We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Excellence Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$334
Excellence Resorts
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Occidental Caribe(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$525
US$355
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$474
US$336
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$293
US$252
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$675
US$498
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$363
US$311
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$342
US$240
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$220
US$186
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$561
US$276
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (6,577)
Filter reviews
6,577 results
Traveller rating
3,573
1,843
713
247
201
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,573
1,843
713
247
201
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal sideinfinity poolpiano barcata tapathalassa restauranttapas restaurantthe sea blue restauranttao catrodeo steak housejuice barroyal guestsla toscanayucacalifornia rollswim up barsister resortsea grass
Filter
Updating list...
481 - 486 of 6,577 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017

I am years late in writing this review but better late than never.

We visited this resort in June and had excellent vacation. Lots of restaurant to choose from and plenty of activities to keep busy.

There was some sea weed but hotel staff cleans daily.

it was good vacation.

Stayed: October 2016
1  Thank Scorpions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Gerente at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are glad to know that you had a great stay with us back in the days and that you enjoyed our friendly service. We encourage you to visit us again to see all the improvements we have. This is your home and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

A solid 4 out of 5.

This place has the potential to be a 5 out of 5 but there are some major things which gives it a solid 4. (I'm not over exaggerating the bad)

Let's start with the bad:

- SOME staff (a small minority) are extremely rude. I have never stayed at a resort (let alone 5* resort) and encountered staff as rude as these. Not only do they talk about you in Spanish while looking at you, it's also obvious they're saying bad things about you. This is not paranoia as I've spoken to a few people that have encountered this too. Some even laugh about you while pointing at you. Not only is this very unprofessional at work, it is extremely rude. example: a bartender (I won't mention her name) rolled her eyes, sighed, pointed at me and said something in Spanish to her colleague (who then looked at me and laughed) when I asked her for a non-alcoholic pina colada. I then had to wait 5 mins for it (pina coladas are ready from the dispensing machine).

- the language barrier is very bad here (I don't mind this) but what annoys me is that the staff EXPECT you to know Spanish. when you say 'sorry, no espanol, just english', they sigh and give you a dirty/shocked look. Some even continue to talk to you in Spanish - which doesn't make sense to me because I told you I don't speak Spanish.

- if you're expecting this hotel to have the 'beautiful infamous Bavaro beach' then you will be disappointed. I didn't mind the beach but it didn't blow me away (I much preferred the 'infinity' pool).

THE GOOD:

- majority of the staff are extremely friendly and nice - always greeting and serving you with a smile on their face. Special mention to Santa (kind hearted lady who always makes sure you have a drink in hand - thanks for your kind service). 'Sexy Cecelia' and Omar at the Sea Blue were also a delight - thanks for your good service guys! German and Joel from Thalassa were great too! Alexander from the entertainment team was so good - always informing you about the daily activities and encouraging you to take part BUT he was never too pushy. Enrique from reception was the friendliest and most helpful person at the desk.

- I liked that the adults only section is quite small but you also have access to the sister resort which is good.

- both pools are great too - I preferred the infinity as it was more chill. The pool with the swimout bar was definitely not my scene.

- good selection of restaurant choices (at the adults only and sister resort too). Dress code for men was a bit annoying for my other half BUT not all restaurants require this - only Thalassa and Cata Tapa at the adults side. FYI dress code for specific restaurants: women - anything and men - long trousers (can be jeans), sleeve shirt (can be a casual t shirt or anything short sleeved) and closed toe shoes (can be sneakers/trainers).

- rooms are spacious and maids keep it clean. air con is very loud but I didn't use the air con (I get cold easily) and we didn't have a problem with the hot water. ps: the more you tip, the more flower petals you get.

Overall, I would recommend this place as the good outweighed the bad. Would I return? Probably not as I've experienced BETTER service at a diff resort for the same price.

THE END

- if you come here with an open mind, then you'll 100% have a good time. I've met so many people that expect Sandals standard and were disappointed. Also, don't let all the reviews skew you, I've noticed and met a few people that just complain about anything and everything.

- don't trust the vendors that walk up and down the beach, they will persuade you to come to their shop and take your money (overcharge you and not give you the items you paid for).

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank thuymivux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Gerente at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and for your review. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We will share your comments with the involved department. Thanks for your observations. We will share your comments to the ones you have mentioned. This is your home and we hope to welcome you back anytime soon.

Best regards.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Overall a pleasant vacation which terminated with an evacuation due to hurricane Irma approaching the island. The two areas that require much improvement are; food services and beach. The majority of the buffet and restaurant served us cold to lukewarm food that had been prepared well in advance. the Italian and the Asian restaurants were the only establishments that provided food that was prepared with attention and served warm and tasty and deserved to be recognized. The beaches was covered daily with seaweed and the water a brownish color due to te attack from the continuous from seaweeds

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Grenier Yves G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Gerente at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped,

Gracias por hospedarte con nosotros y por tu opinión. Nos agrada saber que en general tuviste una gran estancia con nosotros. Gracias por sus observaciones, haremos llegar sus comentarios a los departamentos pertinentes. Esta es tu casa y esperamos darte la bienvenida nueva vez.

Saludos cordiales,

Gerente General.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We stayed here for our honeymoon and had an amazing time.

The resort is part of the larger Catalonia Bavaro resort, which you also have access to (The Royal Bavaro areas are exclusive to Royal Bavaro guests however). That being said, with the Royal having multiple pools, it's own bars and restaurants and it's own section of beach we very rarely found ourselves going over to the other side of the resort.

The rooms are large and airy. As we got the honeymoon package we got a room at the quieter end of the resort (i.e. not next to the pools/bars) - but that being said the Royal part of the resort is very laid back and not especially noisy. The only odd part was that the shower and toilet are not especially private within the room - with only a glass partition and partial door for the toilet. The room and resort as a whole was well maintained and kept clean and tidy.

The staff were excellent and all spoke good English as well as their native Spanish. They were all friendly and helpful and would do whatever they could to make your stay enjoyable. I don't think I've been anywhere where absolutely everyone says hello to you as you pass.

The resort had a wide selection of restaurants and bars - with 2 main buffets on the Bavaro side, and a big selection of "Theme" restaurants on both resorts serving Al a Carte food. All of the food we had was of excellent quality and there was always a wide range of choice to be had.

In conclusion we both had a wonderful and relaxing honeymoon at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro, and would definitely be looking to return there!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mikey3883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Gerente at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are glad to know that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our friendly service. This is your home and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We returned to the Catalonia Royal to celebrate our youngest daughters 21st birthday and have a family holiday. They did not disappoint at all. On arrival there was a birthday banner across our daughters bedroom door, then champagne and fruit in the room. In our room we were welcomed back with Dominican rum and fruit. A lovely touch and nice surprise.
The rooms were spacious and well presented. Small touches like fresh flowers and towels folded into various creations.
The food again was excellent, all the restaurants provided sumptuous food and first class service. The bars provided a wide variety of drinks and a great cocktail menu.
The staff are professional, attentive and friendly. Nothing was too much and they would remember your favourite foods, drinks and replace them without asking.
The hotel is set on the beach with two pools and lovely grounds. It really is a place of idyllic bliss.

Room Tip: Rooms facing onto the pool or gym.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Gerente at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are glad to know that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our friendly service. This is your home and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews