We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (420)
Filter reviews
420 results
Traveller rating
192
124
55
27
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
124
55
27
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedroom villa mambo beach sized kitchen all inclusive program dishwasher tablets timeshare exchange private pool powder room shuttle service large living area rented a car housekeeping did a great job full kitchen local grocery store shower stall fitness center daily shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 420 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

We went there the last weekend of September for my boyfriend's birthday and it was awesome.
We had a villa with private pool. You get all the kitchen utensils,so you don't need to worry about anything but the food that you'll like to cook. (If you don't choose the 'all inclusive' package ofcourse)
It's very spacious and the kids enjoyed being there and having the pool just for them.

It's very quiet and relaxing.

I'll definitely recommend you to stay here.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Dianali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre S, Manager at ACOYA Curacao Resort, Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Dianali,

Masha danki! Thank you so much for choosing ACOYA and deciding to spend your weekend at our lovely resort. We so happy you enjoyed our villa with a private pool and all the luxury and convenience it has to offer. Thank you for the lovely review and we hope to host your next stay very soon.

Your first cocktail next time you visit is on us!

Pierre Subeh
Marketing Manager
ACOYA Curacao Resort, Villas & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

Acoya is a beautiful resort that may potentially grow to a world class facility. However, at this point in time, the service is fair / average and the reality in the resort is less than promised in the pictures and hotel descriptions. Firstly, the restaurants are called 'world class', which they are simply 'not'. The menu card is simple and very limited. There is no wine list. The hotel serves only three wines, one red, one rosé and one white. One restaurant serves a buffet type dinner. Also not 'world class', but average. Breakfast is served in one of the restaurants. When asking for earl grey tea, it appeared that there was no such tea. The servant left without coming back. The choice at the breakfast buffet is just fine.
Some guests are 'all inclusive'. They have pink bracelets. Other guests are regular.
Staff at the reception desk speak hardly Dutch, which is a significant disadvantage for the many Dutch visitors. There are no laundry lists and laundry bags in the hotel rooms. Upon asking for laundry service, the first reply from the reception desk is that you have to pay USD 5 for soap and that you can do your own laundry in a washing machine. Finally, the reception indicated that there is also a laundry service and a laundry list was given together with a garbage bag to put the laundry in. After the service, the laundry was not returned to the room, but needed to be collected at the reception desk.
I had an apartment with a small swimming pool. The apartment was clean, spacious and well equipped.These apartments are certainly to be recommended.

Room Tip: You may want to choose an apartment
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PeterDiekman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseA7952, General Manager at ACOYA Curacao Resort, Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Dear Peter,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is very much appreciated.
We would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations 100% and understand there is always room for improvements. We are working constantly on our F&B department for expanding our offer and improving the options for our guests.
It would have been interesting for us to have known your disappointment regarding any pictures or information that were not according to your expectations so we could have looked at them and fixed them or clarify your doubts, however we have double checked all info and pictures and they all show what we offer.

It is also very surprising to read that the front desk staff hardly speak dutch as 95% of our entire staff can speak Dutch as a second language and the Reception staff all speak Dutch. We are sorry you had difficulties about communicating with them, however we will even reinforce the team by adding some more Dutch staff.

We do not offer or advertise any self laundry service, however it is available for those guests who really want to make use of it, so it is optional. The outside laundry service is also available upon request and we just arrange the laundry to pick up and deliver the service.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your room and also hope we can have a chance to serve you again in the future so you can experience the improvements.

Regards,

Jose Abreu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Acoya is a nice place to stay, spacious and very clean rooms.

Breakfast is ok and has a lot of options.

Dinner was a bit overpriced so did eat at other places in Willemstad.

Staff is friendly, stayed for 5 nights.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank Yens_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseA7952, General Manager at ACOYA Curacao Resort, Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Dear Yens,

Thanks for your review and for having chosen ACOYA Curacao Resort, Villas & Spa to spend this time.
We are happy to read that you liked our resort, the rooms, cleanliness, food and the Staff.
We have taken in consideration your feedback about the price for the dinner in order to make the proper changes/adjustments.

We hope we can serve you again soon.

Regards,

Jose Abreu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Now I'm in this hotel (at number 2310) and this hotel is the worst hotel in the whole Curacao !! Before i was in hotel Lagun Blou Resort and Coral Estate Rif St. Marie and this hotels best for honeymoon!!
In ACOYA Curacao Resort (four stars it is mistake max one star)

1. There is no free drinking water in the room (in a four-star hotel)
2. In the room there are no glasses or spoons or forks, nothing at all! You will be surprised even there is not a garbage can!
3. For the newlyweds there are no privileges (in previous hotels they gave champagne, decorated the room and other services) ..
4. We were not given a newly married villa, but settled in the same room as children who wake up at 5 am, respectively, I wake up at 5 am)) thanks for spoiling the whole honeymoon !!
5. The whole room is dirty, all the cupboards are broken, the door to the balcony is also broken, the toilet is all in the urine and so on ..

What is the most amazing hotel takes a deposit of $ 500, but why, after all, everything is broken here and everything is stained? No hotel in Curaçao takes a deposit other than this ..

The hotel is very far from the beach and from the city center, ... I never advise anyone to stay here even for one night! This hotel spoiled me all honeymoon

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Павел К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseA7952, General Manager at ACOYA Curacao Resort, Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear guest,

Receive warm greetings from ACOYA Curacao Resort, Villas & Spa.
We would like to apologize for not completely fulfilled your expectations. We understand there is always room for improvements and your opinion plays a key role in this continuous process. We hope you know it has not been our intention to disappoint you in any ways.

I would like to address your comments as most of them are individual perceptions and expectations different to what we offer or advertise:

1.There is no free drinking water in the room (in a four-star hotel.
(We do not advertise or promote free water or any kind of drinks/food, but for all inclusive guests only as part of their plan)

2. In the room there are no glasses or spoons or forks, nothing at all! You will be surprised even there is not a garbage can!
Our deluxe rooms do not include silverware or glassware, but only coffee cups, tea spoons and coffee maker. Of course every room has a garbage can in the kitchen, but deluxe rooms have it in the bathrooms.

3. For the newlyweds there are no privileges (in previous hotels they gave champagne, decorated the room and other services) ..
We do not advertise or confirmed any special honeymoon package, however we did decorated your original room, but you requested to have it changed and did not want to wait for the other one to be decorated.

4. We were not given a newly married villa, but settled in the same room as children who wake up at 5 am, respectively, I wake up at 5 am)) thanks for spoiling the whole honeymoon !!
We are very sorry that you had a room next door with kids, however we would have been more than happy to offer you another location if this had been brought to our attention. We do not offer or advertise any Complimentary Villa when booking a deluxe room, but we would offer a special discount for the upgrade should you have wanted to do.

5. The whole room is dirty, all the cupboards are broken, the door to the balcony is also broken, the toilet is all in the urine and so on ..
This is totally weird as this room was inspected previously and you were taken to this room by our staff who again showed you the room and everything was fine and you confirmed it, however we are sorry that again this was not mentioned at that time as it would also have been taken care of properly at that same moment.

What is the most amazing hotel takes a deposit of $ 500, but why, after all, everything is broken here and everything is stained? No hotel in Curaçao takes a deposit other than this ..
We did not take any $500.00 deposit from you, however we did take a $300.00 which is less than the US$ 350.00 we require like most of the hotels around the world do or a credit card voucher, however we did an exception and accepted that amount looking into offer you better service. We are very sorry that this was an inconvenient for you, however these are policies that must be followed for internal reasons that most of the hotels do.

Again, we apologize for not having met your expectations and that your perception is different to the product we offer, however we continuously work for improving and have taken your comments into account.

Regards,

Jose Abreu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

I am still vacationing here only have two more days here. We are staying in a one bedroom villa. It is very nice and large. Could have used the space with a bit more thought . Would be nice to have a dishwasher in the empty space that is blocked for it. The dishes and cutlery could be placed in the cupboards and drawers. The kitchen is large and you have to go to the other side to get the dishes. All thebcupboards are empty. And yes the shower is so small that I have scalded myself several times by hitting the faucet with different parts of my body while washing. The restaurants need more help in planning the menu. Had fajita and I asked for salsa and got ketchup. Another night I ordered beef lasagna and was told that it would be with chicken and mozzarella cheese which is okay. But it looked like after cooking they realized they forgot to put the cheese on because a slab of cheese was placed on top not even melted. It was not very good even my husband did not like it and he likes everything. Don't get me wrong it is a very nice resort but has room to improve. I felt the staff helpful and always polite and smiling as well. Rooms are very clean which is a good thing. Having a very difficult time sleeping at night because the lights outside our villa in the front and on patio stay on all night and shine into our room.

They have a shuttle to go to beach but let me tell you you almost have to be a wrestler to get a seat on it. There are to many people going to the beach and it is not first come first serve it is who is the the fastest. Same as going to the city. We feel that it has not been a very relaxing vacation because of these times to go to the beach and coming back. Usually we can go to the beach when we want and stay as long as we want but here you have to catch the shuttle at 9:00 and it picks you up at 2:00. It is early otherwise you have to take a taxi. And they are not cheap. Then if you want to go to the city in the evening you either have to choose between going to beach and going to city. You can't do both in the same day. Or take a taxi. If you want to be close to restaurants this is not the place for you. When we went to the city for the day we found our own way home by taxi because they came to pick up to early. We missed it by an hour. Then there is a later drop off for the city and it leaves at 2:30. So if you go to beach you will not have the time to go to the city for the evening unless you take a taxi. Since in between the hours that the shuttle works you are kind of stranded at the resort. And if it was a fantastic all inclusive resort it would not be bad but the food is not the greatest. So tomorrow is our last full day here and trying to decide do we go to the beach or lounge around all day and go to the city later in the afternoon.

Momba beach is great. Has lots of different restaurants. Nice little shops to see. The actual beach is beautiful. Acoya provides you with tickets for the beach admission and chair which is very nice.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jasmindakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseA7952, General Manager at ACOYA Curacao Resort, Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Dear Jasmin,

Receive very warm greetings from ACOYA Curacao Resort, Villas & Spa and thank you very much for your detailed review.
We understand there is always room for improvements and our guests' experiences play a key role in this continuous process.
It is very nice to read that you liked your accommodation and enjoyed it. We would have loved to hear about the small shower disappointment and we would have happily offered you another room with a bigger shower. Note that most of our rooms have extra big showers, however there are only a few with standard size, but some people find them small which we understand. We have considered your suggestion about the cupboard and will implement it asap. I am surprised to read about the Lasagna as it is supposed to be beef, not chicken, however I am finding out in order to clarify this and make sure it does not happen again. We are adding more shuttles to the beach in order to avoid that and will start making reservations so guests do not have to run, but just confirm time.

Again, we appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back here so you can experience all improvements, extra shuttles and higher level of service.

Regards,

Jose Abreu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews