We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed here from Feb 3 to Feb 10. My husband and I had a fantastic time.
The hotel was great, the food was very good. The al-a-cartes were excellent. We enjoyed every one of them.
The pool was very refreshing and very clean.
The entertainers, especially Mani and Donkey, Sarah says Hi!!! were excellent. All of them worked very hard every single day. Every night, the show was different and we enjoyed them throughly. Lots of laughing for sure.
We meet some very nice people especially, Wayne and Noreen, we enjoyed your company very much.
We feel everything was very good, drinks, beach, room, and food. Enjoy, we did.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank HollybellOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,398
    1,894
    716
    250
    145
See reviews for
1,478
2,063
79
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Balmoral
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Just returned from this resort Feb 9 to 16 2012.
Rooms....We stayed in room 1328 Sona building. Generally speaking the rooms were dated but clean,the bar frig was looking pretty run down. The safe was a key method as well as the room doors, which was a little bit of a pain having to carry keys. Our patio door wouldn't lock and was very stiff. Called about it but was never fixed
Food....Excellent, large variety every day different meat at the carving station. Visited all 3 a la carte and each was wonderful. Even the beef was good especially the beef at the Italian.
One negative about the food was there is about 1 hour went you can't get food anywhere [between 5:00 and 6:00 pm].
Beach....nice sand, several fairly large reefs for snorkling
neg ...too many peddles on the beach.....guests that occupy chairs with beach towels but are not actually there for more than 2 hours...WHAT"S WITH THAT!!!! JUST POOR MANNERS IN MY OPINION.
Tours... Booked 3 tours with James at Caribbean Tours. Had a great time with a smaller group and at reasonable cost.
Had to reschedule one trip due to illness [stay away from the clams]. One trip partially rained out and couldn't rebook therefore we were reimbursed for that portion of the excursion. Very accommodating guy!!!
Bar service....great service, very strong drinks, terrible Margarita's
Maid service.....a little lacking in our case although other guest said it was great.
3 people in our room ...always had to ask for extra towels, water, drinks
asked for an extra blanket almost daily and never did receive one, on one occasion there was no top sheets or blankets at all on our daughter's bed...called the front desk at 9:00 pm and never received them until after 11:00 pm.
Front desk / maid service.......locked ourselves out of our room on the last full day at the resort ...went to the front desk and explained the situation, assured that house keeping would be right up to open it for us....to make a long story short, three trips to the front desk, one phone call from another guest on our behalf and still no result.....this all started at 6:15 pm....so at 8:05 pm and back at the front desk and a little displeased....It was only after slamming my hand on the front desk and saying that I will break the door down if someone wasn't there within 5 mins that someone actually opened our door. I was furious!!!!! THAT IS UNACCEPTABLE CUSTOMER SERVICE.
Pools....Two to choose from ...main pool lots of activity, very lively.....Quiet pool, just that very relaxing.

Room Tip: If you are not pleased with your service even though you might think it is trivial mention it to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Country_folkBalmoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandraResort, Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. We do apologize that the service to your room was not up to par. We take all comments very seriously and will do our best to make sure all of guests receive the exemplary service they deserve. One note on the key situation, we have in fact started the process of changing all rooms to electronic keys. The Saona and Catalina buildings are scheduled to complete to change over this week, and the Beata building conversion will begin next week. We hope you will be pleased with our upgrades on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ktichener
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We've traveled to several destinations and we're very happy with the VH. So here is an honest appraisal of our 7 days there. Had to be moved after the first night as our air conditioner was so loud it sounded like a jet taking off and it was a room beside the busy pool that we knew would be too loud for us. We were moved the next morning to a quiet 3rd floor room a few steps from the beach. The rooms are large and clean but a little outdated. The mattress are hard but after a long day in the sun we were so tired it didn't matter. Ended up with an old TV in the second room that had terrible reception (the first room had a new flat screen) But we decided it wasn't worth moving again. And we certainly didn't spend alot of time in our rooms. The beach was beautiful, you could walk for miles. There are scores of beach vendors and they do ask all the time if you want to buy something but just say NO thank you and they will not ask you again. You do have to plant yourself very early on the beach to get a chair. The main pool is very loud so in the afternoon we often went to the quiet pool with a book to read....which was great. The food was very good, didn't have one problem with it at all............lots of variety. Had a wonderful omelet to start the day. We did one trip, Paradise Island for snorkeling, which was pretty amazing (bought the tickets from James at the plaza for 50 rather than the 89 that the hotel was charging) but be aware this is a very long bus ride to the Island. At least 21/2 hours one way and while it was fine for us it would be a very, very long ride for children. We were very happy to finally arrive back at the hotel, but had no regrets at spending the money. Every one was very nice to deal with at the hotel. We just routinely left a tip every meal.......they worked hard for it and were very grateful. The hotel is only 20 minutes from the airport and that was one of the deciding factors for picking this hotel. We had 6 amazing days of sun and 1 full day of rain. It was a great vacation and we would head back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MaryKtichener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

we had a great time here, lovely hotel, fab food! enjoyed everything, staff helpful
lovely setting and beach was great, you dont get any hassles ideal relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank torie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Been to Dominican many times and travel yearly. It was a smaller resort than were used to but it was great! The food was great, we really enjoyed the lunch at the restarant by the beach. The staff is very friendly. There is the Orange Market we walked to lots to buy down there but the prices are just as good at the mall at the front of the resort. ( Not as much jewelery at the mall) The beach at the resort in nice because of the reefs lots of people snorkling but farther down there is a strong undertow anyone with young kids should be careful. Woould go back again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lyn36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 km away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#4 of 39 in Puerto Plata
532 reviews
0.4 km away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.2 km away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,625 reviews
2.0 km away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,066 reviews
10.6 km away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Property: VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ventana Beach Hotel
Gran Ventana Dominican Republic
Gran Ventana Puerto Plata
Gran Ventana Beach Resort Puerto Plata
Hotel Gran Ventana Beach
Grand Ventana Beach Resort
Gran Ventana Hotel Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing