We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2017

The Bannister ended up being a great stay for my girlfriend and I. We stayed for five nights and were impressed by The Bannister from the moment we checked in. Upon arrival from our two hour drive from Santo Domingo Airport, we were greeted by a very nice young man, who introduced me by name and was quick to assist with our bags. The entrance to the hotel contains no doors, and offers full views and fresh sea breeze right off the bay from the moment you enter.. To say we felt relaxed from the moment we stepped out of the taxi would be an understatement. We were greeted quickly by the front desk manager, who welcomed us and asked us to sit in these great big chairs while she prepared our forms for check in. Although we arrived prior to check in time,the front desk manager explained that she would be able to have us in a room within 30 minutes or less, which was great. As soon as we were finished with the check in process, we were greeted by a bar tender with a tray of two colorful drinks, which my girlfriend and I enjoyed overlooking the marina.. What a great way to pass the time while waiting for a room. After just 20 minutes, our room was in fact ready and we were able to go to the room.
Once our room was ready, the very nice gentleman who had assisted with our bags from the taxi, also lead us to our room.. Upon arrival to our room, we were surprised to find a lovely fresh fruit platter, which the front desk manager had sent to the room as a gift. A really great touch and something we found so thoughtful. Our room had been much more than I had anticipated upon booking.. Not only did we have the seating area which I had requested, but also a kitchen/dining area. The bedroom and living area both had separate sliding doors which lead out onto the balcony, which became one of our favorite spots to relax and enjoy the sea views.. First thing we were sure to do was enjoy the fruit platter on the balcony. The room was overall perfect. The living area became great for afternoon naps, while the bedroom was comfy and quiet for sleeping. The bathroom had a great shower, but I will agree with some other comments that the water could be a bit warmer. In regards to the service of the rooms, the housekeepers truly did a great job of cleaning and turn down service. Each day we would come back to find little things done by the housekeepers such as; organizing our shoes or hanging our bathing suits to dry.. Little details which meant so much.
The dining options which the hotel offered were also great, and really so much because of the great staff! Breakfast is included for guests, and offers some simple, but filling options to start the day. Cafe Del Mar is an excellent spot, located right on the bay by the pool. It was great for a lite bite during the day and full meals at night. The service at Cafe Del Mar also included pool side service, which was really a great addition. Restaurant Supervisor Juan Miguel and his team were always there to offer a drink or food or towel, while lounging by the pool. Elena, who my girlfriend and I became very friendly with, was always attentive to our needs and made sure I always had a great margarita! One of the most impressive moments with Elena, was when she noticed my girlfriend did not want to sit in the sun anymore, and came outside to open the umbrella for her.. Thats not just service, thats great hospitality. The Italian restaurant which sits at the main hotel offered some great food options as well. We typically made this our dinner spot, as it offers a larger menu, and prosecco by the glass, which I enjoyed with dinner. Over all, the food options were great, but the restaurant service and hospitality were even better. My girlfriend and I really got to know the great staff, and being member of the restaurant industry ourselves, we really respected these individuals. We owe a huge thank you to Juan Miguel, Elena, Juan, Enrique, William and all of the other restaurant staff who made our experience at The Bannister unforgettable.
Overall, we had such a great experience at The Bannister and in DR.. It is thanks to the great people who take service and hospitality to a new level. It is a place I would certainly return to.

Room Tip: Rooms with Bay views are beautiful to wake up to and watch sunset from
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KenKeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administration T, La Administración at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive opinion on TripAdvisor following your recent meeting in The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club.

We are pleased to read that you had a lovely stay, and that you enjoyed our services and facilities.

We work hard to create positive experiences for our customers with optimum services and facilities in order to make an unforgettable stay for you, and we are really happy to know that it was accomplished with you.

We would like to thank you for your kind words towards our colleagues. They will be happy to know your good comments towards their work.

We hope you have the opportunity to return and fully enjoy our Hotel in the near future.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Samaná!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2017

Samana is beautiful enough in itself, but this hotel is a prime jewel. Excellent conditions, big rooms, decent price, wonderful food (in 3 separate restaurants), great service, and a gorgeous Marina. It's my place to stay during my future business and family trips to Samana.

Room Tip: any room of the upper floor with a Marian view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marcopolo230170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administration T, La Administración at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive opinion on TripAdvisor following your recent meeting in The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, your opinion is very much valued.

We really appreciate your comments regarding our facilities and our service, it helps a lot to keep improving and striving day by day to continue offering the best of us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Samaná in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

The hotel views aré amazing. The rooms are very nice with a living área and a kichenette.
There is not hot water in the bathroom, just warm water
The staff is also very nice and attentive. The things that didn't work were the wifi, and the evening restaurant.
The pool área is beautiful and has a nice restaurant. And the location is great

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administration T, La administración at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Thank you for sharing your positive opinion on TripAdvisor following your recent meeting in The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club.

We are pleased to read that you had a lovely stay, and that you enjoyed our services and facilities.

On the other hand, we would like to apologize due to your comment about the hot water and the wifi. We have taken note of it, and we will ensure that it does not happen again, as it is not the image or service we want to give to our customers. We strive to offer exceptional service and experiences and we are disappointed this was not the case on this occasion with this points.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Samaná!

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed three nights on a long weekend. This is a beautiful hotel, on the edge of the water, with a marina right in front. The scenery of the place is pretty on its own, with the green tropical hills on the back and the blue bay on the front.

The hotel has ample, open spaces, high ceilings and clean decor on the lobby area. Rooms are pretty spacious and confortable, all of them with views of the bay. Our boat tours to see the whales and Cayo left from the marina, so there was no need to move elsewhere.

The breakfast and the food from the two other restaurants were just ok, nothing extraordinary, but at least we had choices. One thing that just didn't work was the wifi signal, neither in the rooms nor in the lobby area where the router is located. It only worked about 10% of the time.

Customer service was good. Specially thankful to the manager mr. Wellington who solved a small problem with the laundry very efficiently.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administration T, La Administración at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review of our property. We are pleased to read that you had a lovely stay, and that you enjoyed our services and facilities.

Please, accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the wifi and the laundry service.

We will look into the issues that you have mentioned in an attempt to correct and improve them.

Thank you for your kind words towards Mr. Wellington, which was pleased to assist you during your stay.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review of our property, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Samaná!

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Wonderful location outstanding views and great accommodation. This is a lovely tranquil location away from the chaos of Samana. What stops the hotel getting the higher award is the food offering in the Evening. The resort pool bar does a lunch menus all day. The Italian Separately run from the hotel has a good menu but is really only competent to cook take away pizza. Some folks waited over 90 mins for a main course checked the kitchen to see what the delay was and left hungry.

Room Tip: Top floor sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DominicanBillyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administration T, La Administración at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review of our property. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the views and the accomodation.

On the other hand, we regreat to read that the restaurant service did not live up to your expectations , please accept my most sincere apologies.

Your comments are very much valued and we take note of all of them to certainly address this internally and investigate the reason why this happened.

We hope you can give us a second chance and come back to visit us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Samana Province hotels
11.5 km away
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
#1 of 1 in Punta Balandra
160 reviews
26.6 km away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
466 reviews
24.8 km away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 35 in Las Terrenas
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 km away
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas
#1 of 3 in Santa Barbara de Samana
110 reviews
19.6 km away
Villa Serena Hotel
Villa Serena Hotel
#1 of 4 in Las Galeras
196 reviews
8.8 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club

Address: Carretera Sanchez-Samana, KM 5 | Carretera Sanchez-Samana Km5, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Samana Province
Price Range: €100 - €323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the mountains and the sea, The Bannister Hotel is a wonderful retreat in the Caribbean. This stunning hotel is a member of the elite collection Small Luxury Hotels of the World, focusing on good taste, high quality, tranquility and splendor. It features 30 finely-decorated suites with outstanding views, along with a variety of amenities and impeccable service.Leave your worries behind, let the warm breeze fill you with tranquility, and enjoy a place which will fulfill your needs and indulge your desires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing