We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2017

The staff here is very welcoming and helpful however we did have a few issues. When I placed our reservations for a sea view room it stated queen or king sized bed. It still states queen or king sized beds when booking. When we got there we were told only queen sized beds face ocean view? Not acceptable but we didn't argue. The hot water is not very hot, the food at Cafe de la Mar is subpar but the Dominican breakfast was delicious. I would love to return but I would need a king size bed and plenty of hot water. Other than that the hotel and grounds are well kept and the staff is just wonderful and very helpful. There was a power outage soon after we arrived and we were about to all be moved to another hotel in Samana but to be honest we did not want to leave the hotel is just so lovely. The power was restored shortly but it was an opportunity to gaze up at the stars without any light pollution! We were offered complimentary massages the next day for the inconvenience. Special thanks to Mercedes for taking the time to take to us about the activities in the surrounding area.
Sally

Room Tip: The bay view rooms are the only way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sc0nde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2017

Pros:
* nice facilities, beautiful rooms, well equipped kitchenette
* beautiful infinity pool, nice tennis courts
* nice breakfast (a-la-crate)

Cons:
Basically- the service.
also wi-fi and reception issues

regarding the service - we stayed there during low season, and the hotel was literally empty. Even so, and even though we mentioned in the reservation that we are on our honeymoon, they didn't put us in a room with an ocean view, which was a bit disappointing, but still OK. At first we found out that the room we were given doesn't have any wI-fi, nor any cellphone reception. The receptionist said that it's a well known problem and basically they only promise wi-fi in the lobby (!), and that she could ask to put an extension near our room that might help. Never happened.
In the evening I wanted to take a shower, but there was no hot water at all, nothing. We called the reception and were told they would send someone from maintenance right away. He came after 45 minutes just to turn on the water to see there is no hot water. long story short- we waited for 2 hours (!!!!) until taking lukewarm showers, with no apology, no exchanging rooms (mentioning that it is "probably" like this is all of the rooms, nor any promise for a compensation.
The next day, we complained to the reception manager and he changed our room and gave us a complimentary massage. the new room also had wi-fi and reception (so why not giving us that room in the begging??). There were some other minor issues with the service, but overall these were the main issues.
Eventually it was OK, too bad it took so much time, it could have been solved a lot earlier and with less hard feelings.

Room Tip: there are rooms with wi-fi and reception (those that are above the lobby), ask to move there if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shira G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

We stayed at the marina, but we could use the pool. The best infinity pool we have ever been. For sure we will return. Actually can't wait. next time we will also stay in the hotel. Anyway I recommended even just to stop and look the view.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank VaniZsuzsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations M, Reservations Manager at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing us as a destination.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Marina. Thank you for taking the time to post your review about our facilities.

We hope to have your visit next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

The complete place is very nice place.
The Penthouse have an amazing view of the Samana Bay.
Maybe a Jacuzzi at least will be great to have in the apartment for that amount of money.
The Marina is AMAZING!!!!!!!!!

US$ 650.00 dollars of TAX for four nights trip is really too much.

The amenities and the tours people were very helpful.
DEFINITELY I'LL COME BACK TO THIS PLACE AND RECOMMEND THE PLACE TO ANYBODY WHO WANT TO SPEND A VERY NICE AND QUIET TIME.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Enmanuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administration T, Gerente at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Dear guest:
Thank you very much for your comments, they help us a lot to improve.
please come again, we will be glad to sirve you.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

this was more of a quiet hotel if you want to get away and have some peace and relaxation I def recommend breakfast was very good and the pools they have near by are so pretty an infinity pool at a restaurant that's a3 minute from the hotel
clean rooms and quiet

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beznsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administration T, Gerente at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Dear guest:
Thank you for your comments, they mean a lot to us. Please come again anytime, we'll be happy to serve you.


Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Samana Province hotels
11.5 km away
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
#1 of 1 in Punta Balandra
160 reviews
26.6 km away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
466 reviews
24.8 km away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 35 in Las Terrenas
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 km away
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas
#1 of 3 in Santa Barbara de Samana
110 reviews
19.6 km away
Villa Serena Hotel
Villa Serena Hotel
#1 of 4 in Las Galeras
196 reviews
8.8 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club

Address: Carretera Sanchez-Samana, KM 5 | Carretera Sanchez-Samana Km5, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Samana Province
Price Range: €100 - €324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the mountains and the sea, The Bannister Hotel is a wonderful retreat in the Caribbean. This stunning hotel is a member of the elite collection Small Luxury Hotels of the World, focusing on good taste, high quality, tranquility and splendor. It features 30 finely-decorated suites with outstanding views, along with a variety of amenities and impeccable service.Leave your worries behind, let the warm breeze fill you with tranquility, and enjoy a place which will fulfill your needs and indulge your desires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing