We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$560
View deal
Hotels.comUS$560
TravelocityUS$560
Orbitz.comUS$560
TripadvisorUS$560
ZenHotels.com
Destinia.com
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
56
26
16
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
56
26
16
12
10
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2019

This was our first time staying in The Royal Suites (we normally stay in Royal Villa's or Presidential) we had a ground floor 2 bedroom(2 kings) suite. These suites are a decent size for two couples or a small family. Although we didn't utilize the pool outside our door, we did use the deck and it was very relaxing, the vibe for these suites seems to be laid back and quite. These suites have all been renovated and the standard would be a little lower than presidential, that's ok because with all the different bars and beaches within the complex you don't spend a lot of time in the room. The bar tender for this area was super friendly and always saying "good morning, hello etc" and always had a smile on his face. My only complaint would be that the bar did not have bottled water. As always the staff at Deja View, Cafe Del Mar and the many restaurants we visited were excellent and made our stay that much better. The captain at the Rodizio provided excellent service within the wine cellar room as well. Luis and Starling were fantastic as always and we can't wait to get back.

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank danielw917
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Management T, Manager at The Royal Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2019

Dear guest,
Thank you for your positive review!
The nice notes like the one you kindly posted on the TripAdvisor are very appreciated by us. We are grateful for you taking some time to express your impressions during your stay at The Royal Suites.
Your comments encourage us to continue improving our services.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to be able to welcome you back.
Warmest Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2019 via mobile

We booked a room through Expedia, it was paid for in full and room was guaranteed. Flight got delayed and I showed up the next morning. They sold out my room in less than 24 hours even though I paid for a late arrival guarantee. Management was extremely rude and terrible to work with, we sat in the lobby for 3.5 hours. Thankfully Expedia re- funded most of the money and I just stayed in a friends room. Expedia even said they were the worst and rudest people to work with. It is a beautiful place but unless you want to start out your trip with a 2 hour plus check in and fingers crossed nothing goes wrong I wouldn’t recommend it. Their attitude and unwillingness to help will ruin your whole trip.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mvallejo0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Management T, Manager at The Royal Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2019

Dear customer,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us on your recent vacation at The Royal Suites.
We can assure you that all of our clients’ opinions are very important to us because it is the more reliable source of information to improve our services and facilities.
We apologize for any inconvenience that you might have experienced during your stay.
Again thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2019

Room was not good at the beginning as one of our bedrooms had no air conditioning. After they fixed it, it was fine. We had daily maid service too. People around the resort were generally very friendly, and it was definitely a family friendly resort. Too bad that Wi-Fi was very expensive, and even when we brought our own mi-fi device, the service was horrible. Lifestyle is so huge,and everything is so expensive that they should be able to provide free internet access. Also, this place is not vegetarian friendly. I am borderline vegan, and the food was basically meat for every meal. Many of the employees spoke no English,and my Spanish was basic, so at times the food serving staff had no-idea what you were asking or wanted.

Beach access was confusing as there were different levels of access (VIP, exclusive VIP, etc..)

Check in staff was rude and unappreciative of my attempt to speak Spanish to him as he didn't speak any English and had NO WAY of explaining where to go to eat the first day we arrived.

Employees are big on you giving them tips, so if you don't tip, their service is minimal at best.

Indian restaurant was awful We are from India, and none of the food was actually authentic Indian. It didn't taste good at all, and was definitely not Indian food. We mentioned something to the waiter, and he said that we really must not know what Indian food tastes like.

Room tip: Royal suites were generally roomier and newer than the other rental units.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank shrutisanghavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Management T, Manager at The Royal Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2019

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for taking some time to express your impressions during your stay at The Royal Suites.
Your review and comments are very appreciated by us in order to improve our operation.
We apologize for any inconvenience that you might have experienced during your stay.

Thank you for staying with us.
Best Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2019

Some of the worker are racist in order to get better tips from white tourists and don't service well color people thinking that we don't tips well. The first and second day when you are a new guess the service is good.

Room tip: They need to keep up with repairs and renovations and better softer mattresses for they bedroom
Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FarAway11682676415
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Management T, Manager at The Royal Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2019

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for taking some time to express your impressions during your stay at The Royal Suites in Puerto Plata.
Your review is very appreciated by us and your comments very useful to improve our operation.
We would like to assure you that we have taken all your observations into consideration in order to detect possible shortcomings and opportunities for improvement.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to be able to welcome you back.
Best Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2019

Very upscale place in every price range, the staff where very friendly. We had a great time at our area of units. Had a great pool bar with great service from Pedro -Happy Happy. Only WI-FI that free is on beach with limits use in peak times, unless you go to WI-FI office and pay for time. Worst thing was being hounded for a sales pitch of buying in. Weather was great and met lot of people from other parts of world. Mostly USA and Canadian visiting.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Management T, Manager at The Royal Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2019

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for taking some time to express your impressions during your stay at The Royal Suites. Your review and comments are very appreciated by us in order to improve our operation.
Thank you for your positive review and for staying with us.
Warmest Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews