We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A trip to the colonial era” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dona Elvira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Dona Elvira
Ranked #54 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Roermond, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A trip to the colonial era”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at Casa Dona Elvira. As the pictures show it is a beautiful building that shows some of the charm of the colonial Dominican Republic. The rooms are not very big, but good enough for two people.
It really forms a secure place in the busy city of Santo Domingo. The air conditioning works perfectly, and this was a big plus because the temperatures were even in January high! The swimmingpool is not very big, but was kept clean multiple times a day and served as a good cool down.
Not everyone speaks English at the Casa, but most of them try to help you. If you consider visiting this place and Santo Domingo in general, it is convenient if you have some knowledge of Spanish.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marijn dU d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    50
    23
    14
    17
See reviews for
27
42
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

This restored old house has lovely arched doorways and a pleasant inner court yard with a small swimming pool. The breakfast of fresh fruit, eggs and ham, and good coffee was a welcome way to start the day. It is a short walk to El Conde, the main street of the Zona Colonial and close to the major points of interest. Safe parking is just around the corner from the hotel. Mr. Wilton, the hotel manager spoke excellent English and always eager to be helpful. I'm not sure that I'd say the Antonetta Room was fit for a queen but it was comfortable and quiet for our three day stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmdja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

My wife and I stayed there for three nights following a business meeting I had in Santo Domingo.

The location is very good; in the colonial zone, yet not just around El Conde, which makes it more quiet. An easy walk to everywhere.
The hotel itself is rather charming. They have rebuilt old ruins to make a very nice looking building, the central patio with the small pool is great.
Staff have generally be very helpful and respectful; everything we needed was corrected very fast.
Breakfast was pretty good, too. Better than other hotels in the area (fresh fruit, eggs, toast).

Now, the room: we found a deal for their "columbus" room and got this almost half price.
The room is a closet; you can barely walk in there after you put your suitcases anywhere.
Big stains on walls. The bed is just a mattress put on the ground; you need to climb a ladder to get to it.
No comfort or intimacy at all, and every person passing by talking fells like they're shouting behind your door. We even got awakened in the middle of the night by the telephone at reception... The room was full of mosquitoes, and not so clean.
Had we paid full price, we would probably have left the hotel after one night.

There is a thin line between a charming, modest hotel, and just a bad hotel. I do not know about the other rooms; but with these, it feels quite closer to the "just bad" side of it.
A little update would do much good (better doors would be a good step)

If you stay there, I would recommend to go for a larger room, avoid the Columbus ones.

Room Tip: Avoid "Columbus" rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrmnem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

I love this hotel. My husband and I went for our honeymoon and really enjoyed it. Breakfast is great (ham and cheese eggs, toast w butter and jam, a fruit plate, and coffee). It's a very laid back and comfortable environment but very efficient. Staff is ultra friendly and helpful, there's always someone up front to open the door and secure the entrance. It's EXTREMELY central- two blocks from the conde (main shopping strip) and 5 blocks the other way to the malecon. Some of the rooms have stairs and the bathrooms are downstairs so if you have kids with you, you should make sure to get a flat so they don't fall walking to the bathroom at night. There's no fridge in the room but we put stuff in the kitchen fridge all the time and it was completely fine. All rooms are air conditioned. There's a pool. The only two negatives were that while we were there the hospital down the block was being reconstructed so it was kinda noisy sometimes. Also, it's an indoor/outdoor hotel, which is GREAT and very pretty on sunny days, but when it rains you have to use an umbrella or run to your room. Overall, I LOVE this hotel. The wifi in the room always works and there's a computer downstairs.

Room Tip: check whether it's a 2story room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveling2120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Negril, Jamaica
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

The hotel is very nice and give you the real Dominican experience!
The location is perfect to go out and tour the colonial zone!
The staff is very gentle and polite.
The food is nice, home style!
If I will go back in Santo Domingo for sure I will be back!
Thanks for the nice hospitality!
Milo e Marianne.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milonegril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Hotel Villa Colonial
#16 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#22 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#13 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zona Colonial
Antiguo Hotel Europa
Antiguo Hotel Europa
#38 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#11 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
#23 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Elvira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Elvira

Property: Hotel Dona Elvira
Address: 207 Padre Billini | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Dona Elvira 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A large lobby and spacious dining rooms await visitors, crowned by 20 feet high ceilings featuring original mahogany beans encased in massive colonial walls. Cool off from shopping and musueum jaunts with a relaxing dip in the pool and jacuzzi. Drink a cocktail in the private garden patio under a century old mango tree. Fifteen rooms and suites equipped with the latest amenities welcome the modern traveler, on business or leisure. Walking distance around Hotel Dona Elvira, discover the delightful historical ambiance and stately beauty of the Zona Colonial of Santo Domingo with its landmarks, sidewalk cafes, elegant restaurants, night clubs and cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Dona Elvira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Elvira Hotel
Dona Elvira Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing