We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,078)
Filter reviews
6,078 results
Traveller rating
2,732
2,114
805
267
160
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,732
2,114
805
267
160
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean grill octopus quiet pool catalina building vintage club beata building a la carte restaurants premium package carlos santana main pool swim up bar ocean world dominican republic paradise island entertainment team buffet restaurant evening entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 6,078 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2018

As you arrive you see a beautiful pool. The buffet is vast with lots of choice, soups fish meat desserts. You can eat as much as you like and everyone does !
The staff have a natural charm which I guess is part of their Dominican culture but also training. Everyone I met was trying to make everyone they met enjoy their holiday.
The entertainment team especially would dress up as clowns, dance at night on the stage, provide lessons during the day and run errands in between times and still did all this with a smile.
I found the special restaurants not worth bothering with. The food was better in the buffet area, but I guess if you want a romantic dinner or privacy you have the option.

Think about taking small things in your case when you go. Toiletries, clothes for the local people, especially the kids. Most of them have very little and we were happy to give away most of our stuff on the last day.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CASIUS2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHresorts, Public Relations Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination.

It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with us. We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. We will be sure to let know to
the whole staff that they made an impact during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

The staff at VH Gran Ventana welcomes you as family! From the General manager to the cleaning staff, they are the best in the area. The food is very good and the beach is a few steps from the rooms. Great entertainment and good coffee.

Stayed: October 2018
1  Thank Eddi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHresorts, Public Relations Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience regarding your recent vacation at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort.

We are happy to know that your stay was completely satisfactory. We take pride in giving outstanding service every customer and we're overjoyed to receive your compliments and appreciation.


We hope to see you back soon in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Second trip to grand ventana... Room was extreamly clean, the main buffet has a lot to choose from. Close to the beach, excellent staff and many desserts. overall It was a great vacation. I´ll come back for sure next year.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ernesto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHresorts, Public Relations Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Thank you for your review and kinds words, we appreciate the time taken to share your experiences.

We are deeply elated that we have been your constant hotel of choice when you're in Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic. We hope
that you will stay with us several times more on your next trips.

Our staff is always ready to welcome you. Thank you for your loyalty and trust.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

This is a good resort, not to big not to small. We have a ocean view room. The food is good and the burgers are the best. The staff is super friendly and attentive. The beach is good and calm, the water is crystal clear. This resort is for families and couples. The hotel is very clean. They only need to improve the rooms a little(put a coffee machine, irons, a bigger tv, etc. ) Thanks VH.

Room Tip: Choose Catalina or Saona Building
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boxproj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHresorts, Public Relations Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your experience at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort.

It is heartwarming to hear that you enjoyed your stay here, from our variety of restaurants to our beach and the hotel itself.
We appreciate your input and suggestions.

We look forward to your return visit.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

The Dominican Republic gifted me with a warm and wonderful welcome daily coupled with kind and fun people everywhere I went ;)

The fact that I got to call these beaches and this country “mine” for 3 weeks was truly amazing!

And, what could be better than warm weather, fresh tropical fruits, smiling faces, fun entertainment staff and unlimited pina colada?!

I’ll tell you what, YOGA ON THE BEACH ... daily classes of Beach yoga with the sun kissing your skin, breeze brushing your shoulders and the waves lulling you into deep relaxation was totally blissful.

It was my first visit but is certainly not going to be my last trip here.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank sanyikac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews