We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (603)
Filter reviews
606 results
Traveller rating
393
157
29
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
393
157
29
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beer house pool bar animation team adults only section ocean diving orientation session close walking distance theme song early morning flight a la carte restaurants the beach is absolutely beautiful hotel amenities best beach in the area personal concierge sunwing vacations juan luis plenty of chairs and shade
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 606 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

My family and I love the resort!! For the last 20 years I have visited this resort under different names/owners, but Emotions has been my favorite. The renovation are amazing!!! Very up to date and modern. The staff was very friendly and attentive to us. Maria Jiménez made sure our room was clean and well stocked. She did a great job. There are several restaurants to choose from a coffee shop and food 24/7. The drinks were okay but overall I will return.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank jgomua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteleshodelpa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Emotions by Hodelpa Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Dear jgomua,
We are honored to know we are your ultimate favorite hotel, Thank you!!!!.
Its our pleasure to read your stay with us has been completely positive, thank you for sharing how up to date and modern our resort is, as well as the very friendly and attentive staff we have and how clean and well stocked was your room. We are thrilled to know you had an amazing experience at the One Coffee and enjoyed the drinks. We will be waiting for your return with arms wide open, sincerely, Monica, Hodelpa Costumer Satisfaction Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

My first time at Emotions and would definitely go back. Delicious food at Oregano and Amici and service was amazing. Jose Martinez my server in the buffet restaurant was amazing, I never had to ask him for anything he would come over to my table and anticipated my needs. The animation team also did a great job of keeping everyone engaged in the activities. The beach was clean and beautiful. Next time I come to Emotions I want to book a room with a walkout pool.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank launica30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteleshodelpa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Emotions by Hodelpa Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Dear launica30,
Thank you very much for your preference and for taking the time to write a review about your experience in your Home away from Home. We are delighted to see you stay with us was completely positive and you could enjoy our amazing food, amazing activities and animation, beautiful beach and excellent service provided by our team. We love the fact you notice the little details that makes a huge difference such as our team who went above and beyond to make your vacation more enjoyable. We will be waiting for your return with arms wide open. Sincerely, Monica, Hodelpa Costumer Satisfaction Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

Hubby and I traveled mid Sep (11-18) and stayed in the Adults only section.
Our stay at Emotions Playa Dorada was amazing.
What a beautiful resort which is very neat and cozy.
Our room 13305 had a view of the ocean from between the palm trees.

ROOM: Had a modern feel and was clean and spacious It also had a Jacuzzi on the balcony, which sadly we did not get to use.

The WiFi across the entire resort was amazing

FOOD: 3 Specialty Restaurants with no reservations required. Really nice buffet - something for even a fussy eater.
Staff as
The wifi across the entire resort was amazing

COFFEE SHOP: What a lovely touch - just loved it plus Great service. Enjoyed our early morning and after dinner coffee each day.

BEACH: Great beach Lots of beach chairs which are shaded by large Almond and Beach grape trees as well as gazebos.
Wish that the Timeshare sales people were not so irritating - however at the end of our stay we were chatting to them about life. I even got the nickname from them (General) One just has to be firm and say NO!!
Beach vendors passed us by after we said No Thank you.

ADULT POOL BAR: Lucia Vasquez did a fantastic job of knowing what we liked after our first day and always served us with a smile. Great service . THANK YOU

BEACH BAR: Maria , what can I say. Another great staff member who also served us with a broad smile each time we ordered a drink. Thank you for the great service.

ERGOS BUFFET: Good food, Shout out to Agustinpa Redes, Roberto Rodrigues, Jose Martinez. Thank you for always giving us great service with a smile.
Would like to give a BIG shout out to Yaney Matinez ( Hostess) , this woman should be in management! She truly loves her job . Just watching her be hostess, and displaying leadership in other areas which was not her function on a particular evening was just amazing.

Thank you for a week of absolute bliss.

Room Tip: Loved the Adults only section - nice and quite
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travgurl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteleshodelpa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Emotions by Hodelpa Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Dear Travgurl77,
We love the fact you notice the little details that makes a huge difference such as our team who went above and beyond to make your vacation more enjoyable. Thanks for your kind words about every aspect of our hotel. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much. Sincerely, Monica, Hodelpa Costumer Satisfaction Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed at emotions hotel in puerto plata Playa Dorada.
We received exceptionallly great service from coffee shop called One coffee at the Hotel emotions from
Mariela Reyes, she is excellent in customer service no.1, Always smiling with great customer service skills. If you stay at emotions hotel you must visit the coffee shop try their coffee with excellent service from Mariela Reyes.
Great job.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Parwinder G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteleshodelpa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Emotions by Hodelpa Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Dear Parwinder G,
We love the fact you notice the little details that makes a huge difference such as our team who went above and beyond to make your vacation more enjoyable especially the amazing service provided by Mariela. Thank you for your kind words about of our hotel. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much. Sincerely, Monica, Hodelpa Costumer Satisfaction Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

Includes three nice restaurants, no reservations required. There’s always the buffet if you prefer it. The service overall is very good. The wine offered is not bad. They require a printed copy of the reservation. The spa is fantastic. Jacqueline gives a great massage. If you want to go home with your hair all done the salon is a must try.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank VeronicaM328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteleshodelpa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Emotions by Hodelpa Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Dear Veronica M,
We are delighted to see that your stay at Emotions by Hodelpa in Playa Dorada was completely positive and we have created memorable experiences to you. We love the fact you enjoyed so much our spa and salon, good service from our entire team and nice restaurants a la carte. Thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy to see that your stay with us was much appreciated. Sincerely, Monica, Hodelpa Costumer Satisfaction Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews