We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Ranked #45 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We are at the Catalina royal bravo during the hurricane the way we are being looked after is exceptional.We have had food and drinks brought to our rooms and staff on call at all times to deal with any problems can't praise the staff and management enough with the way they have everything organised.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank smiffy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Gerente at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and for your review. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We will share your comments with everyone. This is your home and we hope to welcome you back anytime soon.

Best regards.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 101 of 6,024 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017

I am years late in writing this review but better late than never.

We visited this resort in June and had excellent vacation. Lots of restaurant to choose from and plenty of activities to keep busy.

There was some sea weed but hotel staff cleans daily.

it was good vacation.

Stayed: October 2016
1  Thank Scorpions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Gerente at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are glad to know that you had a great stay with us back in the days and that you enjoyed our friendly service. We encourage you to visit us again to see all the improvements we have. This is your home and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

A solid 4 out of 5.

This place has the potential to be a 5 out of 5 but there are some major things which gives it a solid 4. (I'm not over exaggerating the bad)

Let's start with the bad:

- SOME staff (a small minority) are extremely rude. I have never stayed at a resort (let alone 5* resort) and encountered staff as rude as these. Not only do they talk about you in Spanish while looking at you, it's also obvious they're saying bad things about you. This is not paranoia as I've spoken to a few people that have encountered this too. Some even laugh about you while pointing at you. Not only is this very unprofessional at work, it is extremely rude. example: a bartender (I won't mention her name) rolled her eyes, sighed, pointed at me and said something in Spanish to her colleague (who then looked at me and laughed) when I asked her for a non-alcoholic pina colada. I then had to wait 5 mins for it (pina coladas are ready from the dispensing machine).

- the language barrier is very bad here (I don't mind this) but what annoys me is that the staff EXPECT you to know Spanish. when you say 'sorry, no espanol, just english', they sigh and give you a dirty/shocked look. Some even continue to talk to you in Spanish - which doesn't make sense to me because I told you I don't speak Spanish.

- if you're expecting this hotel to have the 'beautiful infamous Bavaro beach' then you will be disappointed. I didn't mind the beach but it didn't blow me away (I much preferred the 'infinity' pool).

THE GOOD:

- majority of the staff are extremely friendly and nice - always greeting and serving you with a smile on their face. Special mention to Santa (kind hearted lady who always makes sure you have a drink in hand - thanks for your kind service). 'Sexy Cecelia' and Omar at the Sea Blue were also a delight - thanks for your good service guys! German and Joel from Thalassa were great too! Alexander from the entertainment team was so good - always informing you about the daily activities and encouraging you to take part BUT he was never too pushy. Enrique from reception was the friendliest and most helpful person at the desk.

- I liked that the adults only section is quite small but you also have access to the sister resort which is good.

- both pools are great too - I preferred the infinity as it was more chill. The pool with the swimout bar was definitely not my scene.

- good selection of restaurant choices (at the adults only and sister resort too). Dress code for men was a bit annoying for my other half BUT not all restaurants require this - only Thalassa and Cata Tapa at the adults side. FYI dress code for specific restaurants: women - anything and men - long trousers (can be jeans), sleeve shirt (can be a casual t shirt or anything short sleeved) and closed toe shoes (can be sneakers/trainers).

- rooms are spacious and maids keep it clean. air con is very loud but I didn't use the air con (I get cold easily) and we didn't have a problem with the hot water. ps: the more you tip, the more flower petals you get.

Overall, I would recommend this place as the good outweighed the bad. Would I return? Probably not as I've experienced BETTER service at a diff resort for the same price.

THE END

- if you come here with an open mind, then you'll 100% have a good time. I've met so many people that expect Sandals standard and were disappointed. Also, don't let all the reviews skew you, I've noticed and met a few people that just complain about anything and everything.

- don't trust the vendors that walk up and down the beach, they will persuade you to come to their shop and take your money (overcharge you and not give you the items you paid for).

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank thuymivux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Gerente at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and for your review. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We will share your comments with the involved department. Thanks for your observations. We will share your comments to the ones you have mentioned. This is your home and we hope to welcome you back anytime soon.

Best regards.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Overall a pleasant vacation which terminated with an evacuation due to hurricane Irma approaching the island. The two areas that require much improvement are; food services and beach. The majority of the buffet and restaurant served us cold to lukewarm food that had been prepared well in advance. the Italian and the Asian restaurants were the only establishments that provided food that was prepared with attention and served warm and tasty and deserved to be recognized. The beaches was covered daily with seaweed and the water a brownish color due to te attack from the continuous from seaweeds

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Grenier Yves G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Gerente at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped,

Gracias por hospedarte con nosotros y por tu opinión. Nos agrada saber que en general tuviste una gran estancia con nosotros. Gracias por sus observaciones, haremos llegar sus comentarios a los departamentos pertinentes. Esta es tu casa y esperamos darte la bienvenida nueva vez.

Saludos cordiales,

Gerente General.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We stayed here for our honeymoon and had an amazing time.

The resort is part of the larger Catalonia Bavaro resort, which you also have access to (The Royal Bavaro areas are exclusive to Royal Bavaro guests however). That being said, with the Royal having multiple pools, it's own bars and restaurants and it's own section of beach we very rarely found ourselves going over to the other side of the resort.

The rooms are large and airy. As we got the honeymoon package we got a room at the quieter end of the resort (i.e. not next to the pools/bars) - but that being said the Royal part of the resort is very laid back and not especially noisy. The only odd part was that the shower and toilet are not especially private within the room - with only a glass partition and partial door for the toilet. The room and resort as a whole was well maintained and kept clean and tidy.

The staff were excellent and all spoke good English as well as their native Spanish. They were all friendly and helpful and would do whatever they could to make your stay enjoyable. I don't think I've been anywhere where absolutely everyone says hello to you as you pass.

The resort had a wide selection of restaurants and bars - with 2 main buffets on the Bavaro side, and a big selection of "Theme" restaurants on both resorts serving Al a Carte food. All of the food we had was of excellent quality and there was always a wide range of choice to be had.

In conclusion we both had a wonderful and relaxing honeymoon at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro, and would definitely be looking to return there!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mikey3883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Gerente at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are glad to know that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our friendly service. This is your home and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
8.1 km away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
1.9 km away
Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
6.3 km away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
16.1 km away
Majestic Elegance Punta Cana
13.3 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Royal Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Address: Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 837, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: €182 - €554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Catalonia Royal Bavaro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the authentic Caribbean at an exclusive, adults-only resort. Its small details make big your stay and the personalized service you receive will make you feel as if you were in heaven. Exclusive suites, innovative restaurants, dreamlike swimming pools…relax in this tropical paradise and enjoy the best vacation you’ve ever had. Have an extraordinary experience, and leave the worrying to us; we’ll take care of you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Royal Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Punta Cana
Royal Catalonia Bavaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing