We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$50
FindHotelUS$50
Agoda.comUS$50
eDreamsUS$50
Lol.travel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
42
13
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
42
13
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool gua gua home away from home francisca hosts plata sosua ac
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We only stayed here for one night before getting our boat out to the Silver Banks but wished we had stayed after our trip instead of staying in a big all inclusive hotel. The staff were amazingly helpful and friendly and went out of their way to help us. The facilities were clean and breakfast was good. The garden was lovely for sitting around and relaxing.
Good location for exploring the area.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UnA-productions
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 November 2017

We spent 2 nights here and had a fantastic time. Francia is helpful, nice, chatty and her breakfast - especially the fruit platter! - , while simple, is something to remember for a lifetime. Our room was spacious, quite and comfy, and the house is at walking distance from the main square, the guagua station and the Caribetours station.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nini_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Lovely place to stay. A little haven in the middle of Puerto plata. The hosts are lovely and genuinely want you to have the best time possible and are amazingly helpful. The rooms are clean and the fans work well (no ac). It not new but it's an old colonial villa. A really relaxed pretty place to stay for a few nights. There's a kitchen that's available to use and is clean. The wifi is free and good.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madagascarflalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 June 2017

I stayed at Villa Carolina with a group of volunteers who were in the country doing service work. The family that owns Villa Carolina were kind, helpful, and responsive to all of our needs. The place is clean and a very lovely, with a kitchen and fridge if you need it. The group felt at home with wi-fi, private bathrooms and were spoiled by the swimming pool. Our package included breakfast and dinner, and the sisters that provide the cooking give you a delicious Dominican cuisine experience.
Pro tip #1: They focus on renting the place out to large groups, so you can't just randomly show up. Contact them ahead of time to see if there is space or if they are even open.
Pro tip #2: If you're looking for a place for your group, talk to them about the meal options as they really make the organization of meals easy on you!
Pro Tip #3: If you want an excursion with a local who will not gouge you, talk to Julian who is the brother of Francie, the owner of the home. He hooked us up with an AWESOME package deal including waterfalls, beaches and manatee viewing!

We loved VC and we'll be back!

Room tip: There are group rooms and private rooms, get the private room that is upstairs, second from the left. It's the best mattress.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeidiRose25
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 March 2017

At first glance I wasn't sure but I did fall in love with this affordable and very hospitable little jewel. Francia took excellent care of us and we loved visiting with the dogs, listening to the birds and enjoying a couple of Presidentes after our arrival. Francia referred us to a great italian restaurant downtown, il Giardino. We had excellent food and watched the scooters whiz by well into the evening, w/ no lights and 3-4 to a scooter, it was quite crazy to see. After a nights sleep on a pretty hard bed (my only complaint) we enjoyed breakfast provided in the main room, toast, fruit, juice and coffee. Francia gave us directions and we walked downtown to the Amber museum. We met Jose Rafael Batista who guided us the rest of our day. We went to the fort and to lunch on the Malaecon. Would stay here again but really really hope they upgrade the mattresses :-)

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews