We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the high price compared to other hotels, including the ones on the sane resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #31 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worth the high price compared to other hotels, including the ones on the sane resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Went one week, had great weather, overall service is very good, maid wasen't impressive, my fiancé had prepared gifts wrapped in clear wrapping paper for the maid everyday, she likes to do that since we get better service than just tiping since we give them stuff they either can't buy there or is very pricey there, but they still didn't stock the mini bar as the paper said (list of stuff they must restock the mini bar with daily). We also didn't get new towels 2 times, had to call to get some, had to call to get a pepsi, water a couple times, kinda annoying. Other than that, the maids cleaned things fine. Lobby bartenders are the best, specially Maximo (Cuba Gooding Jr. Lookalike). Pool bartenders were good too. People that stay at this hotel have unlimited a la carte unlike every other hotels on the resort that gave only 3 or so. Only thing I disliked was people putting their towels on chairs around the pool or on the beach before sunrise, and never sit in it at all during the day, it's in the hotel policies do not do so, but they don't reinforce it like any other hotel that fon't offer swim-out rooms with your own chairs. If you don't mind getting up before sunrise while you're on holidays just to get a chair, this place will be good for you. Other than that, it is a very nice resort, the esmeralda is the smallest hotel and the calmest also, its pretty quiet and peaceful, which we enjoyed. I think the steep price keeps the students from going to party there. More younger people at the Punta Cana Hotel I noticed, but never really ran into a loud party, a good resort to relax.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Oilers25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,231
    1,360
    531
    168
    123
See reviews for
2,519
2,626
69
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,475)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oromocto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We just returned from our second trip to the Esmeralda -21 Feb to 27 Feb 2012. My wife and I were treated beyond well.This resort is remarkable. We asked for a poolview room which required a room change and was granted this request within 24 hours. They have a butler by the name of Ramon Diaz who will make you feel as though you have known him your entire life.Mr Diaz will do things without any requests such as having champagne set to your room as a surprise. The rooms are excellent. We are already planning next years return trip. Our room was in buildind 90 and was room 90011 was pool view and ocean view. No complaints on the service we received. The only minor complaints we heard were from people that we believe no one could please.This not a resort for the party hardy but if you want to relax and quiet this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Try for buildings 90 or 91.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We spent an enjoyable vacation with family at the esmeralda.Had many problems with key,went to main desk many times too many times for my liking. I was there to rest not wait for someone to fix the key.We started in a room on the lower floor which wasn't to our liking as we travelled with teens and wanted rooms beside each other. I like to sit on patio and it backed onto a roadway that had trucks backing up at 5am beeping the whole time ..plus our patio door would not lock which made me uncomfortable because of the location of my room.The woman on the front desk was quite rude and we had to keep going back to front desk begging for a new room.I stayed a week and didn't unpack for 2 days.Food was not what I 'd expect from a 5 star The hotel and grounds were beautiful and weather is great but I would feel awkward recommending this hotel to friends. Huge communication problems.

Room Tip: 91215 views the pool and you can see the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank eikcaj772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High River, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We had a marvellous vacation at the Esmeralda. We particularly enjoyed the smaller size and quieter ambiance of the Esmeralda versus staying next door at the Punta Cana. The staff were eager to please, the food was good in all the restaurants and buffets and one could always find something to please the palate. I have to say the breads were outstanding! We particularly enjoyed the Japanese a la carte restaurant "Maiko" and I must say the Steakhouse was surprisingly good even though I had read bad reviews about it. We enjoyed the availability of premium liquors for the drinks although at the beach it was run of the mill local brands. Not much in the way of shopping though, as most of the stores in the little shopping area sold the same thing! The entertainment was generally enjoyable, albeit somewhat on an amateur level, with the exception of the Michael Jackson Show and the Cirque du Soleil, which were both outstanding. The shuttle bus system between the resorts worked quite well. Only negative I would have would be the staff needs to have a better fluency of English, especially at the front desk. It wasn't a problem for us, but sometimes it was a bit of a guessing game when you ordered a drink, as to what you would actually get. The beach area was outstanding and we spent most of our time there rather than at the pool area. Of course everyone seems to play the "beach towel on the lounge chair" game to reserve, and that was frustrating. We did have some seaweed appear for a couple of days near the end of our holiday, and although we saw staff raking it up, they never actually cleaned it up so then it started to smell. But one could always sit further back from the beach and then it wasn't a problem. We would definitely go back to the Esmeralda again.

Room Tip: Rooms in Block 92 are quiet but handy to all everything, only a five minute walk to the beach. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Joan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
191 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

This is a great hotel on a wonderful stretch of beach.

Accommodations are bright, new ,large, clean and comfortable. No musty smell so common in the Caribbean. Rooms are also very quiet. Large bathrooms with separate toilet and separate bath and shower. Quiet air conditioner that works well.
Stocked fridge in room and also snacks and coffee machine.....all included in room rate.
Lots of area to lounge around and read a book or just have a drink and relax.

Friendly helpful staff.

Great beach with comfortable chairs reserved for Esmarelda guests.Great pool.

Downside: Food is OK. Plenty of it and lots to choose from but not great.

Only 2 Hoby Cats to sail in a hotel with hundreds of guests. Had to reesrve boats a day in advance and only one hour available daily. The Iberostar next door has 10 Hoby Cats to sail.

All in all this is a great hotel and I would return

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tokalosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
26.1 km away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#25 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
29.5 km away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#42 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.4 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
0.4 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Fantasia Don Pablo Collection
5.0 km away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Expedia so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing