that you have had a nice trip back home.
We really appreciate your comments because we want to be better everyday and work to satisfy our guest needs, and we hare so happy, because we did it with you.

Best regards,

Rachel castro Lorenzo
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

very clean place ,room was excellent ,animation best team etertainment,
restaurants staff plus Chefs in galley 5 stars
New Year Eve was very weel organized
Really appreciated all staff and general manager

Room Tip: ocean view
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gabi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Dear Guest:

Thanks so much for your nice opinion about your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa.

Warm regards,

Rachel castro Lorenzo
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

As a Toronto couple we spent the week covering New Years and just returned Sunday 7 Jan 18. The property boasts a stupendous view of the bay on one side and the glitter of small town on the other. The layout was probably executed by a genius architect, the property itself being built on a scenic atoll probably a hundred or more feet high with extensive , steep stairways linking the villas, apartments, pools and gourmet restaurants. The large outdoor pool stands as if suspended in the middle of the property and truly a pleasant spectacle. Gourmet restaurants are located in scenic spots overlooking shimmering waves. The hundred or so foot drop to the beach in the elevator is a lifetime experience.
Staff: Probably the most pleasant , thoughtful and accommodating I have ever experienced.
Special touches: Meals upon arrival, New years Lobster bash, Whole scooped pineapple treat at the pool, fruit basket on our wedding anniversary,
buffet at the beach.

The gourmet restaurants served up with pomp and style, I would give it 3.5/5

Negatives: The big one was the poor quality and taste of the buffet offering at the Las Dalias, This would not have been a big issue except for the fact you are constrained to eat at least 18 meals in a week at this place and if the food aint good I aint happy. This restaurant earns a 2.5.
Next is the miniscule beach, actually misrepresented in their map to show a wraparound but actually only a 250 meter stretch that can be covered in a couple of minutes. Nightly shows are Ok and nothing to rave about. Gym was very basic with a few machines thrown in here and there. Lost hot water and pressure for 3 days. Tech told us to run the taps for 15 minutes- like we had the time.!

I rate this resort 3.5 overall if only for the low quality of buffet food and the tiny beach.

Room Tip: Choose ocean view unless you like the bustle and lights of the nearby town
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank tmdsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Cordial greetings from all the team working in Grand Bahía Príncipe Cayacoa; we would like to thank you for taking the time to communicate the impressions of your vacation with our Tripadvisor community. It is clear that our customers are the most important, naturally so are their comments. Observations are treated with the utmost interest, as it is the best way to know what specific points we must focus our attention on to improve in all aspects

Similarly, we would like apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced in our facilities.

Best regards,

Rachel Castro Lorenzo
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

My wife and I spend three nights at the Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa and then four nights at the Luxury Bahia Principe Samana. Both places were wonderful but I will focus on the Grand Cayacoa here. We stayed in building 20 which is farthest from the main building and although people talk about the stairs they only take a few minutes and provide a bit of well needed exercise while eating so much great food We also enjoyed the quiet pool and beach in this area of the resort. The bridge to know-where is also a fun walk. We did not try the Italian restaurant but the other two were excellent. The house wine is not great, but bottles for sale are not expensive. We thought the breakfast and lunch in the main buffet had lot's of choice and good food.
The staff in all areas were wonderful, very friendly and professional. I would completely recommend this hotel for a great experience.

Stayed: December 2017
8  Thank assisttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the staff of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, we would like to thank you for your nice comments.

We are glad to see that we have gotten your satisfaction and hope to see you again in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Best regards,
Rachel castro Lorenzo
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews