We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$433
US$332
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$211
US$183
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$213/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$280
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Excellence Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$258
Excellence Resorts
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$213
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$450
US$331
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$351
US$302
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$384
US$354
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$315
US$297
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (6,621)
Filter reviews
6,621 results
Traveller rating
3,588
1,853
721
250
209
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,588
1,853
721
250
209
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal sideinfinity poolpiano barcata tapathalassa restauranttapas restaurantthe sea blue restauranttao catrodeo steak housejuice barroyal guestsla toscanayucaswim up bardeluxe junior suitesister resortsea grass
Filter
Updating list...
3,179 - 3,184 of 6,621 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at this resort for a week. We would highly recommend getting one of the suites with the pools if possible. Staying in one of those suites made our stay even better and even more relaxing,

Overall the resort was great. It was very well maintained and the staff was friendly. The only complaint we would have is the food wasn't as good as we would have liked, however we would still go back regardless. The beach was kept very clean and there were always staff cleaning up empty drink glasses. There are sand flies so bring some bug spray if you want to prevent being bitten. There is good snorkeling just off the beach- we saw sting rays, lion fish, sea urchins, sea snakes and lots of fish!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marebuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
We are content to read your recommendations of our Resort. You comment lets us know you have enjoyed a fantastic holiday at Catalonia Royal. Also your feedback about our services, are much appreciated.

We look forward to your next holidays.

Best regards!

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed at Cat Royal from May 5 until May 12. This was our....(15th or so I guess) trip to the DR and first to the Catalonia. I will break down my review in "sections":

- Check-in-- fast and efficient, without any particular hiccups.

- Room-- we stayed in a "regular" room (superior jr suite) in villa 40 on the second floor. Room was a bit dated and somewhat dark. Beds were a tad hard for my liking. Other than that, it was totally acceptable.

- Beach-- absolutely amazing. The only miniscule negative is the sea is a little shallow on the Royal side. In regards to sea grass, yes it's there....BUT the amount of this sea grass is kept to a minimum (thanks to never-stop-working beach cleaning crew). Other than that-excellent!

-Service-- very good to outstanding! All staff personnel are extremely polite, professional and friendly. Vast majority speaks VERY decent English (including waiter, bartenders, bus boys, etc, etc.) Concierges are extremely helpful and professional (extra kudos to Boris @concierge desk). Bars' and restaurants' staff are totally excellent (across the board)! Also, if (walking) distance is of any issue (i.e. getting to the family side or to/from beach to room ), front desk folks will promptly dispatch your "personal taxi" (golf cart)--great touch as well!

- Food/Drinks--hmm....a little tough question. Overall the food was good. Presentation and service (read above) were great. Food quality was not always consistent. Please, don't get me wrong- food was totally edible, but inconsistent in taste and a little bland. Breakfasts were almost always very good. Lunches and dinners were somewhat hit or miss. .. Drinks were excellent, with top/midshelf liquor brands available at all bars.

-Grounds-- immaculate! Foliage is even more mature and beautiful on the Family side.

-Pools-- we are not pool ppl so to speak, but both pools looked great with lovely linen covered double-loungers at the infinity pool and lively swim-up bar at the main pool.

- Family (Bavaro) side-- we ventured onto the Bavaro side several times. Main lobby and overall grounds are impressive. Disco was fun. Main buffet was...meh. Beach buffet was pretty bad, with mozzies and birds flying though and munching on food......At the main pool/swim-up bar there was a constant smell of sewage.

-Side notes-- we found a "hidden gem"--Creperie Bretonne in the shopping plaza (50 yds from the Royal lobby)-tasty French-styled crepes, coffees, teas, etc. Also, we flew on the flying boat- an amazing, unique experience (once on the beach, walk to the right (about 100yds) to the "shopping village"). Well worth $65.00!

Overall, we really enjoyed the vacation in spite of some minor annoyances and hiccups. Manage your expectations accordingly (it's a solid 4* by North America/European standards) and you should greatly enjoy your trip!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank totallyi2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post on Trip Advisor.
We are content to read your kind opinion about the different services of our Resort. Thank you for your excellent comments about our staff, they were delighted to assist you during your stay. It’s a pleasure to read you were impressed and enjoyed our grounds. Also we apologize for any setback, and thank you for all the feedback provided, which helps us consistently to improve our services.

Receive warms regards from all our staff.

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

My wife and I came to the Catalonia Royal this past May, returning to a resort for the first time ever based on our previous experience. The a la carte restaurants (we only ate there as we try to stay away from buffets) were good, the best being the two on the Royal side. The Japanese restaurant can use improvement as the rooms are small and enclosed and get very warm, with the chef constantly sweating around the food. The beach party on Thursday night, which we enjoyed tremendously last year was a disaster this time due to mosquito's hovering and attacking by the hundreds (BRING REPELLANT, it is vital, almost as important as sunscreen); I got bitten at least 10 times in the first five minutes, and we had to escape out of there right away. There was a funny story of one guest running away, with a staff member chasing the mosqito's chasing her. The Pallela on the beach on Friday was great, a very authentic dish prepared in a huge pan over an open fire. The beach was nice except that there are no waves, as it is surrounded by a barrier-reef a couple of hundred metres out, and it is a bit grassy on the shore, although there are staff constantly cleaning it; we never had trouble getting a palepa right on the beach, although you do have to go out early (6 am) and put your towels and belongings on some chairs to reserve your spot. The juice bar on the beach is a wonderful extra, with fresh juices prepared to order from all kinds of exotic tropical fruits, my favourite was called Kiin, made with passion fruit and pineapple. The two best bars are the beach bar and the bar in the lobby, with good quality drinks, and great cuppacino in the lobby-bar. The Ocean Blue restaurant is a perfect place for lunch, with a great view of the beach and with good food. The resort was still as nice, with good food, great drinks, and friendly staff for the most part, with a couple of exceptions. The water sports area appears to have been taken over by a private company, and if you are not there to sign up for an activity which requires payment then they are almost rude in their responses. I was looking just for a mask and snorkle and more often than not they did not have one available, and were very short with their response of "come back later, maybe have one". The maid service was good, in the first few days we had a turn-down sevice freshening the beds at night, as well as the daily service, but after one night when we were still in the room when they came for the service, they stopped doing it for a few days (no big deal). All of the maids and cleaning staff were very friendly, and we made sure to leave a tip and some chocolates every day. My one (small) complaint is that I emailed the head office of the Catalonia chain requesting the possibility of a room in a Villa closer to the the beach this time (we stayed in 36 last time), and were put in Villa 42, which is actually further away, but the room was nice and clean, with no musky smell that you get some times due to the humidity. It had a king bed, with a slightly too hard mattress, and was on the ground floor, where we like it. As it is a small resort, nothing is too far away, so we were happy. Whenever we wanted to participate in activities such as water aerobics, we went over to the Catalonia side.  Overall, I would reccommend this resort if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday with good food, ok beach, and good staff and accomodations.

Room Tip: Villa's 34 to 42 close enough to beach, but far enough from "party-pool" to avoid noise. Corner suites very nice. In May especially, BRING MOSQUITO repellant, as well as sunscreen and aloe vera.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Twith3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

My husband and I and a couple of friends stayed at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro resort May 8th through the 16th of 2012 and could not have been happier! After a decent amount of research online and checking through countless reviews, we chose this resort and it was a perfect choice! From the minute we arrived, we were greeted with cool towels, fresh cocktails, and smiles from all of the staff. Our flight had arrived around 1pm and since check-in was at 3, the front desk suggested having some drinks and lunch or head to the pool/beach while they held our bags. We headed to lunch at the Sea Bar Bistro - delish! After check-in, we were escorted by golf cart to our room ( section 40 - in between the main pool and fountains). Great spot and the rooms were beautiful! Bathrooms could use some updates to the shower, more specifically, but definitely a great value for a suite. The couple we had vacationed with got engaged the first night and we ordered champagne to the room to celebrate (was in our room in about 30 minutes). We werent overly familiar with the resort just yet, so we headed to Thalassa for dinner - so glad that we did! A big Kudos goes out to Franklin and Dario who took great care of us and our friends!! Amazing reviews to both of them! Throughout our stay we saw Franklin multiple times and he always made us feel like old friends - cant say enough about his sincere and genuine personality! Throughout the week we spent countless hours between the pool, the beach, and the swim up pool bar with Carlos. He was our other favorite at the resort - always had the best bachata and merengue music playing. There was a song that had something about "da da da de loca" in it that we loved!! Wish we knew the name... But all week we went to the swim up bar and Carlos would just know what we wanted...dos or quatro - he would say - he was really great as well!! We also tried 2 of the excursions..best excursions we've been on - we booked them through the gentleman near the front desk on day 2 of our trip. We did the speedboats on the first one with some snorkeling - kind of older boats but a great time all in all! The second was a 1/2 day catamaran cruise with a visit to the Dolphin Marine park - very cool! Held a parrot, swam with sting rays and sharks, got a kiss from a sea lion, and took a catamaran ride to and from a snorkeling area and natural pool. That was a blast! The snorkeling off of the beach was so much fun and BBQ Beach Party was great as well! Great music, dancing, the food was just okay for that. We had tried the Mexican, Italian, hibachi, and buffet over on the Bavaro side - Italian was best, and loved Thalassa for breakfast and dinner. Our friends said that Cata Tapas was fabulous but my husband and I had a little too much sun that day and stayed in for room service. Overall we had a great time there and we're all missing it only weeks later! Definitely bummed that I don't have more vacation time left to go back! Everyone in the staff was really great and the location is absolutely beautiful!! Thank you all so much for making our vacation more amazing than we could've asked for!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meredith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We visited the resort from April 23 to May 3rd and enjoyed ourselves tremendously.Check in was a breeze.We had to wait for our room key but did not mind at all since we waited in the bar and met a couple who turned out to be great company throughout our stay.The staff was friendly and very polite.Gemma at the reception was outstanding.We upgraded to the swimming pool suite after a couple of days and that was just icing on the cake.The food was very good and one could always find something to eat that was delicious.The sea food at the Sea Blue was very tasty indeed.We tried all the restaurants.Was a little disappointed with the lasagna at the Italian restaurant.It tasted like the meat came from a can.Other than that everything else was superb.

We played golf almost everyday.It was included in the package when you stay at the Royal.You do have to pay for the cart though, which cost $35.00 US per person.The course is in excellent condition and beautiful.
I would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cheryl966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your excellent comment on Trip Advisor!

We are delighted you enjoyed your star to the fullest from start. Thank you for commenting about our friendly and polite staff. Thank you for your flattering words on our services, it was a pleasure to assist you. We will be waiting for your next holidays at Catalonia Royal!

Warmest regards.

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews