We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Stunning!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning!!!”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The few downsides the place has are easily palatable when you take into account what you're getting. Personally, I would pay for the views and the scenery alone....it's that beautiful. Staff is extremely warm and friendly. Buffet is typical resort fare....different theme every night, and by night two you'll have learned your way around it (tips: red meat and chicken is ALWAYS overdone, but fish and pasta was consistently tasty). My companions loved the almost nightly caviar and Sushi as well. Nightly entertainment was blah but changed nightly. Good luck getting a reservation at one of the various "theme" restaurants. Breakfast was predictable and never varied although you had a large selection to choose from. Room service is an hour and a half wait and ice could be longer. In the spa we underwent a strange couples procedure where I was covered in coconut and she was covered in chocolate, followed by massages, and we ended up "resting" on separate water beds in a tranquility room and we were given some of the best tea I've ever had. They have an "aquatic sports" hut right on the private beach where you can use various water vehicles....also if you want a lounger on the beach you better get there early, otherwise just pick up a handful of readily available towels and find you some sun. Laundry service is spotty....I received laundry back in a few hours whereas my brother's took 48, so expect the unexpected. Just remember when you go to the Dominican, you are in "Dominican time"....a Dominican minute is an hour, a Dominican hour is a day, and so on. It takes a day or two to really embrace this concept but once you do, you'll want to spend a Dominican eternity here

Room Tip: We stayed in Deluxe Superior and it was one of the most beautiful views I've ever had in a resor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hookemfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,143
    713
    188
    69
    33
See reviews for
512
3,883
47
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,349)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Wow ! Where do I start ? , me and my husband have just come back from our honeymoon on the island , it truly is paradise !! Couldn't fault a single thing ! The service was amazing !! U finish a drink its topped up ! U need anything it's fetched for u ! , we were treated like royalty, we stayed in villa 6 which was perfect distance from the pools and the lobby , but where ever ur room is u can dial 0 on the phone to call a cab to pick u up , we r gutted that we didn't go for 2 weeks I really wish we had ! Food was amazing ! Something for everyone , Defo go to Bacardi beach it's the public beach but Ul be amazed by the views !! , the gardeners work hard all day sweeping leaves to keep everything looking perfect and the rooms are cleaned every day and turned down at night and small sweets and chocolates were left on our bed , if u have the chance to go here make sure u go !! U will not regret it !! Enjoy every second of an amazing holiday :-)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Newlywedskendrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
250 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We just returned from our second stay in the resort. Like in the first time, everything was just perfect there. We cannot complain about anything from the GBP side. The resort is really nice, people working there very professional and very friendly.
We only have few comments to some guests.
1) Dress code for dinner - we think it is too bad that in 5* resort some guests do not care about this and dress like to beach or to some occasion we cannot define or understand. This is a bit damaging dinner atmosphere for all.
2) Hygiene - we mentioned that many guests did not use sanitizers which were available at each entrance to the buffet restaurant. This is not good, especially when you can see that some guests do not choose food by eyes only but like to touch everything they can.
3) Towel reservation and use of sun beds. The resort says that it is not allowed to reserve sun beds, but we could see that many guests do that. We also experienced that some guests use more than one sun bed in the same time. Why is this accepted?

Even if the resort is quite small, we managed to walk over 120 km during our every morning walks there. The area is very beautiful there and for us from Northern Europe it was like walking in real tropical paradise.
We recommend this resort for everybody who wants to escape from stressful working days and wants to enjoy relaxing vacation. This is the place to go!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kleopetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We travelled to GBP Cayo Levantado wk of Feb 9-13 with our 2 kids (9&8). The resort was beautiful and lush. Our rooms were fantastic! We were in Villa 1 (close to the buffet, reception and evening entertainment. They brought in 2 single beds for the girls (at no extra charge) and we had a king and we still had loads of space. The balcony was huge and we had a sliver of an ocean view. I'm sure the rooms on the top floor would have had better views.
 
The food was probably the best we've had on vacation. There was lobster on the buffet even!!  The quiet beach was nice, a bit seaweedy, but  calm and clear. We missed the long walks on the beach like in Punta Cana. But the view was amazing looking at the mainland of DR. 
 
The service was overall really good, they treated the girls really well and they had a blast!! The drinks were amazing as well. They actually had Bailey's !!  It's a smaller, quieter resort. But there were more families there than I had expected - which was nice. The pools were amazing - so clean and well maintained.
 
We didn't do the whale tour (lucky for us as it was really rough and apparently most everyone was sea sick!), but we did the Los Haitses trip. It was an great day on the water and exploring caves. The kids had a blast!!
 
We didn't get a chance to check out the spa or tennis...
 
There were a few negative points (very small negative points)
 
1. The rooms were really, really, dull. Even with all the lights on and curtains open it was still dull. Hard to see in closet and to try and find items in the safe.  More lighting definitely needed!
 
2. check in was unorganized. on the shuttle to the dock from the airport we filled in our registration sheets and rec'd our bracelets. But when we got off the shuttle the baggage handling was really unorganized, we weren't sure what to do - a lot of confusion.
 
2. when we arrived at the resort from the ferry, again more confusion regarding where to go, would our luggage follow?
 
3. We made our reservations for the a la carts on Monday afternoon as we didn't arrive until late afternoon Sunday. By then most of the reservations had been taken up for the week and were only able to get late times (they were too late for the girls who were exhausted by 8:00!) If we go back I"m going to try and book the restaurants in advance. The buffet was amazing though, and we usually aren't buffet types!
 
I could go on and on, but overall we had an excellent week and would highly recommend GBP Cayo Levantado!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chaka11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I cannot stress enough the wonderful service we received. The staff were so friendly and helpful, no problem communicating in English, We would highly recommend this resort and will look forward ourselves to a return visit.

Room Tip: We had a villa with only 3 units. It was private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NancyS219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samana Province
35.4 km away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
438 reviews
79.2 km away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 110 in Punta Cana
3,875 reviews
100.8 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
106.0 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
102.3 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
0.0 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#2 of 60 in Samana Province
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Address: | Bahia de Samana, Isla de Cayo Levantado, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Samana Province
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
#1 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pools 3 Jacuzzis with bar Large sun terrace and gardens with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 1 tennis court Motorised water sports (additional charge) Store Heliport WiFi access in the lobby and in rooms (free of charge) Main buffet-style restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 4 Bars Cocktail Lounge Snack-bar Wedding gazebo Rooms 268 rooms including 5 types Superior, Junior Suite, Superior Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite and Beach Villas. Superior Junior Suites, Deluxe Junior Suites and Beach Villas are larger than the Junior Suite and Superior. Room facilities: King size four poster bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with desk Balcony or terrace Fully-equipped marble bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, separate shower, bidet, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Telephone in bathroom Don Pablo Collection amenities Bathrobe and slippers Radio alarm clock with iPod docking station Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Flat screen satellite TV Safe Mini-bar with alcoholic drinks Wifi Coffee-making facilities Ironing set 24 hour room service Evening downturn service Outdoor Jacuzzi (Deluxe Junior Suites) Butler service Pillow menu Aroma menu Beach Villas: Seafront location with outdoor Jacuzzi, pillow menu available on request, baggage unpacking and ironing service, laundry service (optional) Other services Medical and pharmacy service (additional charge for both) Stores in the hotel Heliport and private boat (available on request for an additional charge) Mainland reception and transfer by boat (included in the booking fee) Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Booking.com, Expedia and TravelUp so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Hotel
Cayo Levantado Samana
Cayo Levantado Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Cayo Levantado Hotel Samana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing